PDA

View Full Version : Power surge annihilation



leitmotiv
06-15-2007, 02:22 AM
Ah, glorious California. Hit 102 yesterday and we had power outages and I didn't get to my game computer in time---appears it was fried by a power surge despite the surge protector (which I already knew was worthless). Dead as a doornail. Well, what does this mean? Is the whole thing Kaput? Odd thing, my printer, and all the other ancillary electric gear is OK---only the game beast is dead. Agh.

MrMojok
06-15-2007, 02:25 AM
If it just won't power on at all, could be the motherboard or the power supply. The hard drive might be ok, but it's hard to say.

StG2_Schlachter
06-15-2007, 02:28 AM
Agree with MrMojok. Usually the fuse of the PSU gets fried first.

If you are lucky just change the fuse and it will work fine.

If you are unlucky the motherboard is fried as well.

leitmotiv
06-15-2007, 02:36 AM
Thanks---I was lucky---it suddenly came on---whew!!!!

ploughman
06-15-2007, 03:14 AM
Eeeek! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

Jagdgeschwader2
06-15-2007, 03:24 AM
After having an expensive WD Raptor hard disk damaged by a power surge I got a UPS. I got mine from Refubished UPS for cheap. They have new batteries installed and cost way less than a new one. Cheap insurance for that expensive rig. Just make sure you get enough wattage to cover the PC and monitor.

Look here to save some serious $$$.
http://www.refurbups.com/

http://home.earthlink.net/~jagdgeschwader26/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/jagdgeschwader2s3.jpg

leitmotiv
06-15-2007, 03:32 AM
Thanks, JG2; never heard of a UPS. Apparently I am not unscathed. My TrackIR scanner isn't lighting up!

Jagdgeschwader2
06-15-2007, 03:45 AM
Originally posted by leitmotiv:
Thanks, JG2; never heard of a UPS. Apparently I am not unscathed. My TrackIR scanner isn't lighting up!

Man that's a bummer! I had bad sectors on my Raptor when I got zapped. Thankfully WD replaced it with no questions asked. Try plugging the Track IR into another outlet. With all the wind storms and supercell thunderstorms here in Texas a UPS is mandatory equipment for me. A surge protector just doesn't cut it. I learned from experience the hard way! For those that don't know a UPS is an Uninterruptible Power Supply. At work we have a Caterpillar diesel engine that can power our entire building for up to 16 days on one tank of fuel during a power outage. No worries for me in the data center.


http://home.earthlink.net/~jagdgeschwader26/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/jagdgeschwader2s3.jpg

stalkervision
06-15-2007, 03:57 AM
Originally posted by leitmotiv:
Ah, glorious California. Hit 102 yesterday and we had power outages and I didn't get to my game computer in time---appears it was fried by a power surge despite the surge protector (which I already knew was worthless). Dead as a doornail. Well, what does this mean? Is the whole thing Kaput? Odd thing, my printer, and all the other ancillary electric gear is OK---only the game beast is dead. Agh.


I had the same thing happen to my dell computer years ago leitmov. Come to find out surge protectors are absolutely useless unless they also have a "batttery back-up" included! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_mad.gif

This keeps the computer from going on and off with the voltage spikes and frying your motherboard which also happened to me. It also give you time to "power down" your computer till the whole mess is done with..

leitmotiv
06-15-2007, 04:24 AM
I always pull the plugs when the lights start flickering. I pulled the plug on my business laptop, but (yeagggghhhhhhhhh) forgot about my game computer. Oh the humanity! I'll try those tips with the TR. Everything checks out, only the camera isn't lighting. Thanks for all the advice!

capt_frank
06-15-2007, 07:29 AM
When I lived in Florida, I had the power line ground touch an exposed section of the power line itself (bad cable from the pole to my home) and who knows how many screaming volts went through my house. My radios began making a strange low reverberating noise and I literally saw one of my surge protectors on fire. I have always made it a practice to have my computers attached to a surge protector attached to another surge protector, As a result, the computers survived, but I lost close to $1000 worth of other electronics.

Of course my insurance deductible was $1000...

But that was really something to see a surge protector in a full blaze! Actually left a burn spot on my terrazzo tile floor.

WWSensei
06-15-2007, 07:36 AM
I live in a town with a bad power grid. We don't lose power often but we get brown outs and/or spikes several times a day. The voltage will drop as low as 90 and peak as high as 150.

I bought filtering power UPS's for my major electronics like TVs, stereos and computers. At least three or 4 times a day you will hear the UPS kick in and either filter out a surge or boost a low power feed. I have 6 of these UPS's in the house and each ran about $100 to $150 (I buy the 1000watt or higher rated ones for convenience, but you can get get smaller ones for as low as $50) but I know they have saved me thousands of dollars in fried equipment. I end up replacing the batteries about once every two years.

leitmotiv
06-15-2007, 07:43 AM
Looks like I'll be buying UPS's to protect my computers. Fortunately my TR4 recovered. Seem to have dodged that nuke but it was close. Thanks for all the advice. Chastened!

rnzoli
06-15-2007, 08:20 AM
Cool, although no UPS will stop this.... or? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

http://www.bbc.co.uk/devon/content/images/2005/06/24/1_gallery_470x470.jpg

http://www.bbc.co.uk/devon/content/images/2005/06/24/6_gallery_400x300.jpg

rnzoli
06-15-2007, 08:25 AM
We don't lose power often but we get brown outs and/or spikes several times a day. The voltage will drop as low as 90 and peak as high as 150.

Is that a big deal? Even as we speak, I have got even as high as 220 Volts in the mains socket... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif

WWSensei
06-15-2007, 08:41 AM
Originally posted by rnzoli:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">We don't lose power often but we get brown outs and/or spikes several times a day. The voltage will drop as low as 90 and peak as high as 150.

Is that a big deal? Even as we speak, I have got even as high as 220 Volts in the mains socket... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

If you live outside of the US with a 220 based power grid no, it isn't. But in the US where equipment is designed for 115/60Hz it is a big deal. Dips and spikes--even relatively minor ones--can fry electronic equipment.

skarden
06-15-2007, 09:04 AM
Originally posted by WWSensei:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by rnzoli:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">We don't lose power often but we get brown outs and/or spikes several times a day. The voltage will drop as low as 90 and peak as high as 150.

Is that a big deal? Even as we speak, I have got even as high as 220 Volts in the mains socket... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

If you live outside of the US with a 220 based power grid no, it isn't. But in the US where equipment is designed for 115/60Hz it is a big deal. Dips and spikes--even relatively minor ones--can fry electronic equipment. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

very very true,in oz,A lot of the gear at the music shop i used to work at had a switch to change from 115(is that correct? its been a while) to 220 which is what we use in australia buried in the case and i constantly got ppl bringing in fried gear after switchin it to 115 thinkin it would use only half the power http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif

NP_Vincent
06-18-2007, 06:11 PM
Also, surge protectors can become faulty, and still appear to work. I tend to replace all mine, every couple of years, just in case. Better replacing a protector than my HD television, or Gaming system....

Blutarski2004
06-19-2007, 05:48 AM
Most of those power-strip surge protectors only provide one-time protection; after that they are worthless.

A minimum of a good UPS is the way to go if you value your electronic equipment. APC is a good manufacturer.

My last house had a power-conditioning and surge-protection system positioned right at the power main in the basement. Wish I had it here at my new place.

BSS_AIJO
06-19-2007, 02:17 PM
Originally posted by skarden:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by WWSensei:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by rnzoli:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">We don't lose power often but we get brown outs and/or spikes several times a day. The voltage will drop as low as 90 and peak as high as 150.

Is that a big deal? Even as we speak, I have got even as high as 220 Volts in the mains socket... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

If you live outside of the US with a 220 based power grid no, it isn't. But in the US where equipment is designed for 115/60Hz it is a big deal. Dips and spikes--even relatively minor ones--can fry electronic equipment. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

very very true,in oz,A lot of the gear at the music shop i used to work at had a switch to change from 115(is that correct? its been a while) to 220 which is what we use in australia buried in the case and i constantly got ppl bringing in fried gear after switchin it to 115 thinkin it would use only half the power http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>


sweet,


here in the US i used to be a micro tech at a University campus and used to have to go switch it back to 115 to make things work again.

Then there was the professor who fried a Mac by plugging his scsi port into the PAX serial line wall plate. Proving the rule that if you have to use more that two adapters to plug in you are probably going down the wrong road and headed for disaster. 8^)

R_Target
06-19-2007, 08:49 PM
I started using a UPS about two years ago. With all the cash I've poured into this rig, $150 is cheap insurance. Also I live in a very rural area (satellite internet!) where the power fluctuates quite a bit. Played havoc with my overclocking before I got smooth uninterrupted power.

Ernst_Rohr
06-19-2007, 09:46 PM
I just dropped in a new APC UPS for my rig. Its also well worth your time when your dealing with the newer high power PC's, since that UPS will act as a nice leveling buffer if your electrical power.

Just make sure that whatever UPS you buy, it is rated for more wattage than your PSU, just to be safe! Otherwise you will drain out your battery and wind up have a very expensive surge protector.