PDA

View Full Version : When did the "wobble" start/stop?

myrrhcedar
01-12-2010, 06:06 AM
Hello everyone,

I started playing Il-2 with the original game and fell in love, then got up to Pacific Fighters before I took a break.

I bought the 1946 collection a while back and let it sit in the box for some reason, I guess busy period in real life, but after playing PF I got the urge to install 1946 finally. The amount of planes is awesome and I was really excited to get back into it, but then...

I once saw a post on this forum about "wobble" being increased at some point/during some update:

Originally posted by DKoor:

Some time ago there was this patch where it was close to impossible to shoot anything with some fighters, they were just yawing (we use term wobble, wobbling) badly http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif .

It was somewhat corrected but is still present on some types much more than others.
F4U Corsair is notorious for wobbling...

What I do to counter the problem is to give rudder some input but do not let go, another words move rudder all the way to neutral position slowly or airplane nose will be all over the place if you nail it hard.

Once you get a grip on it it will be more or less smooth, but it is hard in the beggining.

Feel free to download some of my tracks in signature link, you will see how my aircraft wobbles from time to time because sometimes you just need speedy corrections even at expense of not being precise.

Now I really know what they were talking about. Some feel fine (p39), others are unbearable (mc.205, f4u). I went directly from PF to 1946 and the "jello" feeling of the planes, and the cartoonish way they look wobbling back and forth on their own center axis as if hanging from a string... combined with the really predictable stalls, I just can't enjoy it. PF feels much better (to me) side-by-side with 1946.