PDA

View Full Version : What kind of processor do you have?



Boudewijn19991
11-19-2005, 01:44 PM
i am wondering what kind of processor i must buy for a socket 939amd.
Does anyone has good experiences with a processor of amd socket 939, or bad ones?

bunkerratt
11-19-2005, 01:48 PM
intel p-4 h/t 3.0ghz socket 775 http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

Schiffmorder
11-19-2005, 02:25 PM
I dont have one, but I believe that is a second generation 64 bit motherboard, the first ones being socket 700 something. So you will need to get a 64 bit processor. Expensive!!

JU88
11-19-2005, 02:26 PM
Excellent choice http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

I have a Socket 939 Chip, its an Athlon 64 3000 winchester, its the weakest and cheapest chip you can buy for 939, but its plenty fast enough for me, runs any game just fine - so long as you have a decent amount of RAM and a good GFX card to match.
Socket 939 is definatly the way to go!

You got Athlon 64s
3000
3200
3500
3700
3800
4000

you the FX chips
FX- 53
FX- 55
FX- 57

and the Duel Cores
X2- 3800
X2- 4200
X2- 4400
X2- 4600
X2- 4800

ALL the above will go in to a 939 board, If its gaming performance you want....forget Intels 775 chips, I work in PC retail, every guy who knows his stuff and comes in looking for a custom built gaming system- starts with a 939 mother board!

There are lots of good 939 boards, my recommendation would be an Asus A8N SLI Premium, If you for another SLI board make sure it has an Nforce 4 chipset! Unless you want to hold out for an ATI crossfire board.

IMPORTANT!!!
Make sure you get a GOOD 24 pin BRANDED power supply unit, like TAGAN, SEASONIC or ENNERMAX rated between 400 - 500 watts. THIS IS VITAL!
A cheapo generic 400w PSU (like the ones that come free with cases) are utterly usless for an Athlon 64 machine and they do not output the wattage they claim, a generic 400w PSU barely outputs 100w, it will likley cause you problems (like randomly restarting) and you can potentially damage your hardware by underpowering it!

if money is no object then:
PSU: SeaSonic 600w
Mainboard: Asus A8N SLI Premium or Deluxe
CPU: Athlon 64 4000 or an FX-55
RAM: 2GB 3200 (2x 1GB for Duel channel)
Graphics: Geforce 7800GTX or Radeon 1800XL (PCI-E)
Storage: 74GB Western digital Raptor drive (for your syetem disk) and any standard SATA 2 drive for storage.
Sound: Creative Sound Blaster XFI Fatality

IF you want good value vs performance then:
PSU: SeaSonic 500w
Mainboard: Asus A8N SLI Premium or Deluxe
CPU: Athlon 64 3700 - 3500
RAM: 1GB 3200 (2x 512 for Duel channel)
Graphics: Geforce 7800GT or Radeon X800 pro (PCI-E)
Storage: Any SATA 2 hard drive
SOUND: Creative Sound Blaster XFI Xtreme Music

If you want cheap and cheerful then:
PSU: Seasonic 430w or TAGAN 480w
Main board: Asus A8N SLI Premium or Deluxe
CPU: Athlon 64 3000
RAM: 1GB 3200 (2x 512 for Duel channel)
Graphics: Geforce 6600 GT (PCI-E)
Storage: Any Sata 2 hardrive.
Sound: Onboard.

One last tip about SATA hardrives, dont bother with 'RAID 0' this is when you stripe two matching hard drives, so all data written is spilt in half, with 50% on each drive. The performace boost just isnt that great - its more like 10% faster than a single drive not 50%, and you double the chances of losing all your data if one of the drives fails.


Hope this helps http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

doug.d
11-19-2005, 02:41 PM
My upgrade will begin as soon as I get my grubby hands on a decent new gfx card. I'm thinking AMD-X2 to go with it.

Mmm... I have a generic 400w PSU... http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

JU88
11-19-2005, 02:55 PM
Originally posted by doug.d:
My upgrade will begin as soon as I get my grubby hands on a decent new gfx card. I'm thinking AMD-X2 to go with it.

Mmm... I have a generic 400w PSU... http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Generic 400 PSU is fine for older pentium 4 socket 478 and the older AMD sockets A (aka 462) and 754
but I really would NOT use it for a newer 775 or 939 system, apart from being underpowered, they also lack the 24pin 12V Rail and all those lovley SATA and PCI-E connectors you will probably need.

Doug, X2s are nice, but few games make use of multi processing at the moment, unless you are using high end apps like photoshop/3D studio max etc, I would save money and stick with a fast single core CPU like a 4000 San Diego or an FX chip - if gaming is your main priority, you wont really benefit from a duel core.

doug.d
11-19-2005, 03:12 PM
I don't upgrade often, so I try to aim as high as I can (my present system has lasted for quite a few years). If games are already using duel-core e.g. Quake 4, then I expect in a couple of years time, all will and I'll be ready.
Here's a good CPU vs new games review (http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu/display/28cpu-games.html)

Boudewijn19991
11-20-2005, 02:51 AM
is a Power Supply 430W ATX/-2 Seasonic good enough. i was also thinking of a nvidia 6600GT pci-e.I already have 1024MB ram but what is a good and cheap motherboard with pci-e and socket 939.

Boudewijn19991
11-20-2005, 03:18 AM
i don't need a sli motherboard because i'm not buying 2 graphics cards

JU88
11-20-2005, 08:39 AM
Originally posted by Boudewijn19991:
i don't need a sli motherboard because i'm not buying 2 graphics cards

Get an SLI mother board: heres why

1)They cost about the same,
2)By not having SLI you dont gain anything else instead like an extra standard PCI.

So SLI is basically free.

Like I said- get something Like an Asus A8N SLI or any other good brand of board like Gigabyte, DFI, MSI, ABIT.
<span class="ev_code_RED">IT Must have an Nforce 4 chipset!!!!</span> Dont get a cheapo board, its the worst thing to sacrifice/skimp on, and you will regret it big time later on, belive me.

Oh -and your Power supply and graphics card are both fine http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Game__On
11-20-2005, 10:01 AM
Forget Intel, intel is for idiots

j/k i guess ...

Definately AMD64 3200+ or 3500+, I can get mine up to 2, 9 ghz for stable gaming, 3,0 ghz for benching ..

It's best bang for the buck period .

Boudewijn19991
11-20-2005, 10:39 AM
is the ECS nForce4-A939 GLan/S/R/PCI-Ex 939
of ECS elite group a good motherboard JU 88?

Boudewijn19991
11-20-2005, 01:24 PM
is a ati x1600pro a good graphics card? it's about 145 euros wich is as expensive as a 6600GT or a x800GT? it's has a shippingtime of 17 days tough http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/cry.gif

VikingGrandad
11-20-2005, 03:18 PM
Interesting advice - it's always useful to get recommendations like this rather than relying on resellers' info or magazine reviews.

Most modern games I've tried run pretty well and look good on my 2-year-old system - if I turn down the gfx settings to medium-ish (and run at 800x600, if really necessary). I currently have:
<UL TYPE=SQUARE>
<LI>A7N8X Deluxe SKT A NForce2 Chipset Motherboard VER: 2.0
<LI>AMD ATHLON XP2500+ Barton CPU (~1.8GHz)
<LI>Sapphire Radeon 9800SE 128MB
<LI>2 x Kingston HyperX 512mb 400MHz DDR Non-ECC CL2 DIMM's
<LI>Super Flower Real 320w Dual Fan Psu
[/list]
I've been thinking about upgrading for better games performance, so obviously I need a new CPU and gfx card, and therefore a new motherboard too (cos I can't get a decent modern processor or gfx card for my existing motherboard, right?)

So here's my questions:

1. If I go for a Socket 939 board with Athlon 64 3500 and Sapphire X800GTO 256MB, can I still use my existing RAM modules and PSU?

2. The Athlon 64 3500 is only 0.4GHz faster than my existing processor. I know it's 64 bit, but will it really make a big difference to game performance? Surely the biggest boost will come from the X800 gfx card?

Thanks for any advice from you hardware gurus http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

By the way, what do you do with the old components you replace? Bin them (in an environment-friendly way http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif), or sell them on eBay?

JU88
11-20-2005, 04:13 PM
So here's my questions:

1. If I go for a Socket 939 board with Athlon 64 3500 and Sapphire X800GTO 256MB, can I still use my existing RAM modules and PSU?

2. The Athlon 64 3500 is only 0.4GHz faster than my existing processor. I know it's 64 bit, but will it really make a big difference to game performance? Surely the biggest boost will come from the X800 gfx card?

Thanks for any advice from you hardware gurus http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

By the way, what do you do with the old components you replace? Bin them (in an environment-friendly way http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif), or sell them on eBay?


1)
a) If your existing memory a MATCHED pair or 2 matched pairs of DDR 3200 (400) then yes you may re-use it.

b) No, your power supply sounds like it does not really have enough juice to run your desired system. You will need at least 400w and anyway its needs to be an ATX2 psu with a 24 pin 12V Rail, a good quality PSU from the likes of Tagan, Seasonic or Enermax will set you back about 50 pounds here in the uk. Remember there are two classes of PSU, true power supplies (branded) and generic. A Generic 400w is no where near as powerful, stable or efficient as a branded one.
You can try re-using your old Psu (if its good quality) using a 20 to 24 pin adaptor, but I dont recomend this. If its generic model - then its out of the question!

2)
a) The Athlon 64 3500 will be ALOT faster than your xp2500, like around 30% faster even on 32-bit software.
Let me get one thing straight. Forget Megahertz and Gigahertz, they are history! they no longer can be used to messure CPU performance accuratly in todays processors.
The clock freaquency of a cpu is only one of many factors that add to its perfomance. The Athlon XP and the Athlon 64 are worlds apart from eachother, its like comparing a Messerschmitt 262 to an F-16.

b) Yes, for games the graphics card will always make the biggest difference.

In a nutshell, from your current sytem you can re-use any IDE or SATA drives, your case (duh), any PCI cards you will still need and possibly your memory, everything else must be changed.

Always worth selling your old components on Ebay, better to get something than nothing for them http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

VikingGrandad
11-20-2005, 04:49 PM
Originally posted by JU88:
1)
a) If your existing memory a MATCHED pair or 2 matched pairs of DDR 3200 (400) then yes you may re-use it...
I know what I've got is DDR 3200 (400MHz), but I'm not really sure what you mean by 'matched' - I have two of these. (http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/products/index.html?rb=13313968843&action=c2hvd19wcm9kdWN0X3NwZWNpZmljYXRpb25z&product_uid=55491) Can you tell if they are matched?

Many thanks for your help JU88. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

bunkerratt
11-20-2005, 05:59 PM
intel is for idiots?..thats your opinon...i can crank this p-4 socket 775 to 3.4 and stay stable it's on a asus p5gd2 deluxe with on board overclocking and nos..running a 520wattpsu..ati x800xl pcie 256mb 2gb of pc2 3200 20 inch view sonic vp201 flat panel lcd creative 24bit 5.1 surrond 200 gb seagate hdd 8mb chache 300 gb external hdd .dual layer dual format md 48x dvdrw and a hitachi dvd rom..3.5 floppy and 11 in 1 card reader.win xp sp2