PDA

View Full Version : buying track ir in the uk



thefruitbat
02-15-2006, 10:00 AM
hi all, I was just wondering if anyone can recommend a good place to buy track ir 4 in the uk. I'm finally getting around to buying it, and cant wait!!! Happy birthday to me!!!

cheers fruitbat

JG52Uther
02-15-2006, 10:04 AM
This place gets good reviews:
http://www.rcsimulations.com/switch.htm

I got my TiR2 from these guys:
http://www.edimensional.com/?ref=73

Black Sheep
02-15-2006, 10:19 AM
I'd thoroughly recommend RC Simulations - I bought a TM Cougar from them a couple of years ago.

About eight months after I bought it, I needed it serviced under warranty due to an intermittent fault but had lost the reciept.

I emailed them and asked if they still had a copy of the invoice and if so, could I have a photocopy of it; it turned up in the post two days later http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

The.Tyke
03-14-2006, 10:16 AM
I don't see the vector with the RC package, is it included ?

thefruitbat
03-14-2006, 10:20 AM
track ir4 comes with vector expansion, and supports 6dof

Padser
03-14-2006, 11:39 AM
~S~

Just my six-penny worth - I'd also strongly recommend rcsimulations down in Bristol. Very prompt delivery, excellent service.

All the best,

Pads

Capt_Haddock
03-14-2006, 12:17 PM
Edimensional is also very good. Got mine in just a couple of days after ordering.

You can't go wrong with either http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

http://www.haddock.f2s.com/sig/F19bannerh3.jpg

The.Tyke
03-14-2006, 01:51 PM
BTW, I was browsing through Edimensional's other products. Has anybody tried that 3D software and glasses they have, for viewing photos and DVD's in 3D and if so, is it any good ??

Capt_Haddock
03-14-2006, 03:17 PM
I read a review on the 3D glases a couple of years ago. The reviewer had tried them with Operation Flashpoint and he seemed to be quite impressed by the immersion it added to the game (I specially remember his comments on how solid the smoke looked) Only flaw: the framerate droped by half. oops.

You won't be able to see your current photos or DVDs in 3D. For that you'd need a camera that takes 2 pictures at the same time. One for each eye.

http://www.haddock.f2s.com/sig/F19bannerh3.jpg

The.Tyke
03-15-2006, 01:15 AM
Right, credit card at the ready ! Gonna order it from Edimentional today.

Does it take much to set up or can I be lazy and down load a profile from somebody else ??

IAFS_Painter
03-15-2006, 01:42 AM
You can start with somebody else's profile, but IMO, you'll be happier when you've configured it for yourself.

I use TiR2, so your experience will be different to mine, but ...
I started with relaxed settings (fairly slow) and a 'dead-zone'. After a few weeks, I got rid of the dead-zone, and started tightening the settings.

There is a learning curve to using TiR; push yourself, but don't push too hard.

JG52Uther
03-15-2006, 01:56 AM
On my TiR 2,I still use the 'default' profile.Seems to work fine for me.

The.Tyke
03-15-2006, 10:42 AM
Very last question... I promise !
Do you have to change anything in the conf. file in order to run TIR 4.

thefruitbat
03-15-2006, 11:18 AM
in the config.ini find the trackIRuse=1 line and make sure it is 1 and not 0

it is located in the [rts] section

major_setback
03-15-2006, 11:28 AM
There's a review in this thread:

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m...911032783#3911032783 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/3911032783/r/3911032783#3911032783)