PDA

View Full Version : Aces High

Codger1949
08-22-2008, 06:56 AM
I wanted to ask a question or two about this sim but I see no point about going to their forum.

I've been playing Il2 for 3 years and then just for giggles I thought I'd try Aces High. Lordy, lord. Talk about culture shock or something.

The graphics absolutely suck. The cockpits are ridiculous and the fm for aircraft are shocking compared to Il2. For example, I can easily avoid a p38 or p51 in a zero in Il2. I was amazed at what those two birds can do in Aces High. Is this realistic? They were kicking my butt at low altitude.

So I'm confused. What am I missing here? What is the attraction? Can somebody explain what the devil is going on with a game like that.

Oh yes. The reason I'm checking it out is because I ran into an Aces High bloke while playing multiplayer Il2. This guy was totally disappointed with Il2 and claimed he was returning the game. Something about fms sucking. Yeah, I can understand that after sticking my toes in the water with Aces High.

Like I said, no point in going to the Aces High forum to post this because they are obviously fans. Maybe somebody here could explain the really, really big fan base there.

Bearcat99
08-22-2008, 07:05 AM
The attraction is that some people have rigs that can't handle 46... There is also a massive online multiplayer.. and IMO many people try 46 and are taken aback by the fact that they cant hop in and yank & bank... For me there was no appeal.. I have been an exclusive 1C simmer since I first tried IL2 in 2002... BoB:WoV is ok.. certainly better than AH.. Fighter Aces is the same IMO... To each his own but AFAIC.. you are already in the premier WWII combat Flight sim to date.. why go slumming.

skarden
08-22-2008, 07:37 AM
well i tried aces's high II before i got into Il-2 bigtime,and i gotta say i did enjoy it for what it was,and i'll admit that i'v done a few dummy names for more trial periods for pretty much one reason and one reason only.