PDA

View Full Version : Running PF on Dual Xeon board



1.JaVA_Razer
04-22-2005, 11:01 AM
Hi all. I'm getting 1.6Ghz LV dual Xeons in about 2 weeks. Now I'd like to know what is better to game. Just CPU wise.

an AMD 2500+@ 2300MHZ effective or
2x 2.2Ghz Xeons (overclocked http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_razz.gif )

Same graphics card, same RAM, just different mobo and CPU's http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

thx in advance for info

Gryphonne
04-22-2005, 11:25 AM
I doubt there will be any improvement, because Il2 was never written to support dual processors. But hey, i may be wrong.

p1ngu666
04-22-2005, 11:28 AM
toughie, but a moot point i feel, because u will already have lost all your limbs to pay for your dual setup.

not sure if u can bind trackir to act as a joystick... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

Manos1
04-22-2005, 12:18 PM
Your oveclocking makes things a bit complicated

However:

Intel XEON: 1MB CPU cache

AMD 2500+: 512Kb CPU cache

One Intel XEON CPU should be much faster that an AMD CPU because of the CPU cache.

I have no experience on what the performance is after all this oveclocking...

But, I saw some CPU benchmarks where a:
Intel Mobile-M CPU 2.1GHz with 1Mb CPU cache
has as much power as an
Intel PIV CPU 3,0GHz (with 512Kb CPU cache)

Dual Xeon or single Xeon, this will not play a big difference (ok, ok, you will be able to burn CDs while playing IL2FB without stutter...)

~S~

alert_1
04-22-2005, 12:54 PM
I afraid that bigger cache has no importance in gaming, but might be wrong...

BelaLvgosi
04-22-2005, 01:04 PM
If it performs as fast a contemporary 400mhz fsb p4 with extra cache, the xeon will be way slower in gaming than your barton even at stock.
Remember that 1.2ghz 266fsb tb athlons could eat a p4 1.7 for breakfast but that socket 603(?) part might be faster.

Oh, a nice bench http://www.gamepc.com/labs/print_content.asp?id=xeonvsamp2

1.JaVA_Razer
04-24-2005, 01:42 PM
rgr

I'm keeping my barton 2500 also , thats not the problem but I just wanted so know whats the best choice to make my powerrig http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif (read gamerig)

I will mostly use the Xeons as servers and workstation but I'll just put the Gf4MX into the DX rig now.

BTW, the dual Xeon rig cots VERTY little...

IF you know the right people off course http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

FoolTrottel
04-24-2005, 03:15 PM
So, if I get this right, you'll be getting the Duals withing two weeks anyhow.

So, just test... and ... please... report the performance results back here!

(But make sure it's based on the 3.04m, not on the 4.0, as it will here within two weeks too! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif )

CARBONFREEZE
04-24-2005, 04:14 PM
I was running an 925xe system w/ a P4 3.46ee and 4gb of DDR-2-667. The game would load fast, but I would get pauses if using SATA RAID (ihc6). I recently sold that system and put together a dual xeon 3.6 (Tyan I7525) box with 4gb of ddr-2-400 ecc RAM. The primary difference I have noticed with this box is the fact that I get no screen freezes or spawn pauses while running SCSI+SATA RAID on this board, and overall responsiveness while running multiple items in the OS is much faster. I can now run Disk Keeper on one RAID array while running a spyware scan on the mirror array (which contains OS) and still play IL2 with no hiccups.

CPU usage while transferring files between RAID arrays on the 925xe board (ihc6) would be ~40% with no other applications running. Same would occour when loading textures or aircraft spawning in IL2, except I would get a screen freeze. With the e7525 chipset board I don't have this problem. Its very nice =)

CARBONFREEZE
04-24-2005, 04:21 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>socket 603(?) <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Socket 604 to be correct on intel server based boards with 166/200 TFSB supporting more than two processors.