PDA

View Full Version : No Roll Trim In Some AC?



GSNei
10-30-2005, 07:34 PM
Until these last patches I never used trim controls before. Well it's setup now but many planes seem to lack any roll trim. I haven't tested everything but the American planes all seem to have it but most others do not. Is this correct, a glitch, or operator error on my part?

GSNei
10-30-2005, 07:34 PM
Until these last patches I never used trim controls before. Well it's setup now but many planes seem to lack any roll trim. I haven't tested everything but the American planes all seem to have it but most others do not. Is this correct, a glitch, or operator error on my part?

Zyzbot
10-30-2005, 07:38 PM
Many aircraft only had pilot adjustable elevator trim. I think the I-16 doesn't have anything that the pilot could adjust. You'll just need to learn each plane.

GSNei
10-30-2005, 07:51 PM
Elevator trim is working fine on everything - it's aileron trim that seems miissing on a lot of AC

Zyzbot
10-30-2005, 07:57 PM
Many WWII fighters did not have pilot adjustable aileron trim.

Tully__
10-30-2005, 07:59 PM
Most of the German aircraft only have elevator trim. Some of the Russian aircraft too. Most of the American aircraft have trim on all three primary controls. I'm not sure about the British and other nationalities.

I just test in flight. If it doesn't respond, it's a fair bet that the aircraft I'm flying isn't equipped with it http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

GSNei
10-30-2005, 08:03 PM
Ouch! - Thanx some of these fellas must have had pretty tired arms after a 4 hour mission. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Zyzbot
10-30-2005, 08:09 PM
Planes like the Fw-190 or Me-109 will trim out nicely at normal cruise speed and throttle settings so there is less fatigue than you might think at first.

Freelancer-1
10-30-2005, 08:35 PM
Just a little thing but it drives me batty.

Taking up a new plane, you look out at the ailerons and see a trim tab, then you find out it's just for show. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

Zyzbot
10-30-2005, 08:39 PM
I think the trim tabs were there...they were just adjusted on the ground for cruise speed instead of being adjusted in flight by the pilot.

GSNei
10-30-2005, 08:40 PM
That's one of the reasons I thought something might be messed up.

Tully__
10-31-2005, 04:23 PM
ALL aircraft have some form of trim even if it's set and forget at the factory, but for many it's not adjustable by the pilot in flight.

jugent
10-31-2005, 04:27 PM
Many a/c:s got a fixed tab, that trimmed the plane at cruise-speed and hight.
I think that this is not included.