PDA

View Full Version : AMD 64 Dual Core Proc Users - FYI



-HH-Quazi
10-02-2007, 05:58 PM
AMD has released a new driver for AMD Dual Core Procs. Brando brought this to our attention in another thread. But because of the performance increase I received after installing it, I felt it needed a thread of its own. I just didn't think it was getting the attention it deserves being buried in a few posts in another thread. Here is the link to the download page. The driver itself is located near the bottom of the page and is dated September 2007:

http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/TechnicalResources/...82_871_13118,00.html (http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/TechnicalResources/0,,30_182_871_13118,00.html)

Here is what I seen before & after the install:

Not sure exactly what this exe does, but here are the differences in a couple BD track benchies. I am using an X850XTPE for now & I run the water at =1. Here is my BD bench before the install:

Frames, Time (ms), Min, Max, Avg
6686, 150000, 19, 106, 44.573

Now after the install:

Frames, Time (ms), Min, Max, Avg
7387, 150000, 20, 116, 49.247

I also did a BD track bench with water=0 before the install:

Frames, Time (ms), Min, Max, Avg
7880, 150000, 24, 129, 52.533

And now after the install:

Frames, Time (ms), Min, Max, Avg
8745, 150000, 25, 134, 58.300

Like I said, not sure exactly what this program AMD released in Sept. 2007 does for their dual core procs, but it sure has improved fr performance.

With a performance increase such as this, I wanted to make sure it was more visible to those that frequent our forum here.

gurypuddle
10-02-2007, 10:27 PM
Thanx for the heads up on this Quazi. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Just finished building a new rig with the dual core format. I'll be sure too get it installed.

JG52Uther
10-03-2007, 01:57 AM
Does this work for skt 939 dual cores as well?

-HH-Quazi
10-03-2007, 03:54 AM
It worked for my Opty 185.

x6BL_Brando
10-03-2007, 04:09 AM
Does this work for skt 939 dual cores as well?

That's what I'm using Uther http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Also works for Skt. AM2 of course.

Cheers

B

JG52Uther
10-03-2007, 09:44 AM
Great! I am only using a 3700 now,but thinking about dual cores.......

-HH-Quazi
10-03-2007, 11:03 AM
I would really like to get more specific information as to what exactly this driver does besides the vague description on the web site. I mean a fr increase of 4 to 5 fps is allot just because of a newly released driver installation.

Now I hadn't went into my Conf file and changed anything as far as the way my dual core cpu operates as far as this sim is concerned. You know, where m8's remove the ";" and tell the sim to use one core or the other. I do not know if that would have anything to do with the increase I got or not.

I hope you m8s that are running a dual core AMD proc would do a before & after BD track bench mark to see if you guys get a similar increase in fr's. And then post your results here.

jetsetsam
10-03-2007, 11:28 AM
Scan down on this link for the September 2007 driver for Opterons:

http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/TechnicalResources/...182_871_9033,00.html (http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/TechnicalResources/0,,30_182_871_9033,00.html)

x6BL_Brando
10-03-2007, 12:25 PM
"AMD Athlon™ 64/FX Processor Driver for Windows XP and Windows Server 2003 Version (x86 and x64 exe) 1.3.2.0053 - Allows the system to automatically adjust the CPU speed, voltage and power combination that match the instantaneous user performance need. Download this Setup Installation program (EXE) to automatically update all the files necessary for installation. This package is recommended for users whom desire a graphical user interface for installation. This .EXE driver is a user friendly localized software installation of the driver designed for end-users. This driver supports AMD Athlon 64/FX processors on Windows XP SP2, Windows 2003 SP2 x86 and x64 Editions. "

Note the bold bit. This driver version is also intended for single-core processors and note that 1.3.2.0053 is the designation for single/ dual/ Opteron/ Sempron and Turion processors, which suggests that it's tailored for all of them. I'm not certain of that of course.

Good stuff anyway, for all AMD users http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Sherlock B http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

JG52Uther
10-03-2007, 05:03 PM
I can't remember if I ever installed a processor driver for my 3700 http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

Also,as it states that ''Allows the system to automatically adjust the CPU speed, voltage and power combination that match the instantaneous user performance need.'' I wonder how this would affect an overclocked system!

Urufu_Shinjiro
10-03-2007, 06:17 PM
Thats just stating that it helps with Cool'n'Quiet, if you have this disabled then it will not affect that aspect of the system.

Choctaw111
10-03-2007, 06:23 PM
Anything like this for the Intel QX6700?

-HH-Quazi
10-03-2007, 09:41 PM
I don't think so Choctaw. Given the gaming performance increase that I saw myself, this may be AMD's attempt at closing the gap between the performance advantage Intel is having over AMD at present. I saw a 10% increase in fr avg in the BD track. Brando reported other areas of his rig running smoother\faster. It would be nice if this driver does close the gap on Intels performance advantage. Then again, I may be way off base here in thinking that way.

I think I will create a shortcut to the GD forum. Some of those guys hardly ever frequents this forum until they have issues or trouble with their rigs and\or game. I'd hate for the AMD end user to miss out on this driver.

DrHerb
10-03-2007, 10:32 PM
as far as i know (which isn't much) AMD and Intel use entirely different architecture in their cpu's to process information. Dont get me wrong I was a AMD fan till i flirted with a core 2 and all i have to say is WOAH, killer performance on a very reasonable power/heat ratio and easily overclockable too with minimal cooling requirements. However I believe AMD will soon enough come out with a CPU that will be on par or better than the core2's that are out now (or quad cores as well)

stalkervision
10-03-2007, 10:46 PM
doesn't work with Vista.. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/bigtears.gif

FalcoII
10-04-2007, 02:23 AM
Hey Quazi,
just to know,did you install also the AMD Dual Core optimizer ( the very first download in the page) do they work together well?
Or they can also be used by themselves alone?

-HH-Quazi
10-04-2007, 02:42 AM
Not sure if they were meant to be used together or separately, but yes, I had already installed the Dual Core Optimizer. But these drivers have different functions. So, I do not believe you have to use one or the other. It is up to the end user, us. The way I look at it? If AMD released it, then there surely is a purpose for it. So I install any driver that they feel needs to be released for their procs.

And they seem to work fine together. Let's just say I have seen no ill affects from having installed both.

FalcoII
10-04-2007, 02:52 AM
exactly what I was thinking of... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

der-blaue-max
10-04-2007, 04:00 AM
Can someone Help me?
I have an AMD 4800x2 Toledo!
Is this an Opteron?

x6BL_Brando
10-04-2007, 04:11 AM
AMD 4800x2 Toledo

It's an AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor, not Opteron http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

B

Xiolablu3
10-04-2007, 04:52 AM
D*mnit just too late!!!

Ironically, I won a Athlon 3800+ X2 on ebay for £39, but after more digging on benchmarks, asked the seller if I could cancel it and have one of his Athlon 64 4000+ single cores for £29.99 instead because they were better in gaming benchmarks with the single core!



Now I'll bet that this driver closes the gap, and dual cores are far better than single cores in desktop apps. I often download as I am am playing games too, so the dual core would have been better...

EDIT: I see this is for single core 64's too, w000t!

der-blaue-max
10-04-2007, 06:42 AM
Originally posted by x6BL_Brando:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">AMD 4800x2 Toledo

It's an AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor, not Opteron http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

B </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Thank You, it seems to work!

JG52Uther
10-04-2007, 07:50 AM
Xiolablu3
If you try it out on your single core mate,let us know if it works!

funkster319
10-04-2007, 08:16 AM
Well doesn't work on Vista so thats me out!

-HH-Quazi
10-04-2007, 09:23 AM
I have a rig here that I built for a squadm8 sporting a DFI SLI-DR motherboard with a 4000+ AMD 64 single core proc, 1GB of PC3200 OCZ Dual Channel Platinum RAM & an eVga 7900GTX graphics card. I am going to hook it up, do a BD bench mark run using FRAPS, & then install this new driver and do another BD bench mark run and compare the two. I will post the results when I am finished.

JG52Uther
10-04-2007, 09:28 AM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif Quazzi

BrotherVoodoo
10-04-2007, 09:35 AM
Good to know, thanks! I will update the driver tonite. I can't wait to see the perfomance increase. IL2 already runs great but my FSX could certainly use the boost

JEEPEE2007
10-04-2007, 10:38 AM
Originally posted by der-blaue-max:
Can someone Help me?
I have an AMD 4800x2 Toledo!
Is this an Opteron?

I have an AMD 4600x2,that's very close to what you have,and it works,no problem whatsoever.

Xiolablu3
10-04-2007, 11:14 AM
Originally posted by JG52Uther:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Xiolablu3
If you try it out on your single core mate,let us know if it works! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I will for sure, Uther, but I dont have a PCI-E gfx card yet to go with my A8N deluxe
mobo (£30) and 4000+ chip(£29.99).

Will be getting one in the next week or two.

FatBoyHK
10-04-2007, 11:36 AM
tried that, no effect, I still need to set processaffrinity=1, otherwise fps will be halved....

I am running a FX-60 with 8800gtx sli

-HH-Quazi
10-04-2007, 12:18 PM
No change or performance benefit for this single core 4000+ after installing the new proc driver update as far as fr's go. I really didn't expect there to be. I believe it affects dual core procs more readily than single cores. Which in a way makes some sense seeing as it is Intels dual core procs that are kicking AMD's dual core procs at the moment.

And just a reminder. I hadn't changed any settings in my conf file as far as setting the sim up to use one core or the other. And I wasn't oc'd at all as far as my dual core Opty 185 goes. Don't know if these two points will make a difference in any performance increase or not after installing this new driver.

Xiolablu3
10-04-2007, 12:31 PM
Hmm, I htink I should have stuck with the 3800X2 rather than changing it for the 4000+, even tho the 4000+ was £10 cheaper at £29.99.

I would have liked the benefit of better multitasking on the dual core, although gaming is my first importance.

After I had won the 3800+ X2 at £39.99, I started panicing when reading benchmarks , that the 4000+ which was cheaper was kicking the 3800+X2's *** when it came to gaming thanks to its higher clockspeed. I changed the order to a A64 single core sckt 939 4000+

Now I see that its much closer, with even the dual core 3800+ Skt 393 winning out on Toms Hardware CPU charts.

AHh well, both are a bargain, so I am not too bothered. AMD 64 chips are a steal right now as everyone is wanting Core2duos, you can upgrade your BArton 2500+-3200+ system to a A64 for such a low price. I have spent £60 on the motherboard and chip and just need a PCI-E card to complete the upgrade.

PC3200 memory carries over from the Athlon XP, which is why I stayed with Socket 939 rather than AM2. I only need to upgrade my CPU/Motherboard/Gfx card that way!

32 bit owners take note!

ytareh
10-04-2007, 12:53 PM
SINGLE CORE (99% sure...) Opteron 146 Socket 939 2.0GHz-overclocked to 2.95 GHz on DFI Board OCZ Plat Rev2 RAM .

Guaranteed min of 4-5 fps extra after simply installing driver and rebooting.

Thanks Quazi!!!You could spend £/$/Euro 200 (unwisely!)on hardware and not see a 5 fps increase

-HH-Quazi
10-04-2007, 02:13 PM
Glad to see you get a performance increase on that single core ytareh. And you are absolutely correct about spending $$$ in hopes of a performance increase as much as this driver install gives. Which is why I feel all AMD proc end users should at least give it a shot & install it. The way I see it, AMD released it for a reason. Might as well install it.

Xiolablu3
10-04-2007, 02:45 PM
WHat chip do you have as your main CPU Quazi? And how long have you had it?

One13
10-04-2007, 02:51 PM
Thank you Quazi!
Opteron 154, 939skt, 2.8Ghz.

Black Death
Average 59, Max 108, Min 23.

With new drivers
Average 64, Max 141, Min 22.

You ought to change the title of this thread so single core users can find this benifit.

-HH-Quazi
10-04-2007, 03:56 PM
Originally posted by Xiolablu3:
WHat chip do you have as your main CPU Quazi? And how long have you had it? In my rig I run an Opty 185. The rig I am posting from now is a squadm8s rig and it is sporting a 4000+.

-HH-Quazi
10-04-2007, 04:01 PM
Originally posted by One13:
Thank you Quazi!
Opteron 154, 939skt, 2.8Ghz.

Black Death
Average 59, Max 108, Min 23.

With new drivers
Average 64, Max 141, Min 22.

You ought to change the title of this thread so single core users can find this benifit. Thank you for posting your results. You are the first to post results & it is good to know that this isn't some sort of fluke on my end. I would like to see a few more post their results.

You are correct about the title of this thread. I will make a change.

And btw everyone, Brando is the m8 that brought this new driver release to my attention in a thread over at the Community Help forum. So if posting any thanks, be sure to include him. Bringing this information to the AMD masses was a team effort. lol

Xiolablu3
10-04-2007, 04:10 PM
Originally posted by -HH-Quazi:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Xiolablu3:
WHat chip do you have as your main CPU Quazi? And how long have you had it? In my rig I run an Opty 185. The rig I am posting from now is a squadm8s rig and it is sporting a 4000+. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

How does your mate find the 4000+ for gaming/tasks etc?

I currently run games on my 2500+@3000+,1.25gb,X800Pro with no real problems on most games (ArmA is a bit slow).

WOuld you think a 4000+ A64 along with a 7600GT or X1950Pro will be a good boost? (bearing in mind its very cheap upgrade)

I talked to a guy who had a 3700+ and he said it was incredibly smooth in all tasks and games, he said he had no problems at all with any games and loved the chip.

SO how do you find the A64 4000+?

FalcoII
10-04-2007, 04:30 PM
"AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Driver Version 1.3.2.0053 for Windows XP and Windows Server 2003 (x86 and x64) - Allows the system to automatically adjust the CPU speed, voltage and power combination to match the instantaneous user performance need. This package is a user friendly localized software installation of the driver designed for end-users. This driver supports AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core processors and supports future quad-core upgrades on Windows XP SP2 and Windows Server 2003 SP2 x86 and x64 Editions."

This is copy pasted from AMD site,as it is laid down, it looks like it's been made specifically and only, for Dual Core CPUs.

Irish_Rogues
10-04-2007, 04:50 PM
Xiolablu - I thought I'd toasted a 4800 X2 by not keeping an eye on the cooling fan and had bought a 4000+. The in game performance was very similar from what I could see and by FSP. Also reading reviews on New Egg it also is pretty decent at OC, though I didn't try.

I've since put my 4800 X2 back in as I like to dedicate one core to the game as it does seem to run a bit smoother that way.

-HH-Quazi
10-04-2007, 05:04 PM
Originally posted by Xiolablu3:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by -HH-Quazi:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Xiolablu3:
WHat chip do you have as your main CPU Quazi? And how long have you had it? In my rig I run an Opty 185. The rig I am posting from now is a squadm8s rig and it is sporting a 4000+. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

How does your mate find the 4000+ for gaming/tasks etc?

I currently run games on my 2500+@3000+,1.25gb,X800Pro with no real problems on most games (ArmA is a bit slow).

WOuld you think a 4000+ A64 along with a 7600GT or X1950Pro will be a good boost? (bearing in mind its very cheap upgrade)

I talked to a guy who had a 3700+ and he said it was incredibly smooth in all tasks and games, he said he had no problems at all with any games and loved the chip.

SO how do you find the A64 4000+? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>Imo, it would be a great boost with the X1950Pro. And when I say boost I am not necessarily talking about fr's. Yes you should see a slight boost in fr's. But mainly you will be able to crank the eye candy up without hitting the fr's too hard, and the X1950Pro will allow you to run at higher resolutions without hitting your performance too hard. I for one, and I am sure there are others, find the 4000+ plenty of cpu for this sim. And they are always good for a .2GHz oc to 2.6GHz clock speed, (which is what my Opty 185 & the FX-60 runs at). And I am running it at stock clocks.

But yes, I believe that would be a worthwhile upgrade m8.

bernardp55432
10-12-2007, 10:59 AM
I just installed an opty 185. After ready this thread I thought it a good idea to install the driver. I had trouble down loading the driver from amd site. The zip file has nothing in it. Did anybody else have this problem? I'll try later.
When down loading a new proc driver is their any tricks, or do you just down load it?
Also, is their a way to check that the dual core is working. I use SISandra but it says results are single core
Thanks

Urufu_Shinjiro
10-12-2007, 11:07 AM
Originally posted by bernardp55432:
I just installed an opty 185. After ready this thread I thought it a good idea to install the driver. I had trouble down loading the driver from amd site. The zip file has nothing in it. Did anybody else have this problem? I'll try later.
When down loading a new proc driver is their any tricks, or do you just down load it?
Also, is their a way to check that the dual core is working. I use SISandra but it says results are single core
Thanks

I don't know what the download problem is but once you get that you should just have to run the install. To test for dual core you can press ctrl+alt+del and choose task manager, in the performance tab you should see two graphs for cpu.

slipBall
10-12-2007, 11:23 AM
Hi Quazi, I have another question for you today.....I have a 4000+ 2.4G San Diego (not installed yet) should I also be getting this driver after the install?

-HH-Quazi
10-12-2007, 11:35 AM
There was a m8 that got the performance increase installing this driver and running a 4000+ cpu but I can't find his post or remember his name. I know I installed it on a 4000+ cpu in a sqadm8s rig that I built for him in hopes of getting the same performance increase. But I didn't see a performance increase with his rig. The driver is safe to install on single core procs. And it was good to see at least the one m8 get the same performance increase that I did running a single core proc.

KRISTORF
10-12-2007, 12:07 PM
processaffrinity=1

What does this do please?,
and whats the default setting for it?

x6BL_Brando
10-12-2007, 12:25 PM
quote:
processaffrinity=1



What does this do please?,
and whats the default setting for it?
The default setting has a semi-colon ; in front of it - which nulls the command. Thus, ;ProcessAffinityMask=1 has no effect on a dual-core set-up.

With the semi-colon absent the command makes IL2 run on a single core, and allows you to set everything else to run on the other.

B

bernardp55432
10-12-2007, 10:23 PM
I have check Task Manager and I only see one graph. Is there something I need to do after I have installed the new opty 185 proc?

bernardp55432
10-12-2007, 11:12 PM
My mistake. I checked the graph in Task Manager again and I do see two seperate graphs side by side. I think that's what I should be seeing. I was first expecting two lines in one graph. Correct me if I'm wrong. Otherwise I think It's running on both.
By removing the semi-colon at ProcessAffinityMask=1 will it help boost my FPS in IL2?

Thanks

Urufu_Shinjiro
10-13-2007, 05:50 AM
You are correct, two graphs side by side. As for ProcessAffinityMask=1, experiment, some get improvements from some of the settings (=0,=1,=2) and some see no difference, you'll just have to give it a shot.