PDA

View Full Version : What I'd like to see in the next FB patch

XyZspineZyX
10-01-2003, 03:12 AM
Before I'm accused of whining, let me say that IL2 & IL2:FB are the best WWII flight sims available now, bar none. I am very glad Oleg & crew had the passion and took the time to create these great sims (If they hadn't I'd still be playing EAW). Thanks Oleg!

Now, are they perfect? No, I (and apparently more than a few other people out there) don't think so. Will Oleg ever make everyone happy? No, and I can live with that. But I would like to register my opinion in the hope that he will see this and take note. So kind of think of this as a poll with my own personal comments.

Before starting let me say that:
1) I am not a pilot, but I did get to fly a Citibria once.
2) I am an aeronautical engineer (aerodynamicist with 20 years experience).
3) I have never flown a Bf-109 or any other WWII vintage a/c.
4) I have read my share of pilot memoirs from WWII (mostly German. Sorry Oleg, but until recently there hasn't been much to read from the Soviet side).

Ok, here's What I'd like to see in IL2:FB 1.11+ that was in IL2 1.2. I think these things were better left alone. I still don't understand what happened going from IL2 to IL2:FB. If it ain't broke, don't fix it!

1) Faster throttle response. These are reciprocating engines in the 2000 hp class, not early turojets with slow spool up times.

2) Faster trim response. Hard for me to believe that the pitch response for trim is any slower than the pitch response for elevator, since it uses the same surface (or trim tabs).