PDA

View Full Version : Cool new ground effect in patch



XyZspineZyX
08-12-2003, 09:47 PM
when you fly really close to the ground
you shake up dust after your airplane,
noticed this when I was fightin a 202 that licked the ground in a turn.


<ceter>http://www.artehistoria.com/batallas/jpg/BAT575.jpg </center>
THE FORGOTTEN MIG-5

XyZspineZyX
08-12-2003, 09:47 PM
when you fly really close to the ground
you shake up dust after your airplane,
noticed this when I was fightin a 202 that licked the ground in a turn.


<ceter>http://www.artehistoria.com/batallas/jpg/BAT575.jpg </center>
THE FORGOTTEN MIG-5

XyZspineZyX
08-12-2003, 09:50 PM
Yep the new effects are pretty cool. BTW it would be great if someone modeled the Mig-5 and Mig-7 in FB.


AMD Athlon XP 1700+ T-Bred B
Epox 8K9AI
PC2100 512MB DDR
GeForce 4 Ti4600 128MB
Game Theater XP w/ Sony MHC-BX6AV 5.1 surround sound

XyZspineZyX
08-12-2003, 09:56 PM
ya its cool.

try it over water too! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

http://home.online.no/~gunn-al/vikingmask.jpg

Viking Power!
http://kickme.to/viperviking

XyZspineZyX
08-12-2003, 09:57 PM
But it`s ridiculous if you start from a concrete airfield...

<Center><div style="width:150;color:red;font-size:11pt;filter:shadow Blur[color=red,strength=5)">Greets HerzAS</div><CENTER>

<Center>http://64.176.32.40/IL-2/PIGZBADGE-small.gif </center>
<center>BlitzPig_Herz</center>

XyZspineZyX
08-12-2003, 09:58 PM
HerzAS wrote:
- But it`s ridiculous if you start from a concrete
- airfield...

It's ridiculous, but it looks cool ! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

BTW: Ever flown low above water with the patch ?
Looks just as sweet /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

http://franz.lampl.bei.t-online.de/toryusig.jpg (http://www.chrissi007.de/jabog32)

Online unterwegs als I/JG68Toryu

Come As You Are !

http://www.jg68.de.vu

When once you have tasted flight,
you will always walk the earth
with your eyes turned skyward;
to where you have been
and to where you always want to return.

XyZspineZyX
08-12-2003, 10:00 PM
I still dont see it...havent been able to see it in 08 and cant see it on 1.1b

Maybe my video card? ATI Radeon 9000 Pro 128 MB?

<center>
http://www.geocities.com/cgdreamerx/sigimage3.jpg.txt
I do not know any good signature message, so I will put this anyway.
-=[CGDreamerX]=-

XyZspineZyX
08-12-2003, 10:03 PM
another one is when a plane crashes, it leaves a smoke column, pretty cool

"The Sturmoviks are as needed as water and bread" -J. Stalin

The 201st Mexican Fighter Squadron was sent to the Pacific after the sinking of 2 mexican cargo ships in the Gulf of Mexico by a U-boat in 1942

http://rumandmonkey.com/widgets/tests/criminal/charlesmanson.jpg
Which Evil Criminal are You? (http://rumandmonkey.com/widgets/tests/criminal/)
<center>http://www.pcfun.com.mx/foros/attachment.php?s=&postid=5334

XyZspineZyX
08-12-2003, 10:09 PM
I dont see it either i flew 1 m over ground and nothing..havent notice any new effects after crashes either /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

XyZspineZyX
08-12-2003, 10:11 PM
It must only show up on nVidia cards, muhahaha. Are you guys using DirectX or OpenGL?


AMD Athlon XP 1700+ T-Bred B
Epox 8K9AI
PC2100 512MB DDR
GeForce 4 Ti4600 128MB
Game Theater XP w/ Sony MHC-BX6AV 5.1 surround sound

XyZspineZyX
08-12-2003, 10:12 PM
Shows up on ATI just fine. However, your card specs/graphics settings may be too low.

<hr width="400">Before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes.
That way, when you criticize them, you're a mile away and have their
shoes!
http://members.rogers.com/teemaz/sig.jpg (http://www.jagdgeschwader1.com)

XyZspineZyX
08-12-2003, 10:13 PM
I thought this was about something else. "Ground effect" is a phenomenon that affects planes during takeoff and landing and is not in IL-2. Look it up.


http://home.grics.net/~donovan/lzsymbls.jpg
"Though the course may change sometimes, rivers always reach the sea."

XyZspineZyX
08-12-2003, 10:15 PM
Jetbuff wrote:
- Shows up on ATI just fine. However, your card
- specs/graphics settings may be too low.
-
- <hr width="400">Before you criticize someone, you
- should walk a mile in their shoes.
- That way, when you criticize them, you're a mile
- away and have their
- shoes!
- http://members.rogers.com/teemaz/sig.jpg (http://www.jagdgeschwader1.com)


Nope, settings are just fine, it could be that I am using Catalyst 3.5, I will upgrade tonight and see if that works

<center>
http://www.geocities.com/cgdreamerx/sigimage3.jpg.txt
I do not know any good signature message, so I will put this anyway.
-=[CGDreamerX]=-

XyZspineZyX
08-12-2003, 10:18 PM
Well the readme recommends Catalyst 3.4 drivers for ATI.


AMD Athlon XP 1700+ T-Bred B
Epox 8K9AI
PC2100 512MB DDR
GeForce 4 Ti4600 128MB
Game Theater XP w/ Sony MHC-BX6AV 5.1 surround sound

XyZspineZyX
08-12-2003, 10:22 PM
Ground effect are good looking, but they look bit too pinkish on my monitor.

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
http://www.tamiya.com/japan/products/list/48plane_img/61027.jpg

XyZspineZyX
08-12-2003, 10:32 PM
Nope still cant see it , tried both Open glide and Direct x on excellent ground detail...nothimg. Asked my brother he cant see it either, what settings do u all use? Cos i assume you dont have to have perfect settings for it to work.?

XyZspineZyX
08-12-2003, 10:38 PM
I'm using the Omega 2.4.74a drivers based on the CAT 3.6's. Get them here:

http://www.omegacorner.com

<hr width="400">Before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes.
That way, when you criticize them, you're a mile away and have their
shoes!
http://members.rogers.com/teemaz/sig.jpg (http://www.jagdgeschwader1.com)

XyZspineZyX
08-12-2003, 10:41 PM
The map is now marked with letters and numbers.COOLNESS!

"degustibus non disputandum"

<center>http://carguy.w.interia.pl/tracki/sig23d.jpg

<center>"Weder Tod noch Teufel!"</font>[/B]</center> (http://www.jzg23.de>[B]<font)

XyZspineZyX
08-12-2003, 10:44 PM
Olli_72 wrote:
- Nope still cant see it , tried both Open glide and
- Direct x on excellent ground detail...nothimg. Asked
- my brother he cant see it either, what settings do u
- all use? Cos i assume you dont have to have perfect
- settings for it to work.?
-


What's Open glide? Just curious if you mean OpenGL. If I recall correctly, Glide was used by 3dfx years ago and isn't in use anymore.



<center>http://members.rogers.com/4xtreme/chbanner.jpg

XyZspineZyX
08-12-2003, 10:49 PM
i possess a radeon 9000 pro with 128 RAM, i have catalyst 3.6 and have no problem to see the dust effects...

it is not a problem with your card...

XyZspineZyX
08-12-2003, 11:00 PM
Well excuse me but that doesnt help me at all, this crap is pi**ing me off to no end.

XyZspineZyX
08-12-2003, 11:08 PM
Hoarmurath wrote:
- i possess a radeon 9000 pro with 128 RAM, i have
- catalyst 3.6 and have no problem to see the dust
- effects...
-
- it is not a problem with your card...
-
-

Your absoulutly correct, I upgraded to 3.6 to be dissapointed the ground effects were still not there. The funny thing is, they were, I just had to zoom way out to see the dust kick up like 50 ft behind my plane. Cool effect if barely noticible at first (I was expecting dust to kick around everywhere, but no, its just behind the plane). I played back a track and it was very awesome watching the plane speed on top of the water watching the ripple effects with water spraying everywhere.

<center>
http://www.geocities.com/cgdreamerx/sigimage3.jpg.txt
I do not know any good signature message, so I will put this anyway.
-=[CGDreamerX]=-

XyZspineZyX
08-12-2003, 11:12 PM
Bremspropeller wrote:
- HerzAS wrote:
-- But it`s ridiculous if you start from a concrete
-- airfield...


Im not sure its that ridiculous, you think they washed airfield everyday from dust & sand? i dont think so...but its just my opinion anyway and you got yours /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

XyZspineZyX
08-12-2003, 11:20 PM
Ok reinstalled the patch allover again and now it works.

XyZspineZyX
08-12-2003, 11:21 PM
Another cool thing is, destroid aircraft or parts stay on the fields with either smoke or fire which makes it look like a real ware field. pritty cool when your high lookin down.

P4-2.4Gig
1GigPC2100 DDR Ram
SoyoDragon Ulrtra Mobo
8X AGP Slot
GF-4Ti4600pny
20"Monitor
40GigHD
58xCDRW-Drive
DVDRom-Drive
SB-Live 5.1
DX-9.0
XP-PRO
So he tells me, "I ban the Me262 cause its turn rate is over modeled and it dosnt stall"... Then he takes off from his base in a Hurricane.

XyZspineZyX
08-12-2003, 11:30 PM
PriK wrote:
-
- Olli_72 wrote:
-- Nope still cant see it , tried both Open glide and
-- Direct x on excellent ground detail...nothimg. Asked
-- my brother he cant see it either, what settings do u
-- all use? Cos i assume you dont have to have perfect
-- settings for it to work.?
--
-
-
- What's Open glide? Just curious if you mean OpenGL.
- If I recall correctly, Glide was used by 3dfx years
- ago and isn't in use anymore.
-
Strange idea as to what OpenGL stands for but, no, it has nothing to do with Glide. Open GL stands for Open Graphics Library and is to do with a cross platform professional 3D graphics API for accelerating 3D scenes.

Microsoft of course in it's infinate wisdom has tried to compete against OpenGL with Direct 3D (locking gamers into Windows like they do everything else) and personally I think OpenGL renders 3D scenes much more vibrantly than DirectX which has a washed out/transparent look.

Thank God the high end graphics industry has ignored Microsots API and has stood by OpenGL and John Carmack and Oleg have used and supported it as well.

XyZspineZyX
08-13-2003, 12:05 AM
I get the dust blown up on takeoff...a cool effect..but agree that it should be different between grass and concrete fields. NOT complaining, just commenting.

However, I can't see the dirt/dust being blown up on low level flights..I've goten Right Down on the deck, at about 1 meter, and still no dust..! ?

Admittedly, I have old system and old card, but everything else shows great, graphically. Seems that is i get teh take off dust, i get the low pass dust as well... Any ideas about this??? ALl setting sat max (Not perfect, since my card doesnt support Prfect)

<center>Wiley</center><center><font color="#FF0000";font size="3pt">Click HERE to visit Wiley'sWWIIGunCameraWorld (http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~chapman/flightsims/oberstguncam/Frameset/)</center>
<center>http://imagehost.auctionwatch.com/preview/wi/wileycoyote2/IwoJimatiny2.gif (http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~chapman/flightsims/oberstguncam/Movies/SandsOne.WMV) </center>
<center><font size ="2pt">Click Flag-Raising for the Full-Size(4.2Mb) Version</center>

XyZspineZyX
08-13-2003, 12:14 AM
OberstWiley wrote:
- I get the dust blown up on takeoff...a cool
- effect..but agree that it should be different
- between grass and concrete fields. NOT complaining,
- just commenting.
-
- However, I can't see the dirt/dust being blown up
- on low level flights..I've goten Right Down on the
- deck, at about 1 meter, and still no dust..! ?
-
-
- Admittedly, I have old system and old card, but
- everything else shows great, graphically. Seems
- that is i get teh take off dust, i get the low pass
- dust as well... Any ideas about this??? ALl setting
- sat max (Not perfect, since my card doesnt support
- Prfect)
-
-
- <center>Wiley</center><center><a
- href="http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~chapman/flightsims
- /oberstguncam/Frameset/"><font color="#FF0000";font
- size="3pt">Click HERE to visit
- Wiley'sWWIIGunCameraWorld</a></center>
- <center><a
- href="http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~chapman/flightsims
- /oberstguncam/Movies/SandsOne.WMV"target="_blank">
- <img
- src="http://imagehost.auctionwatch.com/preview/wi/
- wileycoyote2/IwoJimatiny2.gif"></a> </center>
- <center><font size ="2pt">Click Flag-Raising for the
- Full-Size(4.2Mb) Version</center>
-


As I said, try zooming out FAR back and look directly behind your plane. You will see a dust trail far behind your plane.


<center>
http://www.geocities.com/cgdreamerx/sigimage3.jpg.txt
I do not know any good signature message, so I will put this anyway.
-=[CGDreamerX]=-

XyZspineZyX
08-13-2003, 12:25 AM
HerzAS wrote:
- But it`s ridiculous if you start from a concrete
- airfield...
-
- <Center><div
- style="width:150;color:red;font-size:11pt;filter:s
- hadow Blur(color=red,strength=5)">Greets
- HerzAS</div><CENTER>
-
- <Center>http://64.176.32.40/IL-2/PIGZBADGE-small.gif</center>
- <center>BlitzPig_Herz</center>
-
-
-


whys that ridiculus? i imagine theres dust on the runway. maybe they should model the guy that sweeps the runway, eh?


flying online as 25th_Inmate



http://www.vfa25.com/sigs/inmate.jpg

XyZspineZyX
08-13-2003, 12:54 AM
CGDreamerX wrote:
-
-
- As I said, try zooming out FAR back and look
- directly behind your plane. You will see a dust
- trail far behind your plane.
-
-
-


You are absolutely correct, Sir!! Fantastic effect!! I did a Very low strafing attack and looked from the externals and fly-by views!! Impressive.... and its a special treat that I dont think was Ever mentioned in advance by Oleg and team!! One of a thousand little positive details, freebies, that people overlook in their constant whining on this forum!

<center>Wiley</center><center><font color="#FF0000";font size="3pt">Click HERE to visit Wiley'sWWIIGunCameraWorld (http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~chapman/flightsims/oberstguncam/Frameset/)</center>
<center>http://imagehost.auctionwatch.com/preview/wi/wileycoyote2/IwoJimatiny2.gif (http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~chapman/flightsims/oberstguncam/Movies/SandsOne.WMV) </center>
<center><font size ="2pt">Click Flag-Raising for the Full-Size(4.2Mb) Version</center>