PDA

View Full Version : Amazing Discovery About Track IR ?



ytareh
07-06-2009, 10:25 AM
Ive found that the 'roll' I experience in 4.09m servers can be eliminated by disabling ROLL ie only using 2 of the 3 axes!Whats more it gives me a more stable respons overall...Try it and see what you think .I have the XYand Z axes disabled anyway ...

ytareh
07-06-2009, 10:25 AM
Ive found that the 'roll' I experience in 4.09m servers can be eliminated by disabling ROLL ie only using 2 of the 3 axes!Whats more it gives me a more stable respons overall...Try it and see what you think .I have the XYand Z axes disabled anyway ...

Bearcat99
07-06-2009, 11:05 AM
I have set up the roll axis so that t only goes @80 degrees (40L-40R).. since I cant put my head at a 90 degree angle from my shoulders in real life... I could see disabling the Y axis (up & down) but I use the X & Z.. (L&R and in & out)...

RedToo
07-06-2009, 12:05 PM
Exactly the same here ytareh - roll disabled to make TiR4 useable (and brilliant).

RedToo.

idonno
07-06-2009, 01:18 PM
I just set the roll so that it moves as much as I move my head. No more, no less.

ytareh
07-06-2009, 01:21 PM
Yes Red before BOB WOV I had never experienced this involuntary 'roll' making accurate flying almost imposible (like sitting on a spit roast -steady lads!)but it appeared in 4.09m and only last night by disabling the ROLL axis the problem disappeared ...Of course I always disable the X,Y and Z axes (for 6DOF) So with only PITCH and YAW enanbled I have a much better experience

FI.Spitsfire
07-06-2009, 01:41 PM
Thanks for the tip! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

idonno
07-06-2009, 01:47 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by ytareh:
Of course I always disable the X,Y and Z axes (for 6DOF) So with only PITCH and YAW enanbled I have a much better experience </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Your TrackIR 4 is going to waste. You should trade it to some unfortunate guy with a 3 who can't afford to up-grade.

Man, are you missing out on a lot by not using the full 6DOF capability! It takes a little getting used to, but it is so worth the effort.

Choctaw111
07-06-2009, 02:09 PM
I use the roll, but it is not set to nearly as high a sensitivity as the others.

ytareh
07-06-2009, 02:45 PM
Idonno I only have TIR3 Pro with the Vector Expansion(I find it better than the track dot).

Urufu_Shinjiro
07-06-2009, 02:56 PM
I put a fairly large deadzone on my roll axis so I have to make a concious effort to roll the view.