PDA

View Full Version : Just an idea for recce missions

rhugouvi
06-16-2007, 11:49 AM
Hi all!

First of all, I'd like to say that I've been enjoying the Il2 serie for several years by now.
But to be honest, I've been quite disappointed with existing recce simulations so far. Recce missions are too often limited to a simple waypoint overflight, without any camera to trigger on or possibility to get a B&W picture of what you shot.

I've been thinking about a way to give recce missions an extra interest, and I'd like to share with you an idea.
Il2 incorporates the quick video feature. So, the position of aircraft, boats and armors can be recorded every nth of second, and when you play it again, you can move freely around your plane.
"Recce-wise", toggling the quick vid could simulate the camera's activation. Then, when the player exits the mission, the environment is regenerated, the free view is aimed at nadir, a snapshot is taken. This would be repeated as many quarters of second as the cameras were running.
No snapshot would be taken while in flight, what is less lag-prone. The player would see his pix either through a viewer directly in the game, or from JPG files in an appropriate sub-folder.

Well, I hope I've made myself clear and that you get the main idea. It might not be on top of the developers' priority list, but anyway, I should give it a try.

I hope you 've found something valuable in my post, and please contact me either here or by e-mail at huoneestani (at) yahoo.fr (yes, it's "huoneestani") if you want some extra details.

BR,

Rhugouvi.

XyZspineZyX
06-16-2007, 02:31 PM
I get the idea- not a bad feature, although i fear it is just a novelty, because I don't see how this can be a mission-goal- how does the sim know if yoiu accomplished the recce? X number of targets that need to be photographed are in the vid? How does the sim know?

rhugouvi
06-16-2007, 02:56 PM