PDA

View Full Version : Better banning capabilities



stanford-ukded
08-28-2006, 08:00 AM
I don't have a solution, so this post is a bit lame. As a server admin it is very frustrating to not be able to permanantly ban someone from a server. Sometimes all it takes is a change of name and they're back. The ability to be able to ban someone's CD Key for example, would be much better.

Sure this has come up before, but I don't want BoB being pwned by losers :/

BBB_Hyperion
08-29-2006, 07:00 AM
First glimpse Workaround maybe
Sign Up with Mac Ethernet Number on Forum
Ban Number .)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MAC_address

KG26_Alpha
08-29-2006, 07:52 AM
Then use mac changer to spoof your way in again.

BBB_Hyperion
08-29-2006, 03:15 PM
Well there are hardware parts with serial numbers as well http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

KG26_Alpha
08-29-2006, 04:29 PM
Well there are hardware parts with serial numbers as well Big Grin


As posted above m8, you can alter those quite easily, spoofing bluetooth hotspots is a common occurence in London, as is hacking someones Wireless router network to gain internet and network access, theres ways to stop it quite easily but Joe Bloggs coming home from PC World setting up his wireless sytem probally wouldnt have a clue how to protect himself correctly.

There are some "bandits" that have been online for well over a year without ever having a ISP contract lol http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

Disclaimer:

If a Joe Bloggs who has been hacked exists this is pure coincidence and Im not responsible.

Waldo.Pepper
08-29-2006, 06:04 PM
MAC Changer! Cool - I gotta check this out. Thanks. Hope there is a Windows based version rather than Linux.

KG26_Alpha
08-30-2006, 01:11 AM
My post was a heads up for protecting you from attack not to encourage anyone. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

WB_Outlaw
08-30-2006, 02:55 PM
Originally posted by Waldo.Pepper:
MAC Changer! Cool - I gotta check this out. Thanks. Hope there is a Windows based version rather than Linux.

In Windows, depending on the vendor, you can change the MAC address in the properties tab. I've had to "clone" MACs on one occasion. A client bought all new workstations with integrated NICs and then found out that his vendor supplied hardware they connected to restricted access by the MAC address. I had to plug in and boot up each of his old workstations and write down the MAC for each, then enter it into the corresponding new workstation. It was only 12 but still a PITA.

--Outlaw.