PDA

View Full Version : Saitek Pro Pedals(the Toe brake trick?)



LT.INSTG8R
03-08-2007, 01:58 AM
Im just on the way to the post to pick them up but I thought I would ask before I go get em.

Any users with them could they please post the method to get them working(I would love to reclaim the button from my stick)

Thanks
INSTY

LT.INSTG8R
03-08-2007, 06:28 AM
Originally posted by LT.INSTG8R:
Im just on the way to the post to pick them up but I thought I would ask before I go get em.

Any users with them could they please post the method to get them working(I would love to reclaim the button from my stick)

Thanks
INSTY
http://img157.imageshack.us/img157/3062/thelastpiecezx8.th.jpg (http://img157.imageshack.us/my.php?image=thelastpiecezx8.jpg)

SithSpeeder
03-08-2007, 07:42 AM
It's no different than setting up your joystick axes of movement. You go in-game, select Controls, scroll down to HOTAS CONTROLS, then select Brakes, and then apply the toe-brakes.

Go test it in a dogfight map (i.e., groundstart), though, before going online. And remember, it uses differential braking AND you can gradually apply them (as opposed to the button approach).

Enjoy your new pedals!

* _54th_Speeder *

JerryFodder
03-08-2007, 08:05 AM
Not as simple as that. If you set up in game in the HOTAS for brakes then you'll find that only one of the toe brakes works on the pedals. INSTG8R is looking at getting them both working right? In which case you need to add a line into one of the ini files - the problem is that I don't know where or what this line is exactly - if anybody can post it then that is appreciated.

334th_Osprey

Klemm.co
03-08-2007, 08:11 AM
Assign the brakes, exit the game. Go to the Users directory and go to your user and open the settings.ini. Then find the line ending with =brakes (use Ctrl+F for that) and then copy that line, paste it in under the original line and change the assigned axis (X or Y) to the other one.
If you dont get it this way or something doesn't work, get back to me.

JerryFodder
03-08-2007, 08:13 AM
Just what I was looking for http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif Thanks S!

SithSpeeder
03-08-2007, 08:13 AM
INteresting thread from 2006...check it out. Talks about enabling both pedals as well as a scripting option to simulate independent L/R braking.

(but I still think the original poster was just asking about how to get it quickly set-up so he could go fly http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/inlove.gif )

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/107...341033613#6341033613 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/1071052613?r=6341033613#6341033613)

* _54th_Speeder *

LT.INSTG8R
03-08-2007, 10:44 AM
No Actually Sith, Klemm and Jerry are on the track Im on. I DO wanna get In the air/online but here I am hanging over my stick still with my feet on the pedals and NOPE havent done anything but install them and Im not sure when I posted but they have sat that way until now I want it set up ONCE, RIGHT the first time and never think about it again

Thanks Klemm and Jerry and Sith I will try that our and if you dont hear back that sorted it

the BIG ~S~ to you all!! I

f you click my Sig minus these new pedals you can see in the last 2 shots my Driving and Flying setups and well I am now COMPLETE(as long I dont wig out and decide I wanna build pits for each of them I think I will be okay LOL)

BrotherVoodoo
03-08-2007, 05:43 PM
Please take a look at my Saitek mini review thread here, it should answer most of your questions: http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/26310365/m/106...061050335#1061050335 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/26310365/m/1061050335?r=1061050335#1061050335)
Let me know if you have any troubles sir.
Enjoy the new pedals, there awesome! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

JerryFodder
03-10-2007, 10:48 AM
That's it Brother Voodoo - thanks!

AXE_X JoystickDevice1=brakes
AXE_Y JoystickDevice1=brakes

In the Users\Doe\Settings.ini

LT.INSTG8R
03-12-2007, 08:22 PM
All sorted thanks folks!
Now getting USED to them is another story seeing as flown the last three years on the twist....

hshmulik
03-13-2007, 08:42 AM
Can anyone tell me what is causing the second line to disappear from time to time?

I manually edit the settings.ini file and use IL-2 just perfect, but the next day only pedal works, and I have to enter that line all over again.

I know that going to "Controls" would do that, but are there any other things that do that too? (Maybe Hardware Setup?), Other config tools maybe?

LT.INSTG8R
03-19-2007, 02:07 AM
Well hshmulik I cant tell you why its happening to you(sounds strange) but I can tell you how to stop it
Just make the file Read Only http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif Just remember you wont be able to make any other changes if it is in that state.