PDA

View Full Version : I can switch from metric to imperial, but is there a Config line I can use for it?



Holycannoli
11-11-2004, 01:29 PM
Subject line says it all. I'd like imperial units on as default. So far I have to toggle them every time I fly, which, while OK, get annoying.

Anyone know of a config line I can use? I see one for icons that's set to 3, but nothing for speedbar?

steve_v
11-11-2004, 01:50 PM
not that I am aware of

BfHeFwMe
11-11-2004, 02:00 PM
There's a whole lot of stuff that gets annoying because you can't set it. At least this time around it's not the US side that's forced to click the button every time in the QMB.

Why there's no way to set stuff like starting map zoom, default field of view zoom, and now this is a mystery to me. Lets make it so painful they have to hit 10 different buttons every time they fly, should be able to make far more sales that way. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/51.gif

LEXX_Luthor
11-11-2004, 07:18 PM
As a programmer myself who goes out of my way to minimize key and mouse use for the user, I agree, but I program for myself with no publisher telling me to finish now. So if we Whine they may add config settings for the stuff you mention.

Holycannoli
11-11-2004, 09:58 PM
They should add these config settings. For convenience's sake. It can't be much trouble to add them? They're just toggle selects (but I don't know a thing about programming).

I hope someone in charge reads this and passes the suggestion along http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

mortoma
11-12-2004, 11:17 AM
It's a small thing but it would be more convenient, as I have no use for using metric when flying anything other than Russian, Finnish, German or Italian planes. Because everybody else used Imperial!! The French used metric but we currently have no French planes or campaigns. They could do away with knots all together since nobody used it until after the war that I'm aware of. I only use knots when I fly Cessna and Beech real-world aircraft. I use MPH when flying Pipers, since their ASIs still use MPH for some reason!?!?!?!

Zyzbot
11-12-2004, 12:17 PM
USN used knots in WWII. Just checked some of my books and found several speed refernces in knots.

mortoma
11-13-2004, 07:32 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Zyzbot:
USN used knots in WWII. Just checked some of my books and found several speed refernces in knots. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>But only for ships/boats. I was talking about aircraft. I don't think they used it for aircraft, did they??

k5054
11-13-2004, 09:13 AM
If the map on your knee is in nautical miles, you'll want your ASI to read in knots. It makes navigation easier. Navy charts come in nm. Even in the Japanese navy.

mortoma
11-13-2004, 01:15 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by k5054:
If the map on your knee is in nautical miles, you'll want your ASI to read in knots. It makes navigation easier. Navy charts come in nm. Even in the Japanese navy. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>Then Oleg goofed because all the U.S. Navy planes have an ASI that readout MPH, not Knots. Since Oleg prides himself on cockpit accuracy, seems to me he goofed then. Either that or I'm right, that even Navy pilots used MPH for speed. Besides, it's easy to convert between the to. To get from MPH to Knots, just subtract 15.07% from to the speed, then you get Knots. How hard could it have been?? I can do it in my head in seconds.

Zyzbot
11-13-2004, 01:29 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by mortoma:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Zyzbot:
USN used knots in WWII. Just checked some of my books and found several speed refernces in knots. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>But only for ships/boats. I was talking about aircraft. I don't think they used it for aircraft, did they?? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

The references that I found were to aircraft speeds. I think that it would be asking for trouble to figure your aircraft carrier's speed in knots and your aircraft redevous with that carrier in mph in the middle of an ocean.

If the airspeed indicator really was in MPH...they still tell their stories in knots. Each of these links makes reference to airspeed in knots:

http://www.battleofsaipan.com/Nstark000101.htm
http://www.leisuregalleries.com/gage.html
http://www.yellowairplane.com/34th/Irving_Mayer_Ernie_Pyle.html
http://www.highironillustrations.com/rogues/bruce_porter.html

mortoma
11-13-2004, 03:20 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Zyzbot:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by mortoma:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Zyzbot:
USN used knots in WWII. Just checked some of my books and found several speed refernces in knots. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>But only for ships/boats. I was talking about aircraft. I don't think they used it for aircraft, did they?? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>I know that!!
They had aircraft that used MPH and used for flying as far as V-speeds, but they would later convert MPH to Knots if they needed to, but only after the fact. But for everyday flying, no pilots in any country, in any branch of any service, used Knots in their everyday flying. As I said, they could convert easily, but while they were flying they used MPH and flew by it. Really you've proven my point for me, better than I ever have. No pilots used Knots during flying in W.W.II and nobody had airspeed indicators that were calibrated to it.

The references that I found were to aircraft speeds. I think that it would be asking for trouble to figure your aircraft carrier's speed in knots and your aircraft redevous with that carrier in mph in the middle of an ocean.

If the airspeed indicator really was in MPH...they still tell their stories in knots. Each of these links makes reference to airspeed in knots:

http://www.battleofsaipan.com/Nstark000101.htm
http://www.leisuregalleries.com/gage.html
http://www.yellowairplane.com/34th/Irving_Mayer_Ernie_Pyle.html
http://www.highironillustrations.com/rogues/bruce_porter.html <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

mortoma
11-13-2004, 03:22 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by mortoma:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Zyzbot:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by mortoma:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Zyzbot:
USN used knots in WWII. Just checked some of my books and found several speed refernces in knots. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>But only for ships/boats. I was talking about aircraft. I don't think they used it for aircraft, did they?? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
The references that I found were to aircraft speeds. I think that it would be asking for trouble to figure your aircraft carrier's speed in knots and your aircraft redevous with that carrier in mph in the middle of an ocean.

If the airspeed indicator really was in MPH...they still tell their stories in knots. Each of these links makes reference to airspeed in knots:

http://www.battleofsaipan.com/Nstark000101.htm
http://www.leisuregalleries.com/gage.html
http://www.yellowairplane.com/34th/Irving_Mayer_Ernie_Pyle.html
http://www.highironillustrations.com/rogues/bruce_porter.html <HR></BLOCKQUOTE> <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>I know that!!
They had aircraft that used MPH and used for flying as far as V-speeds, but they would later convert MPH to Knots if they needed to, but only after the fact. But for everyday flying, no pilots in any country, in any branch of any service, used Knots in their everyday flying. As I said, they could convert easily, but while they were flying they used MPH and flew by it. Really you've proven my point for me, better than I ever have. No pilots used Knots during flying in W.W.II and nobody had airspeed indicators that were calibrated to it.

mortoma
11-13-2004, 03:27 PM
"The references that I found were to aircraft speeds. I think that it would be asking for trouble to figure your aircraft carrier's speed in knots and your aircraft redevous with that carrier in mph in the middle of an ocean."


__________________________________________________ _______________________________

No, not really, it would be no trouble at all. Any pilot can convert that stuff, even when flying. I use both knots and mph when I fly since I fly both Pipers and Cessnas. Piper has stuck with MPH through the years for some reason. But like I said, we pilots are used to that type of stuff. And typical E6B flight computer will convert units in seconds if need be. No big deal now, no big deal in W.W.II!!

Zyzbot
11-13-2004, 03:41 PM
Curious. If they flew in MPH why tell the stories in knots? Not arguing...I just don't see why they would do that.

initjust
11-13-2004, 03:51 PM
Actually I believe the USN planes (most if not all) used airspeed indicators that were calibrated in knots. US Air Force airplanes used ASIs that were calibrated in MPH.

The Japanese A6M2 (& 5 I believe) used an ASI that displayed knots since they got it from the US Navy.

Zyzbot
11-13-2004, 04:53 PM
At least some did apparently:

€œIn the mid 1930s the Royal Navy required an urgent replacement for obsolete fighters like the Hawker Nimrod and Hawker Osprey. A truly modern aircraft (the future Fairey Fulmar) was being developed to the specification P.4/34; however, at the time of the Munich Crisis the Royal Navy was dangerously unprotected. The Gloster Company suggested a re-design of the Gladiator fighter according to Naval requirements.
The first 38 planes were modified Gladiator Mk.IIs. A new brake lever was installed, and TR.9 marine radio equipment, as well as air speed indicators calibrated in knots. In December 1938, the first 13 interim Sea Gladiators were transferred to the Worsey Down base for training. Other machines were shared between Hetston, Eastlate and Doneybristle, and several more planes were delivered to Adena for further transfer to aircraft carriers in the Indian Ocean. €œ

I also found a descrition of a WWII Helldiver airspeed indicator for sale:

"CURTISS SB2C HELLDIVER AIRSPEED......manuf'd by the high quality Square D company for Kollsman, with Navy Anchor stamp, this airspeed is the "twice-round" variety.....the needle goes around the first time for up to 200 knots, then 'round again for up to 430 knots (just under 500 mph!).....used in the Curtiss SB2C (called the "big butt bird" because of its huge tail), this unit is in excellent condition, working, standard 3 and one eigth inch diameter, one tiny screw loose under glass...sent with photo of instrument in Curtiss instrument panel."

Vortex_79
11-13-2004, 05:15 PM
~S~

Being new to IL2, how do you switch from metric to imperial?

Thanks in advance

_79_Vortex

Zyzbot
11-13-2004, 05:25 PM
You can assign a keyboard key to toggle through the options.

k5054
11-14-2004, 05:19 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR> Originally posted by k5054:
If the map on your knee is in nautical miles, you'll want your ASI to read in knots. It makes navigation easier. Navy charts come in nm. Even in the Japanese navy. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Dunno what I was thinking when I wrote that, charts don't 'come in nm', they come in a scale. It's the nav instruments, the ruler and the flight computer, which determine the units, and they are always marked up for both kinds. And pilots can switch easily, if they need to.

Zyzbot
11-14-2004, 07:21 AM
Clearly some aircraft DID have airspeed indicators in knots in WWII:


€œOn the face of it, that decision seemed to e an expedient way to solve the problem. From the viewpoint of aviation safety, it could have been a disaster. About 40 pilots were assembled for a briefing on how to fly the SNJ in the carrier landing pattern. The briefing was given by an LSO and included such things as flying the pattern, speeds, altitudes and procedures on the flight deck after landing. One incidental point mentioned was that some of the SNJs had airspeed indicators calibrated in knots while others were calibrated in miles per hour. We were advised to be certain which type airspeed indicator we had.€

http://www.safetycenter.navy.mil/media/approach/theydidwhat/eldridge.htm

mattiusb
11-16-2004, 10:19 AM
Can't find key assignment to do this. Can anyone help?

Rebel_Yell_21
11-16-2004, 10:52 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by mattiusb:
Can't find key assignment to do this. Can anyone help? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

You need to assign a key to the one called Toggle Speedbar. Then you can switch between the 3 at your leisure, though it will always start any mission in Metric, by default.

CraytonRoberts
11-16-2004, 04:10 PM
A little bit off topic, but my problem is that in many missions I get neither knots, nor MPH nor KPH, only heading. I do set Speed Bar for each campaign at CNTRL S but still in some, not all, no resopnse, in terms of getting speed or altitude.. What am I doing wrong, please?

Bussard_1
11-16-2004, 06:12 PM
CraytonRoberts,
Check in difficulty,it might be that you've got speed bar unchecked.
Bussard.