PDA

View Full Version : Need help setting up CH Pro Rudders with X45



XyZspineZyX
09-04-2003, 01:53 AM
hello everyone, i've just purchased CH pro rudder pedals and need some advice on setting them up. im currently using the X45 w/throttle configuration and trying to setup the rudder pedals along with them but the game doesnt recognize my X45, it acts as if the rudder pedals themselves are the control axis and doesnt recognize my stick and throttle. am i missing something, or do i need to download some drivers from somewhere or is this configuration just not compatible with each other?


any help would be greatly appreciated... /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif


http://www.endlager.net/fis/pix/banners/fis_banner_01.jpg

XyZspineZyX
09-04-2003, 01:53 AM
hello everyone, i've just purchased CH pro rudder pedals and need some advice on setting them up. im currently using the X45 w/throttle configuration and trying to setup the rudder pedals along with them but the game doesnt recognize my X45, it acts as if the rudder pedals themselves are the control axis and doesnt recognize my stick and throttle. am i missing something, or do i need to download some drivers from somewhere or is this configuration just not compatible with each other?


any help would be greatly appreciated... /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif


http://www.endlager.net/fis/pix/banners/fis_banner_01.jpg

XyZspineZyX
09-04-2003, 02:14 AM
What drivers are you using? Mine works fine. I even have a MSFFB2 in the mix as well...works great. Did you DL the latest Saitek software? The disc that comes with the stick has issues. Did you try to set it up in the FB controls menu. Are the pedals & stick showing up in windows?

<CENTER>http://www.world-wide-net.com/tuskegeeairmen/ta-1943.jpg <marquee><FONT COLOR="RED"><FONT SIZE="+1">"Straighten up.......Fly right..~S~"<FONT SIZE> </marquee> http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat

<CENTER><FONT COLOR="ORANGE">vflyer@comcast.net<FONT COLOR>
<Center><div style="width:200;color:red;font-size:18pt;filter:shadow Blur[color=red,strength=8)">99th Pursuit Squadron

XyZspineZyX
09-04-2003, 02:23 AM
first off thanks for your reply....im using windows XP to begin with and when i go into game controlers in the control panel the X45 and Ch Pro both show up, but when i launch the game and start to play theres no movement from my stick and throttle just the rudder pedals and they seem to want to act as the control axis. its the USB style CH Pro Rudders by the way also. i thought it was just a plug and play controller, windows picked it up and says its ready to be used. the rudders themselves came with a CD but it doesnt look like a driver CD it seems to be a disk to install profiles for CH Pro sticks only. was yours just plug and play and do you have the X45 w/throttle option also? are there any drivers to download for this configuration?

http://www.endlager.net/fis/pix/banners/fis_banner_01.jpg

XyZspineZyX
09-04-2003, 02:28 AM
Unfortunately IL2:FB's input control panel only allows customisation of response curves of your first controller. In WinXP the CH pedals will ALWAYS grab ID1 from the X45.

This cannot be cured by drivers or settings in WinXP (as opposed to 9x, NT and 2000).

You can still assign your X45 axis in the game using the HOTAS section of the controls panel but you cant alter their sensitivity unless you text edit the conf.ini file.

Not sure who's fault this is but I suspect that everybody (CH, Madox and MS) could do a little to help.


<center>
Read the <a href=http://www.mudmovers.com/sturmovik_101/FAQ.htm>IL2 FAQ</a>
Got Nimrod? Try the unofficial <A HREF=http://acompletewasteofspace.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=4&sid=4870c2bc08acb0f130e5e3396d08d595>OT forum</A>

XyZspineZyX
09-04-2003, 03:52 AM
so basically they're not compatible with XP?......damn that sux, i guess i'll have to send em back /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif


thanks for the replies anyway

http://www.endlager.net/fis/pix/banners/fis_banner_01.jpg

XyZspineZyX
09-04-2003, 04:26 AM
No no no.

Still compatible. Just you can't adjust the sensitivy of the X45's axis within IL2.

I've got the same setup and I can use all controls with that one proviso.

<center>
Read the <a href=http://www.mudmovers.com/sturmovik_101/FAQ.htm>IL2 FAQ</a>
Got Nimrod? Try the unofficial <A HREF=http://acompletewasteofspace.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=4&sid=4870c2bc08acb0f130e5e3396d08d595>OT forum</A>

XyZspineZyX
09-04-2003, 04:47 AM
OK so you're saying it will still work? well thats great cause i really dont want to send these pedals back.

so first off heres how its going so far on my end:

when i load up FB and i start to play my X45 and throttle doesnt respond but the pedals are now working as my movement as opposed to my stick, i basicly dont have any movement from my stick or throttle. what do i need to do? uninstall/reinstall my saitek drivers maybe? if you can just point me in the right direction i would greatly appreciate it./i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

again thanks for your reply, cause im really looking forward to using this setup as opposed to the twist action sticks i've always used

http://www.endlager.net/fis/pix/banners/fis_banner_01.jpg

XyZspineZyX
09-04-2003, 05:01 AM
OK go into the control menu in IL2:FB and scroll to the bottom of the list under "HOTAS" something.

At aileron control click on the current axis and then move the X45 to the right, you should see ID2 X-axis or similar. go to the elevator and do the same, moving the joystick back. The same goes for the throttle.

You may also need to re-designate the POV hat inputs in the view section of controls if you program a hat as POV in the Saitek software.

<center>
Read the <a href=http://www.mudmovers.com/sturmovik_101/FAQ.htm>IL2 FAQ</a>
Got Nimrod? Try the unofficial <A HREF=http://acompletewasteofspace.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=4&sid=4870c2bc08acb0f130e5e3396d08d595>OT forum</A>

XyZspineZyX
09-04-2003, 05:17 AM
OK thats great, i thought thats what you were talking about but i just wanted to make sure and again thanks for your great help m8. so with your setup, does everything seem to work OK as far as stick response and other movements?

well for now i'll have to give it another try when i get home from work tomorrow for im at work right now, but i'll keep an eye on this post and thanks for your response sir. S!

http://www.endlager.net/fis/pix/banners/fis_banner_01.jpg

XyZspineZyX
09-04-2003, 03:11 PM
Cut and pasted from a reply I gave on the Tech Forum...


I use an X-45 and CH pedals. It's a great combination and they work very well together. Here is what I did to get my pedals working:

1. Install drivers and plug in X-45 and pedals.

2. Go to HOTAS set up in FB.

3. At the bottom of the menu, click to the right or the rudder so the box comes up and then waggle the rudder pedals so the game recognises them.

4. Do the same with elevator, throttle and aileron. They should show up in the box as "X-axis ID2" for aileron etc. (by the sounds of it you got this far). ID2 is Input Device 2.

5. Now launch a mission in QMB and see if you can fly the aircraft. IF THE CONTROL ON ANY AXIS IS REVERSED DO THIS: go back to the HOTAS set up and select the axis that was the wrong way round. Move the stick again to get the game to recognise it for that axis, but move it to the opposite direction from last time. Keep doing this until it says "-X-axis ID2" note the minus sign. If it already said "-X-axis ID2", switch it until it says "x-axis ID2" with no minus sign. This has the effect of reversing the control direction. Check in QMB again, but you should now have the direction the right way round.

6. The joystick axes profile set up in the hardware input will not work anymore because it is not set to recognise ID2 axes. But the axes are also found in the [rts_joystick] section of the config.ini file and can be adjusted there. The axis are:

1x1 = aileron
1y1 = elevator
1z = rudder

By default they will probably be all set to 100 right across, which is far too sensitive and makes the controls very twitchy. You can just edit the file to put in a more reasonable profile. Here is what I use:

[rts_joystick]
X=0 1 4 9 16 25 36 49 64 81 100 0
Y=0 2 7 14 23 33 45 60 75 90 100 0
Z=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100
RZ=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
FF=0
U=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
V=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
1X=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
1Y=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
1RZ=0 4 7 12 17 28 38 50 68 85 100 0
1U=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1V=0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
1X1=0 5 15 25 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
1Y1=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
1RX1=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1RZ1=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1U1=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1V1=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1RX=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1Z1=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1X2=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1Y2=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1RX2=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1RZ2=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1U2=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1V2=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1Z=0 4 7 12 17 28 38 50 68 85 100 0

In the above, 1x1 is aileron etc...

Give it a go. It might take an hour, but if it gets your pedals working with your X-45 it's definitely worth it.

Regards,

RocketDog.






Message Edited on 09/04/03 02:13PM by RocketDog

Message Edited on 09/04/0302:23PM by RocketDog