PDA

View Full Version : small request for escort carrier max speed increase



TurkeyVulture
01-30-2006, 10:58 AM
thanks for all the new planes upcoming!

In the future would it be possible to unlock the escort carrier speeds so they can be the same as the Essex class carriers? Escort class carriers did have speeds that reached 30-31 knots--I can provide more info if requested.

If this has been requested and negated before, well... nevermind.

TurkeyVulture
01-30-2006, 10:58 AM
thanks for all the new planes upcoming!

In the future would it be possible to unlock the escort carrier speeds so they can be the same as the Essex class carriers? Escort class carriers did have speeds that reached 30-31 knots--I can provide more info if requested.

If this has been requested and negated before, well... nevermind.

TurkeyVulture
01-30-2006, 11:05 AM
I suppose I'm thinking more of the Independence class escorts, and those aren't modeled, so relegate this post to the wishful thinking Pacific realm.

p1ngu666
01-30-2006, 12:11 PM
u can edit the speeds in notepad, and other stuff too, just open up the mission file in notepad.

i cant remmber what u haveto change tho http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

mandrill7
01-30-2006, 03:57 PM
You go into the .mis file and open it in notepad. You have to delete the last value in each row setting out the carrier's path. This value is usually a 10-digit # beginning with a 9 and - I think - sets out meters per second. Replace this with something more realistic like 18.50. This will give you the 30 knot speed that carriers would try and attain when launching.

VT-51_Razor
01-30-2006, 04:43 PM
TurkeyVulture, it's quite easy to do, however, if you open the mission up in the FMB again, after modifying the speed, then the speed will default to the max allowable in the game.

First, create a mission for the Jeep carrier in the FMB, then quit the game and
open up the .MIS file that you just created, in note pad. Go down the lines until you see where it identifies which Chiefs are which, then below those lines, you will see a series of line that are the coordinates and speed of each Chief. The last digits in those lines are the speed. If you set the speed for the Jeep to it's max in the FMB, you'll see 9.75xxxx or something like that. The speed is in terms of meters per second! You can change it to 20, which is equivilant to 38 Kts. This may seem a bit excessive, but it really does make for a pretty realistic experience on the little boat http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif You can taxi up to just aft of the catapult track, and get off with ease. This allows you to launch, recover, and relaunch all day long.

LEXX_Luthor
01-30-2006, 05:10 PM
um, if I recall you can open the mission (how else would you load it to fly?) but just don't click on the modded escort carrier's waypoints because FMB will recalculate the speeds. Experiment, its been some time since I made carrier ops needing faster speeds.

MAILMAN------
01-30-2006, 05:32 PM
Turkey Vulture:

Just for your information the Independence class carriers were designated CVL or "Light Carriers" and the Escort class carriers were designated "CVE".

The CV and CVL were part of the fast carrier task groups and were intermingled. The CVE's were considerably slower and were designated for amphibious support or convoy/anti-submarine duty.

Class:

Langely CV: 15 Knots
Lexington CV: 34 Knots Fleet Carrier
Yorktown CV: 32.5 Knots Fleet Carrier
Ranger CV: 29.25 Knots Light Fleet Carrier
Wasp CV: 29.5 Knots Light Fleet Carrier
Essex CV: 33 Knots Fleet Carrier
Independence CVL: 31.6 Knots Light Carrier
Escort CV: 19 Knots Escort Carrier

Thanks for the information on how to get the correct speeds for these ships in the game.

I just wish there was a way to make skins for some of the existing US CV's so I could put some correct numbers on the "Essex Class" CV's for historical missions. Central Pacific Islands would be nice too, but that is wishful thinking.

TurkeyVulture
01-30-2006, 06:20 PM
Thanks all for the helpful info, now don't have to pretend the speed--just the skin and number.

Wish, wish, so wish there was a way to make skins for the ships! It would really go a long way to extending the immersion factor. Does IC:Maddox take bribes? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_razz.gif

VT-51_Razor
01-30-2006, 06:32 PM
Lex, if you open up a mission in the FMB that has had the ships' speeds modified beyond what the game has listed as max, they will all default to their max for the game, regardless of whether or not you mess with their waypoints. Opening the mission up in the FMB is quite different than loading it up via the coop or single player choices to fly it in the game.

LEXX_Luthor
01-30-2006, 10:56 PM
Razor:: <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Opening the mission up in the FMB is quite different than loading it up via the coop or single player choices to fly it in the game. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
I don't understand. I load FMB, "open" or load the mission, I see the map and all the objects with waypoints but don't touch them, and I click Fly. I once did this with carrier set to about (very rough guess) ~150km/hr, and with A6M2 I just floated up off the deck vertically, flew away, came back and after some time was able to land vertically on the fast moving deck, all just like in the Harrier Sims. That was totally demented fun.

Maybe something changed in a Patch, the last I did this was ohhh 3.02 or 4.01 maybe?

VT-51_Razor
01-31-2006, 08:30 AM
Lex, I just tried it, and you're absolutely right! I opened up a mission in the FMB and selected Play and the speeds were not changed. Just to make sure, I went back to the game's opening control panel, and that same selected single player mission. It still worked. You are right.

LEXX_Luthor
01-31-2006, 09:31 AM
Aussom, I was panicking there for a while.

You know, I never tried the "single player" thing. I always go through FMB, load up the map. hum, never thought of that.

MAILMAN------
01-31-2006, 06:08 PM
Well like it or not, the max speeds in the game of the CVE and CV (Essex) match the calculation of 19 Knots and 30 Knots respectively. The speed bar I believe is in only 10 kIAS increments because the indication is 10 KIAS and 20 KIAS respectively on the speed bar for the aircraft on the flight deck, but the mission folder has the correct http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/cry.gif speeds in meters/sec for 19 Knots and 30 Knots. I went to a sight to compare the calculations to the speeds in the mission folder.

TurkeyVulture
02-01-2006, 07:54 AM
yeah, speed bar resolution is not very accurate, especially in knots--check the kmh--it's better, but still below the actual. Seems like the speed bar always rounds down until you hit the next actual increment at 10 value. Can't explain it not showing 30 knots though in game, as it is going that fast--or at least seems darn close.

VT-51_Razor
02-01-2006, 08:33 AM
No question about it Mailman, the speeds ingame are definitely correct. It's just that, without any wind modeled in the game, and without a catapult, this little "cheat" is necessary if you want to fly off of those baby flattops with any kind of realism at all. In calm winds, they often would not conduct flight ops! Not because they couldn't launch, but because they didn't want to recover their planes with only 19 knots over the deck.