PDA

View Full Version : when di get a new aircraft



doogerie
12-20-2008, 11:00 AM
Ok so i am playing the USSR campagne and am stuch wirh a aircraft that is so senstive that if you dive or clime to sharply it cuts out (1-16 type 18,1939)so i was wondering what mission do get my next plane in i am on misson 4 at the moment

doogerie
12-20-2008, 11:00 AM
Ok so i am playing the USSR campagne and am stuch wirh a aircraft that is so senstive that if you dive or clime to sharply it cuts out (1-16 type 18,1939)so i was wondering what mission do get my next plane in i am on misson 4 at the moment

squareusr
12-20-2008, 11:21 AM
when enough time has passed in the simulation. look at the progression of the dates in the mission briefings and connect that with the year numbers associated with the different plane models.

if your pilot gets heavily wounded you might find yourself waking up in an end of the war plane in an instant though. (happened to me, i was flying brewsters off singapore against early zero and ki variants, when i caught a serious case of red screen syndrome and then got exactly one mission in a seafire before the war ended)

horseback
12-20-2008, 11:22 AM
Usually, you spend between 20 and 35 missions in a given type. You're just going to have to suck it up and learn to kick your rudder and roll over before diving, just like the pilots prior to fuel injection had to.

On the plus side, the I-16 can turn on a dime and the guns it carries aren't exactly peashooters. Once you start leading flights, you'll be able to cheat a little and fly higher than the mission orders tell you to, which will put you in better position to get some kills.

In the meantime, keep your head on a swivel, wait for the bad guys to come to you, and remember to break hard right when that Messer gets within about 500m. With a little practice, you can force him to fight you in the horizontal plane rather than the vertical, where he has all the cards.

cheers

horseback

Ba5tard5word
12-20-2008, 03:01 PM
The I-16 is a pretty decent plane so long as the enemy fighters aren't vastly faster than you.

Don't push forward on the stick to dive, flip over and pull up or flip on your side and use your rudder.

na85
12-20-2008, 03:09 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by squareusr:
when enough time has passed in the simulation. look at the progression of the dates in the mission briefings and connect that with the year numbers associated with the different plane models.

if your pilot gets heavily wounded you might find yourself waking up in an end of the war plane in an instant though. (happened to me, i was flying brewsters off singapore against early zero and ki variants, when i caught a serious case of red screen syndrome and then got exactly one mission in a seafire before the war ended) </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Wow, really? That's actually a neat feature.

dirkpit7
12-20-2008, 03:58 PM
You can define the approximate number of mission that one campaign phase has by adding a line in the conf.ini file, under DGen section, like this:

[DGen]
CampaignLength=Short

There are five options:
VeryShort (&lt;10 missions)
Short (10-15)
Medium (~20)
Long (~30)
VeryLong (40+)

Default setting is VeryLong. The numbers are only rough estimates by me and also depend of the campaign in question.

While you can do this manually, easier way is to download and install IL-2 Stab (http://www.mission4today.com/index.php?name=Downloads&file=details&id=2169) which offers a user-friendly GUI to adjust these settings (and many others).

Changing the length does not affect your currently ongoing campaign though, but the next that is generated in your career.

crucislancer
12-20-2008, 09:27 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by doogerie:
Ok so i am playing the USSR campagne and am stuch wirh a aircraft that is so senstive that if you dive or clime to sharply it cuts out (1-16 type 18,1939)so i was wondering what mission do get my next plane in i am on misson 4 at the moment </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

When you select a career, in some cases you can change the plane for each campaign in that career, but you can only do this before you hit generate. After that, you are stuck with the plane listed for each campaign. Depending on the career, you might be in the same plane for a couple of campaigns before you switch to another type. For example:

Here is the standard USSR Fighter career:
http://i114.photobucket.com/albums/n271/crucislancer/shot1.jpg

Here you can change the plane:
http://i114.photobucket.com/albums/n271/crucislancer/shot2.jpg

To what ever you choose from the list:
http://i114.photobucket.com/albums/n271/crucislancer/shot3.jpg

mortoma
12-21-2008, 06:03 PM
Contrary to what Crucislancer said, you are not stuck in any plane if you go into the Missions folder, then go to to Nationality folder for your campaign ( such as DE, RU, US ) then go to correct campaign folder under that ( such as "dgen_s_newguineadoe0 ) and change the plane type in the status.dat file. Open the file using notepad. Then change it to whatever you want as long as it's a plane on the same side. But you have to know the proper dgen spelling of the plane. A Me-109G2 would be BF_109G2 for example. You can open up the pacificplanes.dat or the europlanes.dat to find the proper name of a plane. It's a long list but they are all in those two files. Any change you make in status dat to the plane type will not take effect right away. You will still have one more mission in the old plane type.

Also, you can change your original choices for all the future subcampaigns by editing the conf.dat file!! So even the choices you made upon setting up the campaign when you started it can all be undone.

Conf.dat might look something like this:
Kursk YAK_9
Kubanlate43 YAK_9D
Crimea44 Yak_3

Let's say later in the war in Crimea you wanted to fly the Yak-9T instead of the Yak-3, just change it!! There are infinite changes you can make to Dgen campaigns and I just scratched the surface.

mortoma
12-23-2008, 11:43 AM
So doogerie, did any of my info help you?? Off line is much better when you know all the secrets to editing and making changes.

Divine-Wind
12-23-2008, 12:50 PM
Don't let Copperhead hear you say that http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif (Just funnin' with ya'll)

mortoma
12-23-2008, 09:57 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Divine-Wind:
Don't let Copperhead hear you say that http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif (Just funnin' with ya'll) </div></BLOCKQUOTE>I didn't say offline is better than online, just that it's better if you know how to tune it. Overall I think there are good things about both worlds.