PDA

View Full Version : Worried how next update will affect performance



Scrapper_511
04-10-2005, 09:23 PM
I'm worried how modified graphics and new flight mechanics will degrade performance on my PC. What kind of hit should I expect on my AthlonXP 3000+, ATIR9700Pro, and 1Gig PC3100(?)?
I already have to limit myself to 800x600 in order to run PF at the detail levels I prefer, without too many hiccups.

p1ngu666
04-10-2005, 09:27 PM
its not much dont worry

also, overclock ur gfx card http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

your rig SHOULD be fine for high res, mine is
2100mhz, 9800pro, 1gig 3200

Griffon_25th
04-10-2005, 11:58 PM
Dude your system looks fine. I have a P4 2.5 512 DDR, 9600 XT and my game runs fine, I doubt it would take much of a hit with the more complex FM.

I suppose if there is any hit, itd be on the CPU because of the flight calculations.\

And yo Pingu, your sig is wayyy huge. Can you size it down?

LEXX_Luthor
04-11-2005, 12:39 AM
When you stop to think that Ship AA fire is the greatest cause of fps loss, and that AI engaging and shooting in combat also is a great fps eater, you stop worrying about New FM. If Athalon 3000+ can Deal with ship AA and Large AI Dogfight, it won't hurt from New FM too much.

That's the theory anyway.

Tully__
04-11-2005, 04:55 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Griffon_25th:
...I doubt it would take much of a hit with the more complex FM... <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>FM calculations is a good chunk of the CPU load, but you'll both do better than my P4 2.0GHz / GF4Ti4600 http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

p1ngu666
04-11-2005, 08:24 AM
sigtest http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif

pauldun171
04-11-2005, 08:34 AM
What settings are you running that you need 800x600?

On my old P4 2.8c /9800Pro I ran online with Excellent 1152 x 864 (could play at 1600x1200 but couldn't could track other AC on 19inch monitor) with 4x AA and 4 AF

Offline I would run 1024x768 on perfect (4xAA 2xAF)

VW-IceFire
04-11-2005, 10:25 AM
We've been told not to worry...don't worry.

Worry when it comes out and it still doesn't work.

What sort of detail levels to do you prefer to have to run at 800x600. I have a slightly slower system and I'm running at 1024x768 at Perfect model. What else do you need?

p1ngu666
04-11-2005, 10:48 AM
tbh, theres no need to worry overly. be sure http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

just look into overclockin stuff, because ull only need a small or medium increase

Dexmeister
04-11-2005, 10:55 AM
I can't believe you're running 800x600 with that hardware. Personally, I'd trying lowering your AA & video card settings and then raise the in-game res. There's a lot to be said quality-wise for higher resolution settings.

Running at 800x600 with those specs is quite hilarious IMO.

Scrapper_511
04-11-2005, 09:05 PM
Yeah, I like very high detail and run some AA. Thanks for the heads up guys.