PDA

View Full Version : And you thought you were a flight-sim geek...



WWSensei
09-09-2005, 08:29 AM
http://www.wingwalkers.org/Forum/viewtopic.php?t=4624

WWSensei
09-09-2005, 08:29 AM
http://www.wingwalkers.org/Forum/viewtopic.php?t=4624

jensenpark
09-09-2005, 08:33 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by WWSensei:
http://www.wingwalkers.org/Forum/viewtopic.php?t=4624 </div></BLOCKQUOTE>


geek factor is outweighed only by the "freaking green with envy factor".

-HH-Dubbo
09-09-2005, 01:54 PM
Very cool http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

So......how much to make one for me? And for jensenpark too.(After all, he'll be paying for them) http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

WWSensei
09-09-2005, 02:08 PM
The modules are from GoFlight. I bought mine over the last couple of years off E-bay for much less than retail price.

The console box is made out of about $5 (US) of spare wood I had in my garage and a can black spray paint. The USB Hub ran me about $40.

But hey, since jensenpark is paying I think I can slap another one together for about $5000...

kiddknapp59
09-09-2005, 02:24 PM
I was under the impression that GoFlight modules worked only with FS9 and X-Plane. Does the trim wheel work in IL2?

WWSensei
09-09-2005, 04:55 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by kiddknapp59:
I was under the impression that GoFlight modules worked only with FS9 and X-Plane. Does the trim wheel work in IL2? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

They have a keymapper utility that does a good job. The trim wheel works but not as an axis. I just coded it to increment or decrement trim as if I were tapping the keyboard. Works well enough for me.

I did write a GoFlight interface for use offline along with devicelink, but I find the keymapper works well enough.

I fly a lot of FS9 for procedural training and getting familiar with airports I know I'll be flying too and haven't been before so it's helpful there.

kiddknapp59
09-09-2005, 05:07 PM
Interesting. I have thought about getting some GoFlight modules for use in FS9. It would be more worthwhile to get use out of them in several sims. The keymapper software would certainly add value to the modules. I work in the FS9 add-on industry; I paint planes for several companies (my name is Ed Knapp, you may or may not have heard of me). So I can justify buying toys as a work expense.