PDA

View Full Version : is it possible to.....



ashley2005
09-23-2005, 02:02 PM
get perfect water mode with acceptable framerates with ...

amd xp2800+
1 gig ram
nvidia FX5700LE

ashley2005
09-23-2005, 02:02 PM
get perfect water mode with acceptable framerates with ...

amd xp2800+
1 gig ram
nvidia FX5700LE

VFA-25_Peckens
09-23-2005, 02:37 PM
not even with a 6800 and 2 gigs of ram

Jumoschwanz
09-23-2005, 07:34 PM
I have a similar rig, an xp3200 with a gig of ram on an Nforce2 motherboard with a 400fsb. I ran this with a ati9800pro at 1200x1600 on excellent for a long time, I could not get the framerates when I went to perfect at this resolution. A few months ago I bought an aTIx850xtPE for my rig, the best card you can get for an AGP motherboard I think, and this allowed me to run perfect at 1200x1600.

Now if you run a really low res, like 600x480 or something you might be able to pull it off, but once you get used to how the sim looks at 1200x1600, you never want to go back.

Is your MB an nforce2? If it is then it might be worth checking to see if it will run at 400fsb. Then check to see if you have a cpu with an unlocked multiplier, if you don't you usually can unlock it with a little careful work. If you have an nforce2 with a 400fsb and a fast cpu, then the x850xt will let you do anything you want, and it will give you framerates comperable to the new athlon64s with the same video card even though they are pci express! I get close to forty fps on the black death track with my agp nforce2 rig!

Jumoschwanz