PDA

View Full Version : Help can't past loading screen and game freezed!



simplesim
04-27-2010, 09:16 AM
I bought the PC splintercell conviction today but after installation, the game started and updated, but couldn't get past the loading screen, it freezes and I lost control of the system and I have to do a hard reboot.
Can anyone help?

My system
winxp
intel E8400 core2duo @3.0ghz
ATI HD4850 512mb GPU

Ghost_LeaderBG
04-27-2010, 10:29 AM
Originally posted by simplesim:
I bought the PC splintercell conviction today but after installation, the game started and updated, but couldn't get past the loading screen, it freezes and I lost control of the system and I have to do a hard reboot.
Can anyone help?

My system
winxp
intel E8400 core2duo @3.0ghz
ATI HD4850 512mb GPU
Holy ****!I have the exact same system as you! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif I still don't have the game,so I can't help you with it,but I hope I won't have the same problem as you. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Victoroos
04-27-2010, 10:45 AM
Originally posted by TMW92:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by simplesim:
I bought the PC splintercell conviction today but after installation, the game started and updated, but couldn't get past the loading screen, it freezes and I lost control of the system and I have to do a hard reboot.
Can anyone help?

My system
winxp
intel E8400 core2duo @3.0ghz
ATI HD4850 512mb GPU
Holy ****!I have the exact same system as you! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif I still don't have the game,so I can't help you with it,but I hope I won't have the same problem as you. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
hmm, interresting. it seems nobody (I'm not allowed to buy the game from my Ma) got the problem, cause alot screenshots are appearing. maybe indeed your hardware combination?

Jason-Alaska
04-27-2010, 10:51 AM
I'd post this message in the Splinter Cell Tech Support (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/frm/f/954105331) forum. With the release of the game there will be more and more people posting issues there and Ubi support will likely be dropping by soon.

In the mean time community help will be all over this stuff. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

simplesim
04-27-2010, 10:53 AM
Originally posted by TMW92:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by simplesim:
I bought the PC splintercell conviction today but after installation, the game started and updated, but couldn't get past the loading screen, it freezes and I lost control of the system and I have to do a hard reboot.
Can anyone help?

My system
winxp
intel E8400 core2duo @3.0ghz
ATI HD4850 512mb GPU
Holy ****!I have the exact same system as you! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif I still don't have the game,so I can't help you with it,but I hope I won't have the same problem as you. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

solved!
I found the problem, if you have firewall on, make sure to allow the game.exe to have access to the server. I have zonealarm and it access to the server was on a "?" settings.

This info should also be added into the readme found in the game. It's a simple statement and it can really help many people. Yes, it's my part that I did not realise that zonealarm was blocking access to the server, then it would be a great help to others not knowing this. Don't you agree ubisoft guys?

tse_tsz_tun
04-27-2010, 12:14 PM
Originally posted by simplesim:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by TMW92:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by simplesim:
I bought the PC splintercell conviction today but after installation, the game started and updated, but couldn't get past the loading screen, it freezes and I lost control of the system and I have to do a hard reboot.
Can anyone help?

My system
winxp
intel E8400 core2duo @3.0ghz
ATI HD4850 512mb GPU
Holy ****!I have the exact same system as you! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif I still don't have the game,so I can't help you with it,but I hope I won't have the same problem as you. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

solved!
I found the problem, if you have firewall on, make sure to allow the game.exe to have access to the server. I have zonealarm and it access to the server was on a "?" settings.

This info should also be added into the readme found in the game. It's a simple statement and it can really help many people. Yes, it's my part that I did not realise that zonealarm was blocking access to the server, then it would be a great help to others not knowing this. Don't you agree ubisoft guys? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Really? If that is, admin should make a sticky thread on this forum http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/metal.gif

Sam.G4m3R
07-30-2010, 08:19 PM
guys http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif , the answer is here.
the game stuck at loading screen because it just need to connect with the internet or the firewall itself is blocking, & this problem is suffered mostly who hasn't a NET connection. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif
so the LAN is disabled in their PCs.
just do 1 thing, enable the "LAN" (Local Area Connection) & u are done.

To do that,
XP users - Go to "My Network Places" then in the left pane in network tasks go to "view network connections" & enable the Local Area Connection.

Vista/7 users - go to network & sharing center & in the left pane click on change adapter settings & enable the local area connection


i think Vista/7 users don't have this kind of problem
& if the problem still persists the check your firewall, mark the "gu.exe" & "Conviction_game.exe" in the exception list
i think this might helpful

My Specs:
Windoes XP Pro sp3
Intel Pentuim Dual Core 3.0Ghz
nVidia GeForce 9600GT 1GB
2x1GB (800Mhz) Transcend
-S@m

Shiverwarp
08-25-2011, 12:37 AM
I get this same problem, but enabling Local area connection and allowing in the firewall doesn't work.

I have windows 7. I'm using wireless to access the internet.

RFN-TripWire
03-04-2013, 04:55 PM
I'm having the same problem but without a freeze. The game just sits at the above-mentioned loading screen and doesn't proceed any further. Note that I downloaded the game from Steam and installed the most up to date UPlay client to get that far. I did also make sure conviction_game.exe and gu.exe are fully allowed by the firewall. Anybody have any other ideas? I'm running on windows 7 with a system more than capable of running this game. I also tried adding the ports listed here (http://forums.ubi.com/showthread.php/487678-Conviction-Game-Possible-FIXES-(have-a-look-here)?p=2353557&viewfull=1#post2353557) to my router's firewall configuration without success.

Ubi-MoshiMoshi
03-04-2013, 08:08 PM
Hi RFN-TripWire, I suggest opening a ticket with Technical Support so they can troubleshoot with you, the link is in my signature.

Davuvnik
05-01-2013, 06:18 PM
I'm having the same problem but without a freeze. The game just sits at the above-mentioned loading screen and doesn't proceed any further. Note that I downloaded the game from Steam and installed the most up to date UPlay client to get that far. I did also make sure conviction_game.exe and gu.exe are fully allowed by the firewall. Anybody have any other ideas? I'm running on windows 7 with a system more than capable of running this game. I also tried adding the ports listed here (http://forums.ubi.com/showthread.php/487678-Conviction-Game-Possible-FIXES-(have-a-look-here)?p=2353557&viewfull=1#post2353557) to my router's firewall configuration without success.

I don't know what the heck it is, seems like a stupid problem and that the game needs some patching, ubisoft please don't sell games that do not work with newer video cards, if your game is really bad optimised please do not continue selling it or at least post some warning (warning this game is poorly optimised buy it at your own risk, we just want to rob you), I bet that is the problem. BTW I bough it in origin less than a week ago... its stupid that they continue to sell a non-working game, its even stupider because older games work really well.