PDA

View Full Version : Windows Vista



jflain
06-26-2007, 12:17 PM
Is there any way of loading 1946 on vista or will there be a patch to make it work.

I cant get it to work http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

jflain
06-26-2007, 12:17 PM
Is there any way of loading 1946 on vista or will there be a patch to make it work.

I cant get it to work http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

Ernst_Rohr
06-26-2007, 12:57 PM
First off, you need to move it OUT of the Program Files directory to get it working correctly.

For whatever ******ed reason, MS decided that everything there is read only, which makes configuration a PITA.

I would recommend making a folder for your games and putting it there, then you are going to need to do some work with sound, as that seems to be the biggest problem right now. If you cant get it to run reliably, crank the sound channels down and see if it gets any better.

If your running sound through a Creative Xi-Fi, your not going to be happy. The Creative drivers for Vista suck, and they kept causing crashes for me in IL-2. If you have different sound gear, it works much better, but you absolutely should move the game directory elsewhere before you do anything else. If you are running a Creative card and you cant get the game to launch, try disabling sound and see if it will come up. If the game launches successfully with no sound, you have found (part of) the stability culprit.

OpenGL is also a little wonky depending on your card and drivers, you may want to switch to DirectX if your having problems getting the game to launch. Vista's OpenGL handling leaves a lot to be desired, but they are slowly getting there.

I got IL-2 running under Vista, but the performance was better under XP, for a lot less work. I have another squadron mate who runs IL-2 on Vista, and he gets decent performance out of it, but it does take a lot of tweaking.

Finally, Vista has a veritable mob of services that can be killed to boost performance and cut down on memory bleed. I dont have them right in front of them, but you can kill stuff like the indexing service in particular, that seems to help speed and performance greatly.

neural_dream
06-26-2007, 03:41 PM
I don't understand all this.

To install my 1946 in vista home edition, I right-clicked on the installation executable of the dvd to run it as administrator. You mean you've tried this and it doesn't work?!!!! And of course I installed it in c:\program files\...
and of course I have no problems with changing the conf.ini and other strange issues that people have reported.



and plz don't post the same thing twice: http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/306...131004965#3131004965 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/3061073965?r=3131004965#3131004965) http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/51.gif

mortoma
06-26-2007, 06:14 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Ernst_Rohr:
First off, you need to move it OUT of the Program Files directory to get it working correctly.

For whatever ******ed reason, MS decided that everything there is read only, which makes configuration a PITA.

I would recommend making a folder for your games and putting it there, then you are going to need to do some work with sound, as that seems to be the biggest problem right now. If you cant get it to run reliably, crank the sound channels down and see if it gets any better.

If your running sound through a Creative Xi-Fi, your not going to be happy. The Creative drivers for Vista suck, and they kept causing crashes for me in IL-2. If you have different sound gear, it works much better, but you absolutely should move the game directory elsewhere before you do anything else. If you are running a Creative card and you cant get the game to launch, try disabling sound and see if it will come up. If the game launches successfully with no sound, you have found (part of) the stability culprit.

OpenGL is also a little wonky depending on your card and drivers, you may want to switch to DirectX if your having problems getting the game to launch. Vista's OpenGL handling leaves a lot to be desired, but they are slowly getting there.

I got IL-2 running under Vista, but the performance was better under XP, for a lot less work. I have another squadron mate who runs IL-2 on Vista, and he gets decent performance out of it, but it does take a lot of tweaking.

Finally, Vista has a veritable mob of services that can be killed to boost performance and cut down on memory bleed. I dont have them right in front of them, but you can kill stuff like the indexing service in particular, that seems to help speed and performance greatly. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>I think the ******ed reason for the read only Program Files directory has something to do with adware/spyware/malware/trojans, as they often hide in or modify settings of various programs in that folder. The big thing with Vista was to fix Windows lack of control over what the internet affects or how it interacts with your PC, especially regarding malicious or privacy invading software code.

mortoma
06-26-2007, 06:19 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by neural_dream:
I don't understand all this.

To install my 1946 in vista home edition, I right-clicked on the installation executable of the dvd to run it as administrator. You mean you've tried this and it doesn't work?!!!! And of course I installed it in c:\program files\...
and of course I have no problems with changing the conf.ini and other strange issues that people have reported.



and plz don't post the same thing twice: http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/306...131004965#3131004965 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/3061073965?r=3131004965#3131004965) http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/51.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>You may have gotten it to work in Program Files folder but there is no reason software like 1946 has to be in there. I have never installed it in that folder and never had a problem.

LStarosta
06-26-2007, 06:19 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by neural_dream:
I don't understand all this.

To install my 1946 in vista home edition, I right-clicked on the installation executable of the dvd to run it as administrator. You mean you've tried this and it doesn't work?!!!! And of course I installed it in c:\program files\...
and of course I have no problems with changing the conf.ini and other strange issues that people have reported.



and plz don't post the same thing twice: http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/306...131004965#3131004965 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/3061073965?r=3131004965#3131004965) http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/51.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

It's cuz you're not being TacticoolÖ.

jflain
06-28-2007, 05:15 AM
Yeh have installed using the explore disc and click on single A.then it loads but the in game multiplayer will now not work so cant join or creat a server anymore.Any views on this. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gif

neural_dream
06-28-2007, 12:20 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by jflain:
Yeh have installed using the explore disc and click on single A.then it loads but the in game multiplayer will now not work so cant join or creat a server anymore.Any views on this. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
That seems irrelevant to vista. If you mean that it doesn't connect to an IP you give then it's probably a firewall issue.

Skycat_2
06-28-2007, 09:45 PM
It installed and worked okay in Vista for me when I used the default install location, but I immediately noticed that I couldn't create new pilot profiles. The real issues for me were that I couldn't get 'third party' apps like IL2-MAT Manager, UQMG or Hyperlobby to work with 1946. Finally I uninstalled everything and reinstalled everything IL-2 related outside of the Program Files folder, and everything works fine without hassle or messing with the User Account Control permissions.

I have heard that the game won't work with Vista 64 though ...

jflain
06-29-2007, 04:13 AM
Thanks guys all for your help got it sorted now and was a firewall issue.Had to direct to my firewall.
Also a note for vista have noticed if u start the game by using run as administrator the frame rates are better than if u just load by using the shortcut.

Thanks all http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_razz.gif

Acedya
08-08-2007, 04:43 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Ernst_Rohr:
First off, you need to move it OUT of the Program Files directory to get it working correctly.

For whatever ******ed reason, MS decided that everything there is read only, which makes configuration a PITA. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Even if you didn┬┤t install it as admin there is still no need to put it outside the Program Files. If you only use the ingame options to adjust IL2 just right click on the IL2fb.exe -&gt; properties -&gt; compatibility -&gt; run in admin mode. If you want to change the conf.ini manually or use 3rd party tools that need access to the IL2 folder all you┬┤ve got to do is to grant write access to your standard user. Right click on the IL2 folder -&gt; select properties -&gt; security tab -&gt; edit the rights of your standard user account (not the admin one of course) to "full access". That┬┤s it.
I agree that you┬┤ve got to get used to the new UAC but in fact I like it much more than the XP user control because now if you want to have a secure system regarding viruses etc you don┬┤t have to fiddle around with different admin and standard user accounts all the time. Logging in as admin (what most people do/did in XP anyway) will still restrict the write access of most programs unless you manually grant them the additional rights they need. Works similiar to a firewall.

PF_Coastie
08-08-2007, 04:54 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Acedya:

Even if you didn┬┤t install it as admin there is still no need to put it outside the Program Files. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

There is one very big need for doing this.

If/when you reinstall windows, you do not have to reinstall your game.

I keep my game on a seperate partition from windows so that I can do a windows reinstall at will without the hassle of reinstalling the game.

But I would like to say that you have some very good info out there for people trying to install with Vista. You should consider putting it in the Fixes sticky thread.

Propwash
08-08-2007, 05:39 AM
splorg

Acedya
08-08-2007, 11:11 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by PF_Coastie:
I keep my game on a seperate partition from windows so that I can do a windows reinstall at will without the hassle of reinstalling the game. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I┬┤m no expert but I┬┤d say this is a two sided sword because only the programs that do not rely on the registry or change the operating system in another way (like adding dlls, shared files, DirectX updates...) will still work after reinstalling Windows.

Eldude95
08-08-2007, 11:15 AM
Any one having it crash? Of course it might be my craptaculer computer http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/compsmash.gif

Heavy_Weather
08-08-2007, 12:23 PM
I got a copy of Vista the other day and it had a bottle of Xanax inside the box. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

waffen-79
08-08-2007, 12:42 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by mortoma:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by neural_dream:
I don't understand all this.

To install my 1946 in vista home edition, I right-clicked on the installation executable of the dvd to run it as administrator. You mean you've tried this and it doesn't work?!!!! And of course I installed it in c:\program files\...
and of course I have no problems with changing the conf.ini and other strange issues that people have reported.



and plz don't post the same thing twice: http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/306...131004965#3131004965 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/3061073965?r=3131004965#3131004965) http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/51.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>You may have gotten it to work in Program Files folder but there is no reason software like 1946 has to be in there. I have never installed it in that folder and never had a problem. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Ever since I installed a pc game, I never, EVER use the typical installation, I always use a custom "C:\GAMES" folder

I currently use Windows XP SP2 (english) and see no reason to upgrade...am I wrong?

Acedya
08-08-2007, 04:50 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by waffen-79:
I currently use Windows XP SP2 (english) and see no reason to upgrade...am I wrong? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

If you ask me you┬┤re right, I would have kept XP because today there is still no real reason for switching to Vista. My problem was that I just got a new rig and could not use my OEM XP version anymore so I had to decide if I spent 100 bucks on XP again and then later another 100 for Vista or immediately take the hazardous but cheaper route, which I did in the end. Luckily I have to say that at least for me the switch-over has turned out quite well, looks like many of the driver and software issues have been ironed out so far.

VW-IceFire
08-08-2007, 06:01 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Acedya:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by PF_Coastie:
I keep my game on a seperate partition from windows so that I can do a windows reinstall at will without the hassle of reinstalling the game. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I┬┤m no expert but I┬┤d say this is a two sided sword because only the programs that do not rely on the registry or change the operating system in another way (like adding dlls, shared files, DirectX updates...) will still work after reinstalling Windows. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
IL-2 is one of those programs. It creates a single reg key that points to the game directory. Since the patches don't use that (they are manual as you may know) and nothing else is needed for that except the uninstall program its not a danger at all.

Most times I would agree but not for IL-2. I use the same method.

f.ip2
08-08-2007, 09:56 PM
out of curiosity, how is your Vista experience?

Compared to XP ?

Mercwolf2
08-09-2007, 10:25 AM
Hi

I installed with vista and after doing some research in these forums I didn't have any issues. Advice: do your homework first as it will minimize your difficulties.