PDA

View Full Version : Can't get my FPS meter to show



Catandra
01-25-2005, 11:07 AM
I've tried to open the FPS meter as per the PF manual (hit the "~" key, followed by ">") but nothing happens. Is there a trick to it? I tried it in the single mission mode but does it only work in some other mode?

I even tried assigning a different key command but no dice. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

TX-WarHawk
01-25-2005, 11:11 AM
The way i do it:


1) Press SHIFT + TAB

2) type exaclty like this: fps START SHOW

3) Already bored of 'em? fps STOP SHOW

http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

bigchump
01-25-2005, 11:24 AM
Yeah, PF can be a real "SHOW STOPPER", depending on your system, of course.

Tallyho1961
01-25-2005, 11:36 AM
Better yet, download free FRAPS (www.fraps.com (http://www.fraps.com)) I find it easier to use and it keeps a .txt log file so that you can record and compare what happens when you change settings, hardware, etc.

Catandra
01-25-2005, 11:43 AM
Thanx guys.

Warhawk: I tried your suggestion and it works...kinda...
Unfortunately, it also freezes up the screen and disables the keyboard. I can't use ESC to get out of the mission and since everything is paused on the screen, I can't get a good representation of what the average fps are throughout.

Equilizer
01-25-2005, 12:14 PM
4) Press shift+tab again to close the console menu where you typed fps START SHOW.

Catandra
01-25-2005, 12:20 PM
Thanks Equilizer.

I tried the FRAPs download and that works great too. Wow! I had no idea my machine was performing so badly. I'm ashamed to tell you what my frame rates were! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/1072.gif

Time to tweak this thing!

TX-WarHawk
01-25-2005, 12:34 PM
Good luck and have fun. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif