PDA

View Full Version : need help



Snuffly
12-25-2005, 09:43 PM
I would usually go to the community forum and post this, but its the holidays and noone is on here that much anyways for the holidays anyways... i think...

anyways... for christmas santa decided a nice new computer should be dropped off under my tree, (thx santa if ur reading this) but the darn thing doesnt run il2 too well.

HP pavilion Windows XP thingy majigy
2 Gb Ram
Amd 64 Atheron Processor
Integrated ATI Radeon Xpress200
2.39 ghz

and I know the video card is built in and everything so I replaced it with my old Nvidia Geforce Fx 5200. Which worked prty well with il2 in my old computer:

Windows XP
1 Gb ram
intell celeron processor
Nvidia Geforce Fx 5200
2.19 ghz or something like that i fergot.



But now even with my new computer with my old video card, I get about 1 fps when im "ingame". Ingame meaning even at the title screen and stuff.

I dunno If the computer doesnt support nvidia cards or what, but i need some help on this anyway before I go buy a heavy duty vid card then find out it doesnt work.

Snuffly
12-25-2005, 09:43 PM
I would usually go to the community forum and post this, but its the holidays and noone is on here that much anyways for the holidays anyways... i think...

anyways... for christmas santa decided a nice new computer should be dropped off under my tree, (thx santa if ur reading this) but the darn thing doesnt run il2 too well.

HP pavilion Windows XP thingy majigy
2 Gb Ram
Amd 64 Atheron Processor
Integrated ATI Radeon Xpress200
2.39 ghz

and I know the video card is built in and everything so I replaced it with my old Nvidia Geforce Fx 5200. Which worked prty well with il2 in my old computer:

Windows XP
1 Gb ram
intell celeron processor
Nvidia Geforce Fx 5200
2.19 ghz or something like that i fergot.



But now even with my new computer with my old video card, I get about 1 fps when im "ingame". Ingame meaning even at the title screen and stuff.

I dunno If the computer doesnt support nvidia cards or what, but i need some help on this anyway before I go buy a heavy duty vid card then find out it doesnt work.

Holycannoli
12-25-2005, 10:26 PM
I'm not too knowledgeable on integrated graphics, but you might have to disable it. That's if the motherboard has PCI express. If it doesn't, you're out of luck.

fordfan25
12-25-2005, 10:30 PM
yea you have to go into your bios and disable the onbord video. also the drivers for said OBV might be fouling up your other GPU's drivers. best advice, post this in comunity help along with DXDIAG.

VW-IceFire
12-25-2005, 10:35 PM
Snuffy...you may want to head to the Community Help forum and post your message there. Also...it'd be good to see your DXDiag. I realize you aren't a hardware specialist but we'll need some more details and less vagueness.

Congrats on the new machine!

I suspect the problem you're having is driver related...ATI VS nVidia drivers (and the revese) is always a nasty proposition on the same system. Its like the guys who upgraded from GeForce 4 Ti's and got X800's and wondered why they were getting terrible FPS...it was the drivers.