PDA

View Full Version : GW.....A Few Q's....



Ali_109
08-12-2006, 08:29 AM
I have finally cracked and got Grey Wolves installed, wow its great, special thanks to Viking Grandad, BR, RJ, C, and all others who have posted and advised on install and advice info etc(and of course the developers http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif), i had no trouble at all installing and my first impressions (on patrol 2 now) are......well brilliant http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif
I just have a couple of questions for all you experts....
1.)On first GW patrol i received a radio message just as i left port saying "enemy convey contact 55.61N 16.52W", whats the best thing to do in that situation, head NW? The next message said "any boats available are to shadow", some help here would be great..
Also, If i leave an ailing ship, lets says i have had two hits and its doing 0 knots, if i want to pursue another can i come back and finish it off later? Whats a safe amount of time to leave it there and then return and will it still be sitting?
Also historically, when surfacing and manning the deck or flak, where is the ammo kept, i mean would they have to set up and carry the ammo up on deck? and how long would it have take realistically to man the decks and with how much effort?
I have loads more Q's, but i don't want to bombard you all at once......
Just a quicky, is the cut-through from Kiel to Cuxhaven safely passable? If so what is the depth to keel?
I hope you can help...........i am off into Freetown now....ummmmm can't wait, nice weather i hope! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/icon_twisted.gif

Foehammer-1
08-12-2006, 09:07 AM
Back when I had GW, I didn't bother with those radio messages, although there were a few sayign that U-whatever is shadowing a convoy in grid so-and-so. Heck, the convoy was actually there!

I would not go further than 35 miles away from a crippled ship

The ammo is kept inside the deck, jest behind the gun, those closed rectangular hatches are ammo stores. It would not take much time at all to set up the deck gun, since IRL, there were a lot more than 3 crew members setting it up. All they had to do is take off the plug from the barrel (not modelled in the game) and release the clamps or whatever to allow the gun to pivot.

And I did not try the Kieal canal, so no help from me herehttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

WilhelmSchulz.
08-12-2006, 11:45 AM
Yhe Keil Cannel? Been there done that. Its safe. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Ali_109
08-12-2006, 02:30 PM
Thanks F, thats great info, never realised that the ammo was located on deck, i have invested in a few books which i am reading at the moment. U-Boats Under the Swastika(mallman showell) U-boat and the batte for the atlantic(showell) so hopefully i will be more informed in the future.
Wilhelm, thank you, and i am still waiting for your next port invasion... http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Goose_Green
08-12-2006, 04:16 PM
Originally posted by Ali_109:
Thanks F, thats great info, never realised that the ammo was located on deck

You will find some rounds were kept on deck to get the inital shots in, but the remainder of rounds were fed from within the U boat out to the conning tower and passed to the gun crew with the help of a human chain.

WTE_Googly
08-12-2006, 06:53 PM
If I may ask a question as well, what computers are you guys running it on?

I am using a laptop with 2.00 GHz, 1 GB RAM and ATI MOBILITY RADEON X700 and it runs extremely choppy in port (haven't been able to get out yet :P) and I wondered settings I could change to get it running better?

StaticSurge
08-12-2006, 07:30 PM
Originally posted by WTE_Googly:
If I may ask a question as well, what computers are you guys running it on?

I am using a laptop with 2.00 GHz, 1 GB RAM and ATI MOBILITY RADEON X700 and it runs extremely choppy in port (haven't been able to get out yet :P) and I wondered settings I could change to get it running better?

You're not the only one. I have a 3.2 Ghz P4 W/HT 1GB of ram and a nVidia 7800GS graphics card and my computer goes down to about 10 fps in ports.

Realjambo
08-12-2006, 07:44 PM
@ WTE Googly and StaticSurge:

I urge you both to go into Video Settings and lower the Particle Density setting to about 75 or 80%. The run GW and see if that helps.

When I first ran GW, I was gutted with the frame rate drop and was going to bin GW, but then someone suggested I drop the particle density, and ever since it has run like a dream, with no real loss of graphical quality.

If I can do it, so can you, given my specs are :

AMD 64 3000 754 skt
Asus K8V SE Deluve mobo
2 gb Crucial PC3200 ram (not dual channel)
Geforce 6600GT GFX card

Please try this, then come back and post your findings, it saved GW for me!

tuddley3
08-12-2006, 11:50 PM
You may also replace the ocean floor with Stock Ocean Floor, located in Part 2 of GW package in the GW Documentation & Optional Mods folder. It sped up the game and Splash Screens during loading.

WTE_Googly
08-13-2006, 01:01 AM
Thanks for the help guys.

I dropped particle density to about 65%, and things move a lot smoother, but I still have big problems in Wilhelmshaven, so I moved to 1940 and moved bases and it runs way better out of habours.

However there are still places I get big slowdowns, for example sometimes on the nav map and whenever I look towards the planesmen in the command room. I have not yet run into any enemy ships yet...

I shall try using the stock ocean floor and see if that helps.

Thank you again for the help http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Edit: Slowdowns also in periscope view.

Ali_109
08-13-2006, 01:29 AM
Originally posted by Goose_Green:

You will find some rounds were kept on deck to get the inital shots in, but the remainder of rounds were fed from within the U boat out to the conning tower and passed to the gun crew with the help of a human chain.

Thanks Goose, i thought there would have to be some sort of human chain aswell, wow i bet that was hard work, it must of been heavy, any idea of the weight?

I am using a laptop with 2.00 GHz, 1 GB RAM and ATI MOBILITY RADEON X700 and it runs extremely choppy in port (haven't been able to get out yet :P) and I wondered settings I could change to get it running better?
Make sure you have turned off everything that runs in background, anti-virus etc it makes a big difference...

WTE_Googly
08-18-2006, 11:29 PM
Hello again http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Ok, I have knocked the particle density down to about 20, and it runs pretty good, unless I dive and am in the command room, it goes choppy again.

Also happens if I use any time compression in any place other than the nav map, when it starts getting choppy and press pause the mouse moves around all choppy as well.

Could it be an install problem?

I have not yet run into any enemy warships, but am enjoying myself so far despite the problems http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

bunkerratt
08-18-2006, 11:35 PM
ok folks forthose who still have probs with frame rates...try using omega drivers...ati or nvidia...belive me they work you should see a fps increase and just better overall performance... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/winky.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/shady.gif

Ali_109
08-19-2006, 12:31 AM
BR Thanks........I now have your ship mod aswell.... http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif.....my eyes are peeled for the 44000 liner http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/shady.gif anyone seen it yet?

bunkerratt
08-19-2006, 01:49 AM
http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k258/gndpdr/shot1155965340.jpg http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/winky.gif

Ali_109
08-19-2006, 02:17 AM
Ewwwwwwwww...she's a beauty, I am on the prowl http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/shady.gif

Realjambo
08-19-2006, 02:32 AM
Drool! I want one.

prj57
08-19-2006, 11:34 AM
For playing GW I have crated a whole separate Hardware Profile when I intend to play the game.

Particle density is set to 40 in my game

Laptop Specs:
Intel Centrino 1.42 Ghz
512 RAM
ATI 9600 64MB video

I run Windows with separate profile getting rid of all services and applications I don't need, heck I even have to restart If I want to use I-net http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/typing.gif

You can do adjustments to services: Start->Run->services.msc
Start->Run->msconfig

WARNING!!! DO NOT TOUCH THERE IF DON'T KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING!!!

Shahed_Kazi
08-19-2006, 12:00 PM
Hey I installed BR's ship mod but I have't seen any new ships yet :/

bunkerratt
08-19-2006, 12:19 PM
intel p-4 h/t 775 3.0 oc'd to 3.6
asus p5gd2 deluxe
2gb pc2 3200
twin 100gb sata hdd's raid 0
2 hdd coolers
dvd rom
dvd rw dual layer dual format
floppy
ati radeon x800xl pcie 256 oc'd
creative x-fi extreame music
enermax 600 watt psu
as 3000 cpu/gpu water cooler
north bridge/southbridge coolers
120mm front intake
1 80mm side intake
2 80mm rear exhaust
coolermaster musketeer3 hdd%/r/l chan monitor
logitec 5.1 surround 75 watt rms
saitec eclipse keyboard
logitec tracman rollerball cordless mouse
viewsonic vp201 20 inch lcd
11 in 1 card reader
ambient case temp readout
hdd temp readout
raidmax scorpion case
win xp pro sp2

Ali_109
08-19-2006, 02:10 PM
BR, Woooooo, your specs nearly as sexy as that liner http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif
Dual Core Xeon 3.2GHz/1066MHz/2x2MB
2GB DDR2667 Quad Channel FBD
250GB SATA II HD
750W-256MB PCIe x 16 NVIDIA Quadro FX 3450
SoundBlaster X-FI Xtreme
MS Intellimouse/Keyboard
Win XP Pro SP2
Coolmaster Stacker Chassis
Evo120 CPU Fan
Coolmaster Pro Crossflow Fan
120mm Rear Exhaust
2 x 90mm top/front chassis fans
and some great front 5.1/2 fans control units and leds made by coolmaster........all painstakingly built by myself http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif
My next mission....get that liner http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/shady.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

cnelsoniii
08-19-2006, 06:38 PM
Showoffs, must be nice http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/touche.gif

Ali_109
08-20-2006, 01:15 AM
http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif