PDA

View Full Version : Absolute Beginner

rgwallis
10-18-2009, 01:16 AM
Hi guys. I'm a complete novice wih flight sim but I've got to give it a go - Il-2 looks like the one to go for. So I don't run into any problems at the start I'm after a bit of advice. I'm looking to get forgotten battles gold pack:
will it run ok on my pc?
is there anything special I need to know about installing and running?

I have a laptop with:
Vista home premium
Intel Core 2 Duo T5550 (1.83 GHz)
2 GB ram
"Up tp 358Mb Mobile Intel Graphic Media Accelerator X3100"

It was a pretty cheap laptop, 1 year old.
I'm not ready to spend $$$$$'s on a pc to give me mind blowing performance - I just want to know it will work ok with no annoying glitches.

Waldo.Pepper
10-18-2009, 01:41 AM
Got a joystick? If not get one.

doraemil
10-18-2009, 01:41 AM
get IL-2 1946, that is the one that has all the IL-2 series (including FB) already in it.

It is the one everyone is using and current patch is 4.09m and the version most servers online use (which definitely is a must for any IL-2 player)

For advice to start and fly etc, look for the sticky entitled A Nugget's Guide To Getting Off The Ground by Bearcat, that is the best place for a new person to check out.

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/foru...3110283/m/9121094645 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/9121094645)

Il-2 1946 will run on vista, but there are some changes you have to make. If you do a search on the forums here, there are some posts already concerning this.

You system specs will in Il-2 1946, my PC is a 3.0 ghz single core with 2 gig of ram, and it runs it fine. It can't go perfect graphics or run everything at max, but it does the job.

Good luck

Ba5tard5word
10-18-2009, 01:42 AM
I dunno if that integrated graphics card can handle it.

Anyway I'd mainly recommend you get Il-2 1946, it's the latest version with the most planes and maps.

JtD
10-18-2009, 04:01 AM