PDA

View Full Version : x52 vs CH

muzzlehead
04-20-2008, 12:55 PM
Hi All,

I've been flying with a Saitek x45 for years. I also have trackir 4 and ch usb rudder pedals.

My stick is starting to show its age, the play in the stick is very loose so I am considering an upgrade.

Here are my questions:

1) Is it possible to use the x45 throttle with a ch stick?

2) What makes the x52 pro better than the x52 (in real terms not color or lights).

3) I have limited usb ports and from all I have read and heard the joystick and trackir should not go through a usb hub. Can the ch throttle and stick link together (like the x45) and does the x52 pro still link together like the x45?

Thanks for your input and time

Muzzlehead

Choctaw111
04-20-2008, 02:18 PM
I have not used Saitek, but my I have had my CH controls for 5 years and they are still going strong with no signs of wear.

Jimbo93
04-20-2008, 04:06 PM
I have no experience with the Saitek products either, but I'm a huge advocate of the CH gear. I had the fighterstick, pro throttle and rudder set up and decided to "upgrade" to a ThrustMaster Cougar. Long story short, after a few months of frustration, my CH is back and the Cougar's in it's box. In my opinion CH = Cougar Hunter. Never had a single problem with it.

BadA1m
04-20-2008, 10:37 PM
Iirc, the x52 pro has a stiffer spring return and it has more display functionality, and I believe it has some metal parts.

I'm not sure about the saitek/CH compatibility thing.

I use my Tir4 with a hub, but it must be a powered hub: your mileage may very.

x6BL_Brando
04-21-2008, 02:23 AM
I'm a CH user too - six years without problems for my Fighterstick and Pedals. Buttons, pots, springs and even entire gimbals are cheaply available for them, but I've used mine for over five thousand hours and still haven't needed to replace anything