PDA

View Full Version : Any BIG dynamic campaigns?



Noxx0s
02-10-2010, 02:22 PM
I've been playing through a very enjoyable LA-7 dynamic campaign lately, it's fun but the battles are always fairly small skirmishes.

Recently felt like playing in some massive air battles so I tried loading up a dynamic campaign game starting at Pearl Harbor, as part of the fighter force of the Akagi. Unfortunately, it seems like it's a "small" version... all told about 20 fighters were flying around. I was pretty disappointed. Then I tried Midway and the entire SBD force was like 15 planes... going up against 16 zeroes (more or less).

Historically the US lost 150 aircraft and the Japanese 248.

Are there any user made dynamic campaign games (for any side, I don't care) that have bigger air battles? Or fail that, is there any way to modify the existing ones to make them generate bigger battles?

I was asking about DCGs because those are fun because they're very replayable... but honestly ANY gigantic air battles would be great, single, static, or otherwise.

Thanks guys.

Uufflakke
02-10-2010, 02:30 PM
Try FlatSpinMan's "Defense of the Reich" campaign with large bomber formations, in some missions there are about 70 planes.

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/foru...3110283/m/3981097418 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/3981097418)

thefruitbat
02-10-2010, 02:31 PM
you can increase the size of the dgen campaigns by editing or adding the dgen settings in your conf.ini

here are mine,

[Dgen]
MissionDistance=75
<span class="ev_code_RED">RandomFlights=5</span>
MaxFLAK=10
<span class="ev_code_RED">AirIntensity=High</span>
GroundIntesity=High
Maxbomberskill=0
NoAirfieldHighlight=1
NoBadWeather=1

AirIntesity=high, max's the amount of planes dgen will produce in a given campaign. default is medium.

RandomFlights=5 generates the most extra flights not attached directly to your mission that you might bump into, default is 3.

see here for more info on dgen settings,

http://mission4today.com/index..._Base&op=show&kid=28 (http://mission4today.com/index.php?name=Knowledge_Base&op=show&kid=28)

fruitbat

jamesblonde1979
02-10-2010, 02:38 PM
Yeah, I think he means BIG.

Changing the config gets you a few more flights but it would be great to see double what you get in dgen even with AirIntensity=High.

Your best bet IcyScythe is this...

http://www.lowengrin.com/download.php

It's Lowengrin's Dynamic Campaign Generator. As well as adding huge amounts of planes there are a whole bunch of other neat features too. I hope you enjoy it!

Noxx0s
02-10-2010, 02:46 PM
Originally posted by jamesblonde1979:
Yeah, I think he means BIG.

Changing the config gets you a few more flights but it would be great to see double what you get in dgen even with AirIntensity=High.

Your best bet IcyScythe is this...

http://www.lowengrin.com/download.php

It's Lowengrin's Dynamic Campaign Generator. As well as adding huge amounts of planes there are a whole bunch of other neat features too. I hope you enjoy it!

Hmm this looks very interesting! Thanks for the headsup.

Will installing this replace the DC system in IL-2?

thefruitbat
02-10-2010, 02:49 PM
yep, replaces dgen. Its pretty good, but i got just as bored of it as dgen after a while.

does have one major advantage over dgen, that new maps can be added in user made campaigns unlike dgen which 1c and oleg (starshoy) gave up on years ago http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/51.gif

DKoor
02-10-2010, 03:39 PM
Originally posted by thefruitbat:
yep, replaces dgen. Its pretty good, but i got just as bored of it as dgen after a while.

does have one major advantage over dgen, that new maps can be added in user made campaigns unlike dgen which 1c and oleg (starshoy) gave up on years ago http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/51.gif

I'd just add that there is a learning curve to DCG as it ain't exactly user friendly.
It's a good prog and can be exploited in order to have more offline fun, but there are certainly some issues with it such is not so smooth transition between maps/subcampaigns (in fact I had issues with every single campaign I played with DCG regarding this, unless you pwn your enemy really hard or they pwn you really hard chances are you are stuck on the same map for hundreds of missions -here must be mentioned that DCG counts only ground pwnage meaning that if you shoot 400 enemy bombers you wont make much difference-, you can avoid this practically only by editing certain files but still...) and some others as well.

The thing I really, really liked with DCG is that campaign got a bit more "personalized" with list of aces on both your and enemy side http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif.

Sillius_Sodus
02-10-2010, 08:18 PM
I have fond memories of EAW.

Up to 256 aircraft on screen, giddyup! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

jamesblonde1979
02-11-2010, 06:20 PM
Originally posted by Sillius_Sodus:
I have fond memories of EAW.

Up to 256 aircraft on screen, giddyup! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

Words can not describe the awesome of attacking those enormous bomber formations. I loved that game.

ytareh
02-11-2010, 06:29 PM
This game isnt optimised for big formations though .ANY PC will stutter with 100 planes up in IL2...

BillSwagger
02-11-2010, 09:24 PM
you can build the mission so that planes are added as the mission progresses.

if the mission starts at 12:00, then you can make AI planes spawn at 12:15 and 12:30 or what ever makes sense for the mission.

I figure there is no sense in having AI planes fly where no human players will be for a while so they can spawn later in the mission.


Bill

Sillius_Sodus
02-12-2010, 12:47 AM
Originally posted by ytareh:
This game isnt optimised for big formations though .ANY PC will stutter with 100 planes up in IL2...

My PC certainly does! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/compsmash.gif

Not really a criticism though, all that ai and eye candy take up a lot of cpu cycles.

mortoma
02-14-2010, 09:18 PM
I once created a silly mission in FMB with every red plane going against all blue planes. I had them all air starting and flying towards each other at the center point of the map. And that was with my old computer too. As I recall the mission didn't run very well until the number of planes got down to a reasonable level. It stuttered very heavily. I think there were over 200 planes that started at the onset!! I should try that again now that I have a far more powerful PC just to see how it goes.

I also created a mission with every plane ( static ones ) parked on the ground at a very large airfield. It would not run at all even though there were no AI routines, since they were parked static planes!! I guess even a few hundred parked planes takes up a lot of CPU cycles for whatever reason. But I never could figure out why that mission ( if you could call it that ) would not run at all even though my mission with all planes air-starting with AI in them did run. Although as I said it ran poorly until the sheer number of planes got low.

Sorry to get off topic a bit but my post shows how poorly this sim runs with a lot of aircraft in large scale confrontation.

jamesblonde1979
02-15-2010, 02:03 AM
Mortoma that sounds awesome!

I just have to try it.

thefruitbat
02-15-2010, 04:18 AM
i remember reading over at aaa a while back someone had done a mission with over 150 planes which played OK, but you need a decent PC.

I've got some missions with around 100 planes which play fine on my PC.