PDA

View Full Version : Port Forward WAN/LAN/IP?



lIkameleonIl
03-22-2011, 10:30 AM
Hi,

I found my port 1000 is closed and need to open it to play online - I haven't found a single game in four days so far.

Anyway, I got into the Router settings (written in Japanese as I live in Japan) and am faced with the following:

Port 'specify' and a separate port 'conversion' - translation from Japanese to English.

Inside the 'specify' one I have a choice of the following:

Protocol TCP, UDP, TCP:UDP, and ICMP
Port number list: http, ftp, ftpdata, telnet etc.
Port number Start (enter a number) and port number finish (enter a number)
LAN Receiving IP Address (space to enter an IP address)

What should I do? Choose from the above?

The next one 'Port conversion' options:

Protocal: TCP, UDP, TCP:UDP
WAN 'side' number (space to put a number)
LAN Receiving Terminal IP Address (space to put an IP address)
LAN 'side' port number (space to put a number)

What exactly am I supposed to do please?

Many thanks indeed for help.

K.

Mr_Shade
03-22-2011, 10:32 AM
Please see the Readme.txt file located in the install directory - or the pinned thread at the top of the forum.

'If it is not possible to shut-down your firewall, you will need to configure your router or firewall to allow port 1000 (UDP & TCP) for the best possible connection. Some other ports you may need to open are as follows:

44301 [UDP & TCP] - PunkBuster Service
45301 [UDP & TCP] - PunkBuster Service
49928 [UDP & TCP] - Uplay Service'

How you enable that - depends on the type and make of your router - so you should either contact the maker or your ISP for details.

shop27C171CB8
03-22-2011, 10:38 AM
Please visit http://portforward.com - Port Forwarding (http://portforward.com) for information on how to forward port 1000 at your modem/router.
Find out what kind of modem/router you have.
Click on "Click here to skip this advertisement..." at the right top.
If you do not see the game and / or application you are forwarding ports for, be sure to visit the Default Guide for your router!

lIkameleonIl
03-22-2011, 10:38 AM
Thank you but neither of those are of any help. I need specific help from people who recognise what I wrote above; if somebody understands the meaning of those things listed I will get help. Asking my ISP will do nothing but require an engineer come to my house to do it for me (no chance).

lIkameleonIl
03-22-2011, 10:40 AM
Yes I have checked portforward too, but of course they do not have an NTT router listed, and the router itself has no name as it belongs to NTT Japan.

I have the page up to change, I just need someone who understands this stuff to help.

shop27C171CB8
03-22-2011, 10:42 AM
Assuming the page layout is also in Japanese I am unable to actually help you.
I do have my own computer service company with licensed teamviewer and such but without being able to understand any of the information on the page it will be very hard lol

lIkameleonIl
03-22-2011, 10:43 AM
Everything written on the page regarding port forwarding is translated above.

shop27C171CB8
03-22-2011, 10:54 AM
Port forwarding enabled for [Other applications] (If that is an option to choose)
Name: ACB TCP
Protocol: TCP
From port: 1000
Through port: [Empty]
To Computer: [Computername]
To IP address [Unable to edit] (If editable fill in INTERNAL IP)
To Port: 1000

Port forwarding enabled for [Other applications] (If that is an option to choose)
Name: ACB UDP
Protocol: UDP
From port: 1000
Through port: [Empty]
To Computer: [Computername]
To IP address [Unable to edit] (If editable fill in INTERNAL IP)
To Port: 1000

Result:
http://img10.imageshack.us/img10/5103/16525476.png

lIkameleonIl
03-22-2011, 11:13 AM
Many thanks indeed shophttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Regarding the IP address: is that my main IP address that I have to enter?

What you wrote, is that from the settings on your Router? Or is it in e.g. the Windows Firewall options?

shop27C171CB8
03-22-2011, 11:20 AM
Internal IP address, not External IP address.
My Internal IP address would be "192.168.178.**" as my external would be "83.160.**.***"

How to find your Internal IP address?
Open command prompt (Start > Run > type "cmd" without the brackets and type ipconfig.
You will see your IPv4 Address which would be your Internal IP Address.
If all is well the Internal IP Address should already be filled in add your router.

As for the image, yes that's from my router.

lIkameleonIl
03-22-2011, 11:41 AM
Many thanks again, will try later as I'm out now.

Thank you!!

Dreaming.Dex
03-22-2011, 12:33 PM
Originally posted by Mr_Shade:
Please see the Readme.txt file located in the install directory - or the pinned thread at the top of the forum.

'If it is not possible to shut-down your firewall, you will need to configure your router or firewall to allow port 1000 (UDP & TCP) for the best possible connection. Some other ports you may need to open are as follows:

44301 [UDP & TCP] - PunkBuster Service
45301 [UDP & TCP] - PunkBuster Service
49928 [UDP & TCP] - Uplay Service'

How you enable that - depends on the type and make of your router - so you should either contact the maker or your ISP for details.

Done what you said there, exactly. I've even downloaded a tool to check if these ports are open and I can confirm they are.

Still nothing has changed, I can search for a game for hours, hours.. Just leaving my computer and I'll come back in 1 hour, still searching.

It goes from 5 to 1 then to 3 and mostly stays at 1 players found.

So what do I do now?

psycho_boy25
03-22-2011, 12:40 PM
Originally posted by shop27C171CB8:
Port forwarding enabled for [Other applications] (If that is an option to choose)
Name: ACB TCP
Protocol: TCP
From port: 1000
Through port: [Empty]
To Computer: [Computername]
To IP address [Unable to edit] (If editable fill in INTERNAL IP)
To Port: 1000

Port forwarding enabled for [Other applications] (If that is an option to choose)
Name: ACB UDP
Protocol: UDP
From port: 1000
Through port: [Empty]
To Computer: [Computername]
To IP address [Unable to edit] (If editable fill in INTERNAL IP)
To Port: 1000

Result:
http://img10.imageshack.us/img10/5103/16525476.png

man its not work im change ports and close firewall but its not work mp and uplay is grey and error me ''The Ubisoft server is not available at this time. Please try again later.''

TheLeoCrow
03-22-2011, 05:47 PM
Check this thread, it has a lot of usefull info http://forums.steampowered.com...thread.php?t=1804179 (http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1804179)
It doesn't matter if you have the game on steam or not ofcourse

Kameleon1971
03-22-2011, 06:17 PM
Well I tried it, and it didn't work.

I double checked, but no go.

NightmareGK13
03-22-2011, 06:30 PM
isn't this whole situation a problem on ubisoft's end? or should we all open that port to play ANY game online?

Kameleon1971
03-22-2011, 08:43 PM
Well Ubisoft took a gamble, using a port rarely used it seems, and some can use it and others can't. Clearly it was a risk and it has failed for too many people. Most games on the market never require port forwarding, and the few that do, usually go down the toilet - goodbye because who wants to waste time playing with router settings & calling their ISP just to play a game....?

Enough. I asked Steam for a refund.