PDA

View Full Version : PolyGlot



palmer
11-04-2007, 10:22 AM
Has someone managed to run Rybka in the new CM GUI using PolyGlot?
Any tips and tricks how to make it run?

palmer
11-04-2007, 03:42 PM
Did not work for me.

GottGuy
11-08-2007, 01:48 PM
I tried to use PolyGlot with Rybka and Zappa on Chessmaster XI and they didn't seem to want to make any moves. Even if I set the time control to 1 Sec/per move. I edited their personalities and took off ponder. I chose not to have an opening book by making the adjustment in the .ini files but it forces me to have the CMX.obk. What confuses me is the fact that even though they begin to make moves when ponder is unchecked, they lose to Chessmaster. It's a big surprise that two very smart chess engines seem to lose everytime to chessmaster. I almost think that somehow Chessmaster is actually just playing a duplicate of itself rather than the actual UCI engines.

Filipov2007
11-14-2007, 04:57 AM
"It's a big surprise that two very smart chess engines seem to lose everytime to chessmaster"

They are indeed smarter, but they are not invincible. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Anyway, I had the same problem as you have. I am going to retry tonight, I think I might have neglected a slash in the *.ini file.

The program could not just make a move and I saw that it had the rating of zero, I changed the rating to 3000. Hmmm! I saw one of the worst chessgames in my life. The 1st move it made was Nh3, 2nd move was f3, 3rd move Kf2. I got very annoyed by that http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif . I hope I'll get it right tonight.

aconover
09-09-2010, 10:11 AM
Though this thread is a bit old, I found a solution using UCI engines in Chessmaster via Polyglot (http://wbec-ridderkerk.nl/html/details1/PolyGlot.html)... so I figured I'd post my solution here.

I managed to get Chessmaster XI working with Stockfish (http://www.stockfishchess.com/) 1.8. While I've only tested a few UCI engines, I see no reason why there would be any significant difference in the setup with any UCI complaint engine. I used Stockfish in this example because it comes with a pre-configured polyglot.ini file which required only minor tweaking.

The basic process:
<UL TYPE=SQUARE>
<LI>Create a directory with just Stockfish and it's associated files.
<LI>Copy polyglot.exe and cygwin1.dll to the Stockfish directory.
<LI>Edit the Stockfish polyglot.ini file to include absolute cygwin style paths for both EngineDir and EngineCommand

For example, with Stockfish in C:\Games\Chess\Stockfish, The parameters in the polyglot.ini file become:
<pre class="ip-ubbcode-code-pre">EngineDir = /cygdrive/c/Games/Chess/Stockfish
EngineCommand = /cygdrive/c/Games/Chess/Stockfish/stockfish-18-64-ja.exe</pre>
[/list]
The next step is to add a new Winboard engine in Chessmaster. In the Import Winboard Engine setup dialog, I used:
<UL TYPE=SQUARE>
<LI>Winboard Engine Filename: C:\Games\Chess\Stockfish\polyglot.exe
<LI>Command Line Parameters: /cygdrive/c/Games/Chess/Stockfish/polyglot.ini
[/list]
However, the trick (and essential step) for the "Command Line Parameters" field is to leave a few spaces after the last character. Chessmaster appends either -t1 or -t2 to the end of the line, but it doesn't appear to automatically add any separating space. In other words, without the extra space at the end of the line, the parameter turns into <pre class="ip-ubbcode-code-pre">/cygdrive/c/Games/Chess/Stockfish/polyglot.ini-t1</pre> instead of <pre class="ip-ubbcode-code-pre">/cygdrive/c/Games/Chess/Stockfish/polyglot.ini -t1</pre> which messes up the file name parameter needed by polyglot!

Leaving a few extra spaces after the ini file location seems to do the trick.

Mr_Shade
09-12-2010, 08:32 AM
FYI normally we wouldn't like people to bump such an old thread.

However in the case the information seems very useful http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif