PDA

View Full Version : Engine re-start



JACN12
12-17-2004, 08:39 PM
Hi,

I´ve tried several times inflight re-starting engine with no luck http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif. I switch the magnetos off and then turn them on again but nothing happens!. I tried it always keeping high prop-engine rpms (diving/high speed cut-offs) and in several throttle positions...turned magnetos ON again and nothing, engine is always dead http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

With the release of AEP that feature was enabled. I used to climb vertical and turn off magnetos. Engine,prop and bird froze at climb top. After the tail fall and when prop/eng rpm were high enough again I restarted engine only turning the magnetos on.

After last patches and PF I miss this feature. What has happened?...A bug?

Thanks,

.

MaxMhz
12-17-2004, 08:42 PM
eh - what plane would help...
how high would help...
how fast would help...
what settings would help too http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

and WTF are you Fing with the magneto's ? lol

JACN12
12-18-2004, 04:38 AM
All planes it used to work before...(P47,Fw190,...)
All heights it used to work before...(S.L.,1000m,5000m,...)
All speeds it used to work before...(300kphIAS,400kphIAS,500kphIAS,...)
Same (all realistic maxed) settings used to make it work... http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Sorry, English is not my native language, and don´t know exactly what´s the meaning of your last sentence, specially "WTF" http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

.

Platypus_1.JaVA
12-18-2004, 05:20 AM
I think he wants to know why you are using the magneto's for. Most of us use the "I" key exclusivly for starting the engine. I have assigned "Shift I" because I found myself repeatedly pushing the "I" key accidentaly.

JACN12
12-18-2004, 06:59 AM
Ok, magnetos are the system which provide tension to the sparking plugs which ignite the mixture inside the combustion camber.

Diesel engines (auto-ignition engines) do not use this item cause mixture is auto-ignited due to P-T conditions in the c.c. in the injection instant.

All spark/forced-ignition engines (99,99% aviation engines)use magneto/electronic system (modern ones) + sparking plugs to start combustion. If turned magnetos off, no spark, no ignition.

To start ALL engines you need some engine/crankshaft rpm. If you are in ground an electric starter engine drags the crankshaft supplying those rpms ("I" key). While flying, air moves propeller and engine (remember, both linked) so you don´t need that e-s-e.
You have only 2 ways to stop your engine: 1)By turning off magnetos (ignition), 2) By cutting the fuel(mixture=0)or air supply.

Hope this help. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

.

Cragger
12-18-2004, 07:52 AM
They didn't ask for a mechanics lesson. They stated why you didn't just use the I key like everyone else. Reality and Virtuality are not the same.

And as for a reason why. Well in FB you could park your plane turn off the magnetos and the engine would stop. Once the prop had stopped moving you could turn the magnetos back on and the engine would magically restart itself without the need for a starter. It was exploitable because you could turn your engine off and on real fast for very quick landings.

JACN12
12-18-2004, 09:01 AM
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Cragger:


And as for a reason why. Well in FB you could park your plane turn off the magnetos and the engine would stop. Once the prop had stopped moving you could turn the magnetos back on and the engine would magically restart itself without the need for a starter. QUOTE]

Sorry i don´t think so. As far as i remember when that feature was enabled you can´t do it as easy as you´re saying. When rpms were too low starter MUST be used to the job. I never saw the "magic restarting" you´re talking about. Even with medium/high rpms not always was "magnetos-on= sucessfull engine restart".

Cragger
12-18-2004, 11:32 AM
I actually have a track of this phenomena saved still. If you give me a address to send it I will gladly provide it. However, it will take some work on YOUR part to view it as it is not compatible with the latest version of the game. I forget which version it was recorded under so you will have to work between the time frame of FP release and PF release as it was in that time frame the track was made.

Becarefull when one speaks as of teaching knowledge, as there is always someone to prove you wrong. I await your email address or an upload site.

Cragger
12-18-2004, 11:34 AM
Out of self curiousity I just watched the track again. It still works for V3.0 which is what I have currently installed.

JACN12
12-18-2004, 11:58 AM
Ok, i believe it, but if i tell you the truth i´d never tried to re-start after landed using only magnetos as you did. Only use it while flying.

So the problem seems to be Oleg´s people removed that feature instead of solve the bug http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif. Well, I suppose if Oleg decided so an important reason is behind such as a huge code rewrite,or something like that...Sad http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Cragger
12-19-2004, 09:01 AM
My intent wasn't to restart the engine with just the magnetos. I shut the engine down turning off the magnetos and reengaged them planning to restart the engine (I key) and it restarted itself.

JACN12
12-19-2004, 09:42 AM
Why don´t they fix and re-enable it? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif I think it shouldn´t be so difficult. Only writting a routine that when rpms were below "x" value no engine restart allowed using only magnetos...and nothing more.

Please, Oleg, solve this!