PDA

View Full Version : how to "listen" on hydrophone

vois2
04-08-2005, 10:42 AM
I've been playing the game at around 70% realism, and now I would like to "Turn Off Updates" on the map. I'm playing v1.2 patch and I have some experienced, decorated sonar operators. My question is -- when I venture out for the first time without map updates -- what will by my best method to locate possible targets? I have repeatedly (even after v1.2 patch) tried to get the hydrophone working efficiently, but maybe I just don't know how to use it. When I manually rotate it, the indicator stops (seemingly to make a suggestion?) and I listen hard, but nine times out of ten I don't notice a discernable sound. (While submerged, all stop.) In fact, only ONCE in about three hundred such occasions have I actually heard the screws of a ship, and she was (as it turns out) only about 300m away in the fog.

So, when I am next on patrol:
(1) How often would you suggest I submerge & stop for a sonar spin?
(2) When the hydrophone wheel stops itself, how can I "hone in" to discern sounds? (I have tried volume many times.)

Thanks in advance.

vois2
04-08-2005, 10:42 AM
I've been playing the game at around 70% realism, and now I would like to "Turn Off Updates" on the map. I'm playing v1.2 patch and I have some experienced, decorated sonar operators. My question is -- when I venture out for the first time without map updates -- what will by my best method to locate possible targets? I have repeatedly (even after v1.2 patch) tried to get the hydrophone working efficiently, but maybe I just don't know how to use it. When I manually rotate it, the indicator stops (seemingly to make a suggestion?) and I listen hard, but nine times out of ten I don't notice a discernable sound. (While submerged, all stop.) In fact, only ONCE in about three hundred such occasions have I actually heard the screws of a ship, and she was (as it turns out) only about 300m away in the fog.

So, when I am next on patrol: