PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible to mod/change the terrain?



swambast
04-15-2005, 08:26 AM
I am blown away by what the guys at European Air War are up to - they never cease to amaze me at the life they pump into this old but glorious sim. Look at what they are up to now - kicking around the idea of integrating satellite images into the terrain to fly over something, say, like this:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v456/VonBeerhofen/EAWUHR.jpg

Is it possible to mod/change the terrain in IL2/FB/AEP in any way? I personally, have never cared for the terrain in this game that much at all...so was wondering if anyone knows of a way it can be changed...

BTW, if you're interested to read more about the EAW terrain progress being made, check out this link:
http://www.simhq.com/simhq3/sims/boards/bbs/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=41;t=028786

Steve

JG53Frankyboy
04-15-2005, 08:35 AM
easy answer:
no

Jumoschwanz
04-15-2005, 09:05 AM
A little bit ago someone here posted a link to NASAs WorldWind project. I downloaded it and it provides sattelite images of the whole globe. It is supposed to have a feature in the works where you can fly over the terrain of the globe in 3D as if in a plane.

What is did not like about the Landsat images that WorldWind used was they got blurry when you got below 10 kilometers altitude. I can't believe this is the sattelites fault, rather it is probably limited in it's resolution because of our stupid "war on terror".

Does anyone have a link to maybe a russian or Japanese sattelite that can give higher resolution images than NASA's krappy Landsat images? S!

Jumoschwanz

Tully__
04-15-2005, 09:16 AM
For maps/satellite images: http://maps.google.com/maps

As for Landsat, it was never intended to by hi-res in the first place. IIRC it is only about 10m resolution.

swambast
04-16-2005, 06:38 AM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif That's really too bad, I guess there's no way around it then.

What about the capability to create a new map from scratch?

csThor
04-16-2005, 07:16 AM
Neither. The map making software is an in-house development of Maddox Games, scarcely documented, exceptionally complicated and very hard to use. It has been given to very few people outside Maddox Games (luthier and Ian Boys come to my mind) but won't be spread further. I cannot see a change of that policy for BoB, either.

LEBillfish
04-16-2005, 07:27 AM
A satellite picture is just that...a 2d picture. Our maps are 3d pictures, with individual 3d objects. Now could you take a photo and apply it to say a tree, building, whatever?.....Sure, yet that object still needs to be built as a 3d "individual" object then placed.

Now, consider who cares what these Sat. images show......Little even vegetation was there 60 years ago, the world much different.

However, what would be worthwhile are actual toppo maps. They have them in 3d, and could possibly be utilized to give you "actual" terrain elevations and features such as lakes and rivers (though even they change).

What I'd like to see is what RB3d had, that being "four seasons", and their terrain as far as mountains, hills and the like was exceptional...The fall maps stunning.

Yet I'd guess it's all mute for IL2, just have to prepare our whines for BoB http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif