PDA

View Full Version : Game lagging?



kalo.yanis
03-19-2011, 08:54 AM
Hey, guys. I received my copy of ACB today and am extremely happy! the game looks great, but I have a nagging issue.

Annoyingly, the game lags on my laptop. Here are my specs:

4GB RAM
2.7 Ghz Intel i5 (quad-core)
Nvidia GeForce GT 425M

Now, the reason why I am particularly annoyed is because AC2, on the other hand, runs like butter. Honestly, it doesn't lag AT ALL. I would suppose that there are only minor graphical enhancements implemented in ACB (as far as i've seen), so the performace shouldn't drop dramatically. But it does. Lowering the resolution and the graphics settings helps a bit, but the game still lags.

Honestly, this is a pretty powerful laptop and the game shouldn't lag on it, in my opinion. In my mind, this point to bad PC optimisation.

Patch and drivers update didn't help either.

Any ideas?

ace3001
03-19-2011, 08:56 AM
Lag as in how many FPS?

kalo.yanis
03-19-2011, 08:58 AM
As I said, I did try reducing all graphics settings by about 1 or 2 levels, but it didn't help much.

Er.. how should I check the FPS? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

Murcuseo
03-19-2011, 09:01 AM
Download a benchmark tool like Fraps. Run fraps then start the game, the benchmark should run in yellow, I think it's top left by default.

kalo.yanis
03-19-2011, 09:07 AM
OK, I'll do that.

In the mean time, I reduced some of the graphics options by 2 levels and the game runs acceptably smooth now. However, in my opinion, I shouldn't have to reduce the graphics options this much, if at all, for the game to run ok, again having in mind how AC2 runs on my PC.

KingDaniel0
03-19-2011, 09:08 AM
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

As a side note, have you tried running/playing the game On 2 CPU cores, or even 1 core (depending on your processor i.e. Quad CPU) ? Not sure if this can solve your problem, but there is no harm in trying it.

After you have loaded the Game's Main Menu, Open Task Manager (CTRL+ALT+DEL/CTRL+SHIFT+ESC) and Click on the Processes Tab. On the Processes tab, at the bottom click on the 'Show processes from all users' Button. Now Right click the process i.e. ACBSP.exe, and Click on the 'Set Affinity' option, and then 'Uncheck' any 2 boxes labelled as CPU 0, CPU 1 etc., and click on the OK button. But first Launch the game and then press 'ALT-TAB' to go back to the desktop, and now open the Task Manager, and follow the above method. Press 'ALT-TAB' to go back to the game.

Just make sure to run the process i.e. ACBSP.exe, with any 2 cores of the CPU. Or Uncheck any 3 boxes, to play the game on a Single CPU core. Btw, does the game fully utilize all the CPU cores ??

Another method: Insert the following command inside the Target line at the game's Shortcut TAB. Make a Shortcut of the game's .EXE and insert the following command (Right-click---->Go to properties---->Shortcut TAB):

C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe /c start /HIGH /affinity 3 ACBSP.exe

This will allow the game to run on High priority, and only on 2 CPU cores. You can also Lower the process priority if needed. You can also use this tool for setting the CPU affinity/priority:

http://edgemeal.110mb.com/PriFinitty/index.htm

As a side note, also try launching the game under 'Windows XP SP2 Compatibility Mode', and see if this makes any in-game difference or not ? This can be easily done under Windows 7/Vista. Btw, which OS are you using ?

The above low FPS/lag could also be a GPU driver issue. Maybe Nvidia and ATI may release a BETA version of drivers for ACB. Try to close every other Background process while gaming.



---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

kalo.yanis
03-19-2011, 09:09 AM
PS, I'm running on Windows 7 64 bit.

DKT25
03-19-2011, 09:17 AM
Yeah, i have the same problem. My pc is HD5850, AMD phenom 955 and 4 GB of ram. I have heard that this problem is because i'm using AMD processor? Could it be?

Help to fix this problem. Maybe the author of this game could help? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

kalo.yanis
03-19-2011, 09:19 AM
Ok, so at the highest settings (inluding 1080p resolution), the game runs at about 14-15 FPS with relatively low action

When I decrese the settings by 2, it starts running at 23 fps with low action and environment in the background and abotu 19 with high action and/or environment (i.e. city panorama in the background as opposed to a street).

kalo.yanis
03-19-2011, 09:23 AM
Ok, tried reducing the number of cores utilized and it didn't make any difference. The game doesn't even use their full processing power whilst on.

kalo.yanis
03-19-2011, 09:27 AM
Also, Vsync and multisampling (antialiasing?) are off.

I hope Ubisoft turns up with a solution, as 15fps is really unplayable. It's spoiling my release hype. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

shop27C171CB8
03-19-2011, 09:35 AM
PC
Operating System: MS Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 805 - Deneb 45nm Technology
RAM: 4.0GB Dual-Channel DDR2 @ 333MHz (5-5-5-15)
Motherboard: Acer RS780HVF (AM2)
Graphics: ATI Radeon HD 4650 @ 1024MB

Settings (Graphics)
N/A
- Off
- On
- 4
- 3
- 4
- Normal
- 5
- On

Best optimized settings for my pc eventhough mine isn't "that old". Sure, graphics card could get an update but short on money.

kalo.yanis
03-19-2011, 09:39 AM
Originally posted by shop27C171CB8:
PC
Operating System: MS Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 805 - Deneb 45nm Technology
RAM: 4.0GB Dual-Channel DDR2 @ 333MHz (5-5-5-15)
Motherboard: Acer RS780HVF (AM2)
Graphics: ATI Radeon HD 4650 @ 1024MB

Settings (Graphics)
N/A
- Off
- On
- 4
- 3
- 4
- Normal
- 5
- On

Best optimized settings for my pc eventhough mine isn't "that old". Sure, graphics card could get an update but short on money.

See, even though, my PC is about as good (or perhaps slightly better), my game lags with those settings. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

kalo.yanis
03-19-2011, 10:12 AM
Also, my PC's performance index (5.9) is well above the recommended for ACB (4.5), according to Windows. My graphics card and processor even have indeces of 6.5 and 6.9, respectively.

Weird...

ARustyFirePlace
03-19-2011, 12:49 PM
Your PC isn't that great, and the game has GPU usage problems.

Mr_Shade
03-19-2011, 12:57 PM
Originally posted by NBST:
Also, my PC's performance index (5.9) is well above the recommended for ACB (4.5), according to Windows. My graphics card and processor even have indeces of 6.5 and 6.9, respectively.

Weird... Hi there,

Most Laptop Graphics cards, even though great at somethings, can sometimes struggle on high detailed games - due to various reasons, these laptop cards are not always easy to get working 100% on certain games - most games state laptop versions of cards are not supported.


The only thing I can suggest from an official point of view, is to contact Ubisoft Support - and see if they are aware of any thing to help performance, however like I said, most laptop cards are not really supported - so the performance may not be able to be improved upon.