PDA

View Full Version : Triplehead with PF (Dexmeister mainly)



Darkbluesky
07-14-2006, 01:58 AM
Hello,

I have been looking at what Matrox triplehead could do for a game, in Matrox site. I knew that PF after 4.04 support it ok and I was amused thinking what I could do with this and three video projectors, WOW http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif

Then I have found a screen from PF and *theoretically* triplehead although I don't know if it is a photoshoped image

http://www.pix8.net/pro/pic.php?u=6285n7XME&i=910766

You can understand that to see the wings like this has cooled my enthusiasm...

So before going forward on this, I would like that someone that uses triplehead here, post some screenshots, or at least confirm how is actually the use of this technology with PF.

I guess that Dexmeister, that uses *extensively* this tech with PF could help?

Any comment from any mate is also welcome of course

EDIT: BTW, someone knows if PF works in triplehead in OpenGL or only in DX?

Thank you!

Darkbluesky
07-14-2006, 01:58 AM
Hello,

I have been looking at what Matrox triplehead could do for a game, in Matrox site. I knew that PF after 4.04 support it ok and I was amused thinking what I could do with this and three video projectors, WOW http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif

Then I have found a screen from PF and *theoretically* triplehead although I don't know if it is a photoshoped image

http://www.pix8.net/pro/pic.php?u=6285n7XME&i=910766

You can understand that to see the wings like this has cooled my enthusiasm...

So before going forward on this, I would like that someone that uses triplehead here, post some screenshots, or at least confirm how is actually the use of this technology with PF.

I guess that Dexmeister, that uses *extensively* this tech with PF could help?

Any comment from any mate is also welcome of course

EDIT: BTW, someone knows if PF works in triplehead in OpenGL or only in DX?

Thank you!

dbillo
07-17-2006, 08:38 AM
Yeah, Dex is the one to definitively answer this, but since he hasn't yet...

I don't use Triplehead, but have done some reading about it and would speculate that the image you have is a composite of the three monitor views that Triplehead generates. So the left and right "thirds" of this image are actually displayed on your left and right monitors. They represent the view you would see if you looked to the left or right, and as such, appear distorted when juxtaposed with the centre "straight ahead" view.

Also, you would not likely place your three monitors side by side in front of you like that, but would arrange the side monitors angled and to the sides of your seat as must as practicable, while keeping the bezels touching.

d9720267
07-17-2006, 11:24 AM
I agree.

That image is the ultra-widescreen image that is split into 3 monitor-sized images by the Triplehead2go device.

You would position the 2 side monitors on either side of you, so that the wings are pointing the right way.

WB_Outlaw
07-17-2006, 12:14 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by dbillo:
Also, you would not likely place your three monitors side by side in front of you like that, but would arrange the side monitors angled and to the sides of your seat as must as practicable, while keeping the bezels touching. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I don't think that's the way the TripleHead is supposed to work. All it does is triple the horizontal resolution, ie 1024x768 becomes 3072x768. It does not know anything about view direction.

I belive that if it is an accurate screen shot, then the problem is with PF displaying such a wide field of view.

Of course, I don't have one so I can't say for sure.

--Outlaw.

dbillo
07-17-2006, 01:12 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by WB_Outlaw:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by dbillo:
Also, you would not likely place your three monitors side by side in front of you like that, but would arrange the side monitors angled and to the sides of your seat as must as practicable, while keeping the bezels touching. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I don't think that's the way the TripleHead is supposed to work. All it does is triple the horizontal resolution, ie 1024x768 becomes 3072x768. It does not know anything about view direction.

I belive that if it is an accurate screen shot, then the problem is with PF displaying such a wide field of view.

Of course, I don't have one so I can't say for sure.

--Outlaw. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Well, we'll have to wait for someone who has one to answer, but I'm sure there's more to it than just triple the horizontal resolution. The games have to be coded to support Triplehead, and PF has been coded for it, so that's why I think that it does know about view direction.

At some point, a very wide resolution becomes a panoramic view and wraps around the viewpoint on each side.(180 degrees for example) You just can't realistically display that on a single monitor, because either side of the view is a different direction than the middle (forward).

And actually, I don't think that image is photoshopped, but I imagine it's what you get if you use Triplehead and take a screenshot (PrintScrn) in the game.

Darkbluesky
07-19-2006, 12:23 PM
Hello,

thank you for your answers, I think also some of this about lateral screens tilting, but I suspect that FOV has something to do too. If only using this tech could confirm...

Meanwhile here is a link to a topic I post in matrox forums with comparison between cfs3 and PF triplehead shots:

http://forum.matrox.com/mga/viewtopic.php?t=20806

There can be seen the difference of views, maybe only FOV adjustment?

dbillo
07-19-2006, 03:21 PM
Okay, I see what you mean...the PF side monitor views are like 90 degrees to the side, whereas the CFS side monitors are more like a continuation of the centre view...a wide view.

I don't know if that view angle can be adjusted at all, or if you are stuck with the 90 degrees off centre views.

Personally, I would prefere something similar to the PF views, except maybe 45 degrees off centre. OTOH, it gives you instantaneous 180 degrees view coverage without having to pan at all.

Urufu_Shinjiro
07-22-2006, 11:45 AM
There's some confusion here, the triplehead only lets you make a wide screen monitor out of three. What the picture is showing is the matrox videocard that support three monitors. When you have this matrox videocard pf will use the front,left, and right views. With the triplehead your pc knows nothing about three monitors, it just sees one wiiiide screen monitor.

JudgeMingus00
07-23-2006, 08:11 PM
That odd wide-angle view is definitely what you get with triplehead2go.

You can do the same thing in a window on a normal monitor if you set the parameters in conf.ini

Eg:

[window]
width=1200
height=300
FullScreen=0
SaveAspect=1
Use3Renders=1

the Use3Renders line is what sets the 'three monitor' view, but you don't actually need three monitors for it.
The resolution has to be three 4:3 resolutions side by side (eg 3x400x300 = 1200x300).

Triplehead2go works for any renderer, as the render mode is only limited by the graphics card.

No, I don't have a triplehead2go, but I do want one!

Darkbluesky
07-28-2006, 01:33 PM
Hello,

I have just tested what JudgeMingus says.

First with SaveAspect=0,

conf.ini

[window]
width=1024
height=256
ColourBits=32
DepthBits=24
StencilBits=8
ChangeScreenRes=0
FullScreen=0
DrawIfNotFocused=0
EnableResize=0
EnableClose=1
SaveAspect=0
Use3Renders=1

The maximum FOV allowed (pretty close...):
http://www.pix8.net/pro/pic.php?u=6285n7XME&i=920223

http://www.pix8.net/pro/pic.php?u=6285n7XME&i=920222

And with SaveAspect=1,

conf.ini

[window]
width=1024
height=256
ColourBits=32
DepthBits=24
StencilBits=8
ChangeScreenRes=0
FullScreen=0
DrawIfNotFocused=0
EnableResize=0
EnableClose=1
SaveAspect=1
Use3Renders=1

http://www.pix8.net/pro/pic.php?u=6285n7XME&i=920218

Almost the maximum FOV allowed:
http://www.pix8.net/pro/pic.php?u=6285n7XME&i=920216

http://www.pix8.net/pro/pic.php?u=6285n7XME&i=920217

And regardless of SaveAspect setting:

http://www.pix8.net/pro/pic.php?u=6285n7XME&i=920220

I'm using FB+PF 4.04

Is triplehead really like these last images? You can notice that the side bar of the cockpit is really straight in the image with SaveAspect=0, but not when SaveAspect=1 (and therefore the FOV is really adjustable.

Someone could clarify or help? Maybe these ugly things are exclusively of windowed mode? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

Thanks

Nimits
07-29-2006, 05:43 PM
Does anybody who actually purchased TripleHead2Go and used it with PF/FB have anything to say about it?

BTW, anyone know if there is any chance of Matrox including support for 3840x960 (1280x3)? That would certainly scale and work better for those using 20" LCDs and/or larger CRTs than the current 3840x1024.

Darkbluesky
08-08-2006, 01:38 PM
bump

Dexmeister
08-08-2006, 01:56 PM
Hey Darkbluesky. Funny but I rarely check in here these days and when I do BAM, a thread with my name at the top http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif Good it was bumped.

Not sure exactly what the questions are, but I think I know. First off, the weird way PF looks in 3 screens takes place when you use 'use3renders=1' option. This option means to render each of the 3 screens through its own port, resulting in what I think is a more accurate 3-screen view.

If you go without the 'use3renders=1' option you get a different triple-screen look, namely one that's just an increased width and FOV, but without actually rendering through 3 ports. This makes PF look sort of like how CFS3 looks.

Personally, I think the weirdness shown in the first screenshot of this thread IS the right way to play this game, but only if you're going to turn your monitors in and have your peripheral vision surrounded by the screens, which would then seem logical to see the wings angled like that.

I'm now confused at how PF works, because Oleg and crew have changed things around a bit over time. See I started using 3 screens back with original IL2, which wasn't even truly supporting 3 screens, but did accept triplehead resolutions. Then FB/PF started using 3 viewports, and things were grand, but somewhere along the way something got changed in the PF code and now these days it seems to work differently than before, IMO.

Now keep in mind, I'm using a Matrox Parhelia, which as some veterans here know I love to death... LOVE IT... but, Triplehead2Go is something I don't have... yet.

That said, I'm not sure if 'use3renders' will work with anything but a Matrox Parhelia. I don't know. That's a question I'd ask of Matrox, or will gladly test if Matrox sends me a Triplehead2Go and 3 high end video cards (hint hint, Matrox) http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Bottom line though, whether the 3-screen view is wonky or not, it's one damn fine hell of an experience for flight simming, no question whatsoever... For anyone that loves to be immersed in their sims, I think Triplehead2Go is a great way to go. I plan to buy one along with a freaken beefy PC and video card in time for the next Flight Simulator, due this year I hope...

d9720267
08-11-2006, 10:38 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">I plan to buy one along with a freaken beefy PC and video card in time for the next Flight Simulator, due this year I hope... </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Yeah, have you seen the screenshots?!

Dexmeister
08-11-2006, 11:40 AM
Yeah, they're sweet, eh? I just hate how they come out 12 months before the sim and then I need to sit and wait.

Man, when FS2007 or whatever it's called arrives, that'll be awesome.

Who knows it may even draw some people away from this game and into a real aviation sim http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Darkbluesky
08-12-2006, 12:22 PM
Thank you for answer! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

I have tried what you said, and the result is that when I do not get the wings 'tilted' I get a maximum FOV very small (very close of the POV), making useless the use of 3 screens. I am not sure that it is the way to work when use3renders=0. If this is the way it works, it has a maximum FOV too much small to play IMHO (I can't see even the upper part of the upper dials...)

Is it the same behaviour of use3renders=0 in your rig?

Dexmeister
08-14-2006, 07:14 AM
Hey Darkbluesky. The problem you're seeing is part of what I was aluding to as something Oleg and his crew changed over time. There was once a time when the single viewport (use3renders=0) worked properly, but over the past 2 patches they bungled it up.

Before it was botched, it was possible to play with 3 viewports (maximum demand on your PC), or to use a single viewport, 3x the resolution width-wise. The second option would run faster as it was only rendering a single view. Somewhere along the way this feature got messed up. As I recall, the overly zoomed view you see was also showing up with use3renders=1, but we begged Oleg to fix it and he did, I think.

One last thing to try is changing resolutions around. I used to play in 3840x1024 but along the way I realized certain resolutions weren't rendering the FOV properly, others were. Try some lower ones and see if this helps. Try 3072x1024 and 2400x600 just to see if either is better.

Sorry, I've just moved and my PC isn't reset for simming so I can't much around with this like I used to...