PDA

View Full Version : Damage related questions...

greg799
11-03-2006, 08:51 AM
I'm fairly new to the game and really am ingrossed with it. Recently I took some depth charge damage to the stern torpedo room. The damage report showed that the stb prop was distroyed and the port prop was damaged. I was also taking on water as the graphic showed water rising in that room. I slowly began to sink and I eventually had to blow balast to halt that and began an assent. I never made it to the surface and eventually lost the boat to excessive flooding.
My Question.
1) There was a graphic in the damaged torpedo room that looked like an "X" with some numbers that seemed to be counting down. What does that represent?
2) I had a fully functional damage repair crew but I was not allowed to assign it to repair work in that area. Why? Seems like they could have at least worked on slowing down the flooding.
3) The flooding was issolated to the stern torpedo room. it was sealed off so how could flooding in such a small area sink the boat? Is this accurate?

Michiel_88
11-03-2006, 09:03 AM
1) I 'm not sure, but I think it's the flooding recovery symbol.

2) If silent running is on, your repair crew won't do a thing.

3) I think so, extra weight & instability and no props too to use your engines.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://i135.photobucket.com/albums/q121/Michiel_88/signature.jpg
http://www.geocities.com/michieldeclercq/entered.jpg

Kaleun1961
11-03-2006, 10:37 AM
The numbers counting down relate to the flooding time of that compartment. I'm reciting from memory so I can't say for sure which is which, but one number indicates the time remaining for complete flooding of that compartment, the other number indicates the time remaining to finish repairing the leaks. Something like that; sorry if I'm not quite correct. I've looked in the Community Manual online but can't see anything there about flooding.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">