PDA

View Full Version : CH pedals and X45



XyZspineZyX
12-13-2003, 07:07 PM
Installed new CH Pro pedals. XP is now seeing them as input device #1 and joystick as #2. il2setup sees the pedals as joystick. How do you configure these correctly? Thanks.

The forum search keeps timing out.

XyZspineZyX
12-13-2003, 07:07 PM
Installed new CH Pro pedals. XP is now seeing them as input device #1 and joystick as #2. il2setup sees the pedals as joystick. How do you configure these correctly? Thanks.

The forum search keeps timing out.

XyZspineZyX
12-13-2003, 07:55 PM
Yeah! This is an Age-Old Problem! Here's what to do.

You need to control the Serial # that windows gives the controllers. What we need to do here is to clean the registry and start with a clean (No Controller installed) state.

1. Go here: http://www.chproducts.com/retail/tech_support_usb.html and download CH Pro Delete, a small utility.

2. You should have Nuke USB. It comes with the Saitek hardware. Now run Nuke USB. This removes your Joystick.

3. Now run CH Pro Delete. This removes your pedals.

4. Unplug both controllers and Reboot.

5. Plug in your Joystick, X-45. It will regain the #1 position.

6. Reboot and plug in your CH Pro pedals. They should now be in position #2.

7. Reboot and the controller positions should stick.

If you need more ask!

GL S~
Duff4r

XyZspineZyX
12-13-2003, 07:56 PM
There is a forum on SIMHQ boards just for Saitek help. I know there is a way to do it, it may be a patch or something, but I bet if ya asked there you would know in a couple minutes.

"Ich bin ein Wuergerwhiner"

"The future battle on the ground will be preceded by battle in the air. This will determine which of the contestants has to suffer operational and tactical disadvantages and be forced throughout the battle into adoption compromise solutions." --Erwin Rommel

http://lbhskier37.freeservers.com/Mesig.jpg
--NJG26_Killa--

XyZspineZyX
12-13-2003, 07:57 PM
Just go to your control (input and HOSTA) set up in FB and click on pitch, rudder, aileron, etc and move the controls. It doesn't matter which is seen as 1 etc. I and a lot of other folks are using MS FFB, X-45, and the CH pedals. So unless there is something unusual going on just use the control set up in FB.

Michael

XyZspineZyX
12-13-2003, 08:19 PM
I just had this problem when I bought my x45.

I just unplugged the usb connects for the CH pro pedals
and the X45 then I plugged back in the X45 first then
rebooted and then I replugged the CH pro pedals in.

Worked for me. I didn't have to uninstall any of the
software.

P.S.

I also switched the connections. Like if I had the pedals
in one usb port. I put the x45 in that same port. I'm not
sure if this was neccessary but thats what I did.

Message Edited on 12/13/0312:21PM by griego

XyZspineZyX
12-13-2003, 08:24 PM
i too have been looking for a solution to this cause you cant change the sensitivety of your X45 cause its not recognized in the controls options, just the pedals.

http://www.endlager.net/fis/pix/banners/fis_banner_01.jpg



http://www.dugg.ca/

XyZspineZyX
12-13-2003, 08:32 PM
Duff4r

I have done as you instructed but the pedals remain id #1. Do you think using Dhauzimmer's X36/X45 USB filter driver v2.0delta4 instead of Saitek drivers may be a reason CH is taking the #1 spot? When I first had the Saitek installed, Nuke usb saw it when I switched to Dhauzimmer. It did not see the Dhauzimmer when I ran it this time for the pedals.

Steve



Message Edited on 12/13/0302:45PM by steve_v

XyZspineZyX
12-13-2003, 08:40 PM
you can actually change your controllers sensitivity in the config.ini file. The axis settings for the first axis(the ones already in the config file) are listed as X,Y,Z,etc...

Just adjust the X1,Y1,Z1 axis.

"Ich bin ein Wuergerwhiner"

"The future battle on the ground will be preceded by battle in the air. This will determine which of the contestants has to suffer operational and tactical disadvantages and be forced throughout the battle into adoption compromise solutions." --Erwin Rommel

http://lbhskier37.freeservers.com/Mesig.jpg
--NJG26_Killa--

XyZspineZyX
12-13-2003, 09:03 PM
getting the X45 to id 1 in XP is almost imposable, fortunately, you can work around it Steve, and do everything you could as if it were ID1. (this is caned response I coped from previous and similar question)



You can manually assign the axes in the game to your controller, go to controls> HOTAS setup and click to the right of Aileron (roll), move your stick to the right and FB should pick it up. (if anything is backward in-game then just go back and move the axis the other way) Repeat for elevator, throttle and rudder. If you do it this way you'll still not be able to adjust sensitivity in-game, but not to worry there is a workaround for that too. Go to your main FB directory and open the file 'conf.ini' w/ notepad. You will see a section that looks like this:

[rts_joystick]
X=3 1 4 9 16 25 36 49 64 81 100 0
Y=2 1 4 9 16 25 36 49 64 81 100 0
Z=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100
RZ=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
FF=0
U=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
V=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0

On the lines w/ 12 numbers the first number is dead band and the last number is filtering. The numbers in the middle are the sensitivity settings similar to the in-game setup. If you don't know which axis is which then go to your main FB directory and open the 'Users' folder and inside open 'default.ini' again w/ notepad. You will see a section like this:

[HotKey move]
JoystickDevice0 AXE_U = -power
JoystickDevice0 AXE_X = aileron
JoystickDevice0 AXE_Y = elevator
JoystickDevice0 AXE_RZ = rudder

This should clear up any mystery regarding which axis is which. Notice that in my conf.ini entry I've got two axes that are not listed in the default.ini. These are rotary switches on my joystick and if you've got anything like that on yours it will be trial and error to figure out which is which.

http://webpages.charter.net/Stick_Fiend/images/alex.jpg<span class="MSG"><font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="1">
"Oh bliss, bliss and heaven. Oh, it was gorgeousness and gorgeosity made flesh. It was like a bird of rarest spun heaven metal, or like silvery wine flowing in a space ship, gravity all nonsense now. As I slooshied I knew such lovely pictures."<font></span></p>
<p align="center"><span class="MSG">
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2"><a href="http://webpages.charter.net/Stick_Fiend/"> <font size= 1>Fiend's Wings<a/></center>
</font></span></p>
<center></font>
<font color=666666>

XyZspineZyX
12-13-2003, 09:36 PM
/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

georgeo76, wish I would have seen this earlier.

Have done the work around by assigning in HOTAS as you suggested and adjusting slider contols in the conf. Now, if I can just get my hat switch going again, all will be well./i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

Thanks.

XyZspineZyX
12-13-2003, 09:57 PM
OK! lets nail this urban myth that people keep propagating about assigning controller numbers under Win XP.


YOU CAN NOT CHANGE CONTROLLER ID UNDER WIN XP!!!


Everybody understand that now? The steps above are the workaround for using multiple controllers.
Had to get that off my chest as the number of smartarses that come on forums and glibly state that "you simply unplug the controllers and then plug them back in to get the right order" when they obviously dont know and dont understand what they are talking about p*sses me off.

XyZspineZyX
12-13-2003, 10:03 PM
Got the work arounds completed and can happily use the Dhauzimmer with the pedals now. Just one more thing, I'm even worse with the pedals than I was with the rudder rocker./i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

My thanks to everyone who took an interest and posted to this thread./i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

Steve

XyZspineZyX
12-14-2003, 04:33 AM
Your welcome Steve S~. Not sure why that didn't work. It worked for me with my X-36.

Duff4r



JG77BlackWulf_2
Huh?? Get as pis*ed as you want. I'd recommend getting a life instead! You are truly WRONG!! I will say as I said to Steve. It worked a charm with my X-36/CH Pro Peds. Not only that, but I also had a MS racing wheel to deal with too. Regardless, your reply was unnecessary and rude. If you want to be that definitive, then next time, PROVE what your saying is correct! Ya never know I might have just got lucky!

XyZspineZyX
12-14-2003, 04:35 AM
Throw out the saitek and get a CH joystick. Then you'll be able to use the control manager software to map the contols any way you want to.

http://gungadon.freeservers.com/sig.jpg
"A lonely impulse of delight
drove to this tumult in the clouds;"

T_O_A_D
12-14-2003, 07:01 AM
Here steve_V

We need this as a sticky once we get new forum, I've delt with this several time but these are the most recent. The fourth link pertains to your Hat button. I think it was Tully who first lined me out on it long ago.

http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view-topic.asp?name=us_il2sturmovik_ts&id=zvnkj

http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view.asp?name=us_il2sturmovik_ts&id=zvlxd

http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view.asp?name=us_il2sturmovik_ts&id=zvnjm

http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view.asp?name=us_il2sturmovik_ts&id=zvnka

http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view.asp?name=us_il2sturmovik_ts&id=zvtyf

<Left>
131st_VFW_CO_Toad (http://www.geocities.com/vfw_131st/index.htm)

<Left>
/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif MY Track IR Fix read the whole thread (http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view-topic.asp?name=us_il2sturmovik_ts&id=zwqtg)


<Center>http://home.mchsi.com/~131st_vfw/Mad_toad.jpg </a>
<Center>
http://home.mchsi.com/~tagalong/Soldieshooting.gif

<font size="0" color="#59626B">


Message Edited on 12/14/0306:06AM by T_O_A_D