PDA

View Full Version : Problems in 1946 (PC version)

bmoffa
03-18-2007, 03:35 PM
I am new to games, but have been developing computer software for over 40 years. I've been developing for Windows, nearly sinces its first release.

1. Several times when attacking a bomber or similar type of aircraft from the rear, the screen will go completely black. I can still exit the mission by hitting ESC. It may be because I am being killed, but in older versions the screen was tinted red and I was informed on my injuries.

2. Most of the time, when I get completely out of the game, the process IL2FB.EXE is still running. I have to kill it with the Windows Task Manager. Some of my other programs can't start when it is in that condition.

3. All the Japanese aircraft seem to be more heavily armed in the 1946 version. I think this is an error. Most Japanese aircraft of the time were poorly armored. In the 1946 version I can empty my guns into a G4M1 and it stays up. In the Pacific Fighters standalone (most current updates applied), one or two bursts would take them out. I am a bit suspicious because when I exit the mission, my kills show up as red stars instead of circles.

4. On many occasions, when the program finally starts, it does not respond to the mouse and/or keyboard. This seems to happen if the keyboard or mouse is used something during the load process.

Some Requests:

1. When I toggle the speed bar to Miles and Feet, I would really like it to stay that way. Why not make it a configuration option (my preference). Or, set it based on what side you are flying for, i.e. for US make it common US units, for USSR, make it metric, etc.

2. The load time on initial start up is extremely long. Why not use a starter program so the user, can see something immediately. I have accidentally started it more that once, because I didn't see anything happening.

berg417448
03-18-2007, 04:47 PM