PDA

View Full Version : Setting up a server for fellow Hyperlobby Players ?



jayhall0315
10-16-2008, 08:29 PM
Hello IL2 Fans,

Need some advice - When you click onto Hyperlobby and see the dogfighting servers in the left hand column (like Warclouds), how do you set this up. I want to setup my computer so that I can host dogfighting training and have it appear in that left hand column of Hyperlobby (but not under the Coop slots).

I know I need to have the 4.08 server patch plus the IL2 1946 DVD. Do I need anything else ? Do I also need the regular 4.08m Players patch or do I need some special server version of Hyperlobby ?

Thanks - Jay

Erkki_M
10-17-2008, 09:03 AM
To host a dedicated IL2 server you actually dont need the game at all.

1) download the server
2) patch it to 4.08
3) rename the server.exe to il2fb.exe
4) point hyperlobby to it
5) launch the server, its just the command console that needs almost no memory or CPU at all

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

jayhall0315
10-17-2008, 09:28 AM
Erkki - What do you mean by download the server ?

Do you mean download the 4.08 server patch instead of the regular player's patch ?

Thanks - Jay (I also got some good info from Wright on this issue too, but still want to do this correctly the very first time out of the gate)

Urufu_Shinjiro
10-17-2008, 10:04 AM
Do a search of the forum, there are several threads explaining the process. You have to download the dedicated server software which starts at like version 2.04 or something then add a bunch of patches to get it all the way up to 4.08.

BigDAS1
01-12-2009, 12:58 PM
Full server software can be obtained here:
http://mission4today.com/index...e=Downloads&get=2417 (http://mission4today.com/index.php?name=Downloads&get=2417)

FoolTrottel
01-12-2009, 01:28 PM
Dedicated Server Easy Setup Guide (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/692106434/p/1)

dirkpit7
01-12-2009, 01:34 PM
You don't need any of the stuff linked here unless you want to start a dedicated server. To start a "regular" server you just click a slot under Open Mission 1, 2 or 3, define the server settings and start. The game launches and you will then choose the mission.

Tully__
01-14-2009, 02:34 AM
Originally posted by dirkpit7:
You don't need any of the stuff linked here unless you want to start a dedicated server. To start a "regular" server you just click <span class="ev_code_red">the TOP</span> slot under Open Mission 1, 2 or 3, define the server settings and start. The game launches and you will then choose the mission.