PDA

View Full Version : F6F take off's

walsh2509
01-04-2005, 04:51 AM
Well I have posted before on this and last night when trying again, I noticed after my crash "again" the other carrier in the background and a plane taking off from that, in the animation the plane, I take it would be a F6F, nose dived off the carrier just the way I had been doing.

As it was just about to hit the water it straighten out and was skimming the surface, so much so that it was kicking up spray each side of the plane.

Now I am no expert but if that happened in real life would the plane be able to carry on with that amount of spary being flung up? then after what looked a 100yrd or more start to climb out of that spray.

Well I gave it another go and with a tank down to 25% fuel I managed to get the plane off and up after I too had skimming along the surface kicking up spray..

Now I tried that on a full tank and I could never get the plane out of the nose dive, I always crash right in front of the carrier. But this time I just managed to miss the water and level out skimming the surface.

All the experts are saying that is the right Flight Dynamics for a F6F and the other F4F's, but one thing that worries me, if I can only get the F6F up after just and I mean just missing the surface and skimming it before I can lift it up, how do I get to a target and back with no weapons and only 25% of fuel?

Never mind with weapons, any more feul and I hit the water, as I said 25% no weapons and I just miss the surface , skimming along throwing up water on both sides.

walsh2509
01-04-2005, 04:51 AM
Well I have posted before on this and last night when trying again, I noticed after my crash "again" the other carrier in the background and a plane taking off from that, in the animation the plane, I take it would be a F6F, nose dived off the carrier just the way I had been doing.