PDA

View Full Version : Screen shots and Instrument Resizing



spqr1951
04-23-2005, 11:15 AM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/354.gif
I'm still a bit new to PF, and have had good help from you all with making my own noseart and mission building for personal pleasure. Great Flight Sim for sure. The equal of CFS3 in many respects. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

First, as to Screen Shots, I'm familiar with CFS3 and when you take screen shots, each successive picture is saved in a pre-built folder in My Docs. I can save any number of screen shots without limit. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif

Does PF have a similar feature? I have tried to use PrintScreen command, but it only saves one (or the last) screen shot I have selected. Do I need a 3rd party Clip Board multiple shot saver? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/53.gif

As to the CTRL+F1 HUD Instruments display, is there a way to reduce the size of the default instruments in No Cocpit Forward View? And is there a way to relocate them to someplace else than the bottom corners of the screen? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

I can do it in Jane's WWII Fighters by changing a command line in a .cfg file, and in CFS3, all I need to do is add a couple of percentage-size codes lines in a .dxt file.

How is it done in PF? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif

Thanks in advance to any who read this. Feel free to e-mail me directly with your advice.
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif
Regards,
spqr1951
spqr@verizon.net

SeaNorris
04-23-2005, 11:26 AM
No No No!

When you press print screen it goes to here:

C://Program Files/Ubi Soft/IL-2 Sturmovik Forgotten Battles/(Grab000.tga,etc) then you open them and save it as a .jpg

And no there isnt press Ctrl + F1 again and they'll dissapear

LStarosta
04-23-2005, 02:30 PM
Equal to CFS3?

You really ARE new...

Charos
04-23-2005, 04:22 PM
Hey who you calling new - Ya noob http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/mockface.gif

Dont stone him to death - just yet. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

spqr1951
04-24-2005, 11:55 AM
Thanks, SeaNorris: The instruction manual is somewhat incomplete on this topic. I wondered what those ***.tga files were. I have M$ Picture It! Publishing so opening and saving them won't be a problem. As I said, CFS3 has a folder in MyDocs to where the screen shots are saved, in .bmp format.

And to "LStarosta" with a comment from "Charos", I didn't say CFS3 was better than PF, only that it was better in some respects. Regarding the HUD instruments, CFS3 is far superior. I can change their size at will, move them around, cancel those I don't need, change their transparency, and switch between English and Metric in 4 languages. Toss in a variety of reticle sizes and colors too.

I also find that CFS3 is better with its control commands. It is much more flexible, has better weapons and instrument controls, allows me to reposition my Eye Point higher in the cockpit, and has an easier Wingman Comm feature.

I also prefer their complex engine management systems, and that I can use Left and/or Right brakes separately, or Full Brakes to control ground maneuvering on the tarmac. Plus I have an Enemy Indicator with much better Padlocking controls for air, ground, ship, buildings and vehicles enemies. I also prefer their practical Tactical "RADAR" display which is movable and can be resized as well.

However, creating noseart, aircraft skins, and in particular mission building, is far superior in PF than in CFS3. And the ground scenery used in PF mission building is far more adaptable and varied, to say the least. When it comes to playing the sim, the edge goes to PF.

I have been fortunate in my life to afford the pinnacle of Computer Technology and replace my systems every 2 years since the first IBM D-Base-3 machine, Commodore-64, Kaypro-128 DOS, RS Tandy TRS-256 Win 3.1, and have played and still own every Flight sim and Driving sim since the first M$ Fighter Ace I in 1995 after the introduction of Windows '95 (prop planes and choppers only, if you please. Had my fill of Jets after 3 tours in 'Nam).

My latest custom built machine from Dell, an XPS G-4, is new as of 2-2005 with specs that would fill this page. Not bragging, but just the Maxi-Tower alone ran $5,500 with 3 optical drives and 4 HDDs two of which are 320GB Raid-0 units, not counting the 23"w x 17"h viewable Wide Screen flat panel TFT/LCD monitor. The 3.8GHz P-4 processor is Glycol cooled, have 4 GB Ram, and the ATI X850XT 512MB PCI-EXP 16X graphics card needs 2 cooling fans. Runs on Win XP Pro-SP2 with M$ Office Pro 2003 tossed in for good measure. It is nice to have a Real phone number into the plant in Round Rock Texas. I buy my machines as I specify and their engineers get me what I want. Not just what they offer.

Thanks for the help, guys. Whenever they finish the fiber-optic DSL lines out here in the sticks, hope to catch you in a furball someday.

Regards,
spqr1951