PDA

View Full Version : are more vibrant colors possible?



dashman
12-08-2009, 11:28 AM
Seeing some of the other sims out there (mostly on YouTube clips and the like) it seems that IL2 colors are a little on the drab side. I know it could be intentional, or unavoidable, or just that some maps are that way.

Is that something that can be tweaked in the configs? Is it my imagination? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif

thefruitbat
12-08-2009, 11:31 AM
if your using a nvidia card, increase digital vibrance in your vid card settings, thats what i've always done,

fruitbat

triad773
12-08-2009, 12:08 PM
Originally posted by thefruitbat:
if your using a nvidia card, increase digital vibrance in your vid card settings, thats what i've always done,

fruitbat

I have an nVidia GeForce 9800GT- where is that setting in the control panel? I couldn't find it but I must have been looking in the wrong place.

stalkervision
12-08-2009, 12:12 PM
Originally posted by thefruitbat:
if your using a nvidia card, increase digital vibrance in your vid card settings, thats what i've always done,

fruitbat

me too. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/partyhat.gif

stalkervision
12-08-2009, 12:14 PM
Originally posted by triad773:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by thefruitbat:
if your using a nvidia card, increase digital vibrance in your vid card settings, thats what i've always done,

fruitbat

I have an nVidia GeForce 9800GT- where is that setting in the control panel? I couldn't find it but I must have been looking in the wrong place. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I always miss place those settings also. Have you got it on 'advanced mode"? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

triad773
12-08-2009, 12:24 PM
Originally posted by stalkervision:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by triad773:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by thefruitbat:
if your using a nvidia card, increase digital vibrance in your vid card settings, thats what i've always done,

fruitbat

I have an nVidia GeForce 9800GT- where is that setting in the control panel? I couldn't find it but I must have been looking in the wrong place. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I always miss place those settings also. Have you got it on 'advanced mode"? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yes- always- which tab? So many tabs and settings

idonno
12-08-2009, 12:36 PM
http://i286.photobucket.com/albums/ll104/michael_t53/vibrance.jpg

stalkervision
12-08-2009, 12:42 PM
Originally posted by triad773:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by stalkervision:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by triad773:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by thefruitbat:
if your using a nvidia card, increase digital vibrance in your vid card settings, thats what i've always done,

fruitbat

I have an nVidia GeForce 9800GT- where is that setting in the control panel? I couldn't find it but I must have been looking in the wrong place. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I always miss place those settings also. Have you got it on 'advanced mode"? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yes- always- which tab? So many tabs and settings </div></BLOCKQUOTE>


I know.. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif http://media.ubi.com/us/forum_images/gf-glomp.gif

I lose these settings regularly Triad it seems. I like to tweek the colors a bit and i am always losing those settings. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/bigtears.gif

HayateAce
12-08-2009, 12:53 PM
Opinion Warning:

I've always thought that even IL2's colors are too saturated. The new SH5 shots are the way to go IMO.

http://www.hookedgamers.com/images/988/silent_hunter_5/header_silent_hunter_5.jpg

triad773
12-08-2009, 12:55 PM
Thanks Idonno- got it

Triad

Rjel
12-08-2009, 02:06 PM
Originally posted by HayateAce:
Opinion Warning:

I've always thought that even IL2's colors are too saturated. The new SH5 shots are the way to go IMO.

http://www.hookedgamers.com/images/988/silent_hunter_5/header_silent_hunter_5.jpg

I've thought so too. Too cartoonish, especially the maps from the original IL2 game that were carried over to what we have not. The newer maps and some of those that have come from the mods seem a little more lifelike.

dashman
12-08-2009, 02:08 PM
Well - I'm not at my IL2 computer, but I know I have a stock Nvidia of some kind, so I'll check out the settings as suggested later on.

Might be stuck with drab, but it's a great sim anyway.

Thanks, all!

thefruitbat
12-08-2009, 02:31 PM
its here for later versions of the control panel,

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y290/thefruitbat1/ScreenHunter_01Dec082122.jpg

Strangly, i always used to have it set on low like in idonno's picture when i had that version of the control panel, but with the new version, you have to set a lot more to get the same effect??

anyway, hope that helps.

TheFamilyMan
12-08-2009, 03:55 PM
Want more lively terrain colors? Try the HSFX mod pack. It's almost like flying a whole new sim (our squad is switching to this mod pack). It also features improved ordinance and smoke effects when bullets and shells make contact, and the clouds are first rate.

triad773
12-08-2009, 04:22 PM
Thanks Fruitbat- I have the same version control panel but I figured it out from Idonno's screenshot.

TheFamilyMan- I currently run SAS Modact 2.0 for 4.09M. It runs okay- I know the HSFX and UP have good compact SFS that helps it load faster but I haven't been able to get them up and running just yet. Not worried about it just yet tho.

Jumoschwanz
12-09-2009, 10:16 PM
Try chewing on a bit of peyote the next time you fire the sim up if you want more vibrant colors.

SeaFireLIV
12-10-2009, 04:13 AM
Colours in real life are not vibrant, at least not on most things. They are drab, it`s realistic. In fact, when I paint something from life I find myself having to darken it considerably to get it looking something like reality.

dashman
12-11-2009, 09:54 AM
OK, Jumoschwanz, I'll try that when it's 1968 again http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

SeaFire, I know what you mean, and maybe it's more like what HayateAce said: the colors are very thick.

Anyhow, I'm thinking about the mod mentioned, but in the past I've had no luck downloading mods and the installer, plus I'm a little torn about the mod/purist thing.

My Nvidia is stock and doesn't have the 'digital brightness' option, so that's out. But as I said earlier, even if I'm stuck with drab or whatever, it's still a great sim.

Urufu_Shinjiro
12-11-2009, 12:15 PM
Dashman, check PM's.

stalkervision
12-11-2009, 01:48 PM
Originally posted by thefruitbat:
its here for later versions of the control panel,

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y290/thefruitbat1/ScreenHunter_01Dec082122.jpg

Strangly, i always used to have it set on low like in idonno's picture when i had that version of the control panel, but with the new version, you have to set a lot more to get the same effect??

anyway, hope that helps.



HA! the Evil control panel! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_razz.gif

always resetting my aliasing and all my other video setting lately. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/51.gif