PDA

View Full Version : Marines in Army clothes?

gundog212
08-22-2005, 11:00 AM
I am new to PF (stand alone) and have yet installed the patches.

While I thoroughly enjoy the game, I found a quirk that perhaps someone can tell me whether they have seen similar quirks.

One, in the pilot career mode, i am playing USMC and in my first mission, I am flying a P39 that says US Army on it. Is this a quirk or hisotrical??

Two, in my 'other' identity as a IJA pilot, I cannot exit the plane to bail out or if I slide to a safe landing, I still cannot exit a burning plane to save my skin and exit with a successful mission.

Three. I cannot find how to make/find the 'static' campaigns. I believe I am in the dynamic campaigns already.

Appreciate the help.

GD

neural_dream
08-22-2005, 11:06 AM
I guess that's historical.

Early Japanese planes didn't have parachutes.

i think PF has only dynamic campaigns. The Forgotten Battles and AEP campaigns were static.

gundog212
08-22-2005, 11:55 AM
Thanks. It looks like there is a lot of copy/paste in the PF players manual. That must be a leftover which shold have been omitted.

Anyone have any idea about the Marines flying the P39 w/ the US Army markings?

I am goi9ng home tonight and try the USAAF single player to see if they are flown with USMC aircraft. Maybe there is a mix up.

telsono
08-22-2005, 04:00 PM
I believe that this was changed in a patch. You cannot fly the P-39 in the Marine campaign game anymore. The USMC didn't fly them.

han freak solo
08-22-2005, 04:19 PM
Originally posted by telsono:
I believe that this was changed in a patch. You cannot fly the P-39 in the Marine campaign game anymore. The USMC didn't fly them.

Correct. Patch up the game to at least the 3.04 level and this campaign selection will disappear if you start a new campaign. The existing campaign will be "grandfathered" in, I believe.

Skycat_2
08-22-2005, 09:43 PM