PDA

View Full Version : So where are all the airplane types

zeviper
06-03-2009, 10:12 PM
I'm a newbie to IL-2. Just downloaded Il-2 Sturmovik 1946 and it claimed to have all the previous releases included and like 230 something airplanes. I don't see nearly that many - am I missing something? Do more become available once I complete certain levels?

Thanks

WTE_Galway
06-03-2009, 11:24 PM
Originally posted by zeviper:
I'm a newbie to IL-2. Just downloaded Il-2 Sturmovik 1946 and it claimed to have all the previous releases included and like 230 something airplanes. I don't see nearly that many - am I missing something? Do more become available once I complete certain levels?

Thanks

No they should all be available right from the start.

Where are you looking ?

Skycat_2
06-04-2009, 02:44 AM
Start with the Quick Mission Builder. You can access all of the flyables there. Use the first line ("Your Flight") in the setup menu to scroll through the planes you can use. Try different maps other than the default Okinawa map also.

I can't remember how many flyables there are within the sim but I think that the number you are quoting is the total including the AI-only aircraft. Only about half of the planes are actually user flyable in normal, unmodded gameplay.

BTW, pay no mind to the limited number of planes in the View Object list. The short explanation is that the developer stopped adding new entries about halfway into the series.

Tully__
06-04-2009, 04:21 AM
Originally posted by Skycat_2:
...I can't remember how many flyables there are within the sim but I think that the number you are quoting is the total including the AI-only aircraft....
230 is pretty close for flyables (counting both types and variants) in v4.08m. I just did a quick rough count in QMB and got 218. I was in a hurry and distracted so it's a good bet that's not exact but it's definately well over 200 flyable in the latest official patch version.

TinyTim
06-04-2009, 04:25 AM