PDA

View Full Version : who has experience with 2 PCI-express video cards on 1 motherboard ?



SergeVE
12-16-2004, 03:11 PM
First a little background :

I now have a P4 2,4G with a nVidea GF4200 video card (AGP), and 1 G of RAM .

I want to upgrade in steps , and my first step was to be a new powerfull video card .
So I went to my local PC-store to ask for some prices of the new Ati X800-range
and nVidea 6800-range .( AGP , not PCI-express )

This first upgrade was to be followed by a second ( late 2005 ) : faster processor , new motherboard , new RAM


However , the guy from my thrusted PC-store advised me to wait , and do this instead :


Go for a PCI-express motherboard with 2 ( yes 2 ) nVidea 6600 videa-cards ! !


I had no idea this was possible .
Does this set-up double your rendering-power ?

Who has experience with this kind of setup ?

Weather_Man
12-16-2004, 03:37 PM
Yes, it's possible with the Nforce4 chipset. It's called SLI (Scalable Link Interface). That's for AMD boards. Though it's not out yet. Should trickling out to retailers by first of the year.

Also, the Nforce5 chipset for Intel boards will be out sometime next year. This will have SLI also.

Performance is increased, but not double. More like 50%-70% depending on the game. 2 GF6600s would yield slightly better than a single 6800ultra. SLI is driver dependant, so performance may get better in time.

Read more: SLI Upgrade Guide (http://www.hardocp.com/article.html?art=Njk2)

TheGozr
12-16-2004, 05:07 PM
I did.It ridiculized ALL the best machines around.
playing Doom3 1200X1600 Full Max graphics. and it was just flowless like at 800X600 on amd system with Nvidia.

This is the way to go and i'll get it. For me no other solutions.

Capt.LoneRanger
12-16-2004, 05:24 PM
SLI needs a very fast CPU and a fast RAM to work. The data has to be shared amongst the 2 ports, which can infact DECREASE performance, if you don't upgrade to a fast CPU & RAM.

You also got to see, that this technology is only in it's infancy. There are a lot of bugs and the nForce400 is no longer the fastest chipset and the best choice around.

Besides that, I got to say, that PCI-E utilizes a faster interface. Most cards on the market today are designed for AGP and later fitted with PCI-E-interface. Performance and transfer rates are the same. But that's also easy to confirm, since you got to play games with 1600x1200x32bit & 16xAA & 16xFSAA to really make use of the faster interface. There is no card on the market that can do this, so right now, benchmarks show only little advantage, since the AGPx8 is still not used to it's max.

I just today read some news about the first real PCI-E-cards coming on the market early 2005. They are equipped with Turbo-RAM, that can actually make use of the new interface. Of course you also need the fastest RAM and a very fast CPU at hand, to deliver that much data http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

I'd say wait (your machine looks quite okay) and get an 1xPCI-E mainboard early or middle next year, together with a new gfx-card and maybe new RAM and CPU at the end of the year. I'd consider spending 2x400bucks http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif for your grafic-cards.

Odranoel1
12-22-2004, 04:08 PM
I have no experience but am very interested in the topic and read a lot about it. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif
I use the following system (dedicated to FB) as a basis for judgement:
AMD 64 3500+ (no overclocking for now)
Nvidia GF 6800 GT @ 400 MHz.

In my opinion, in order to get more performance from FB (specifically), we need more CPU power just as much as more GPU power.

The above two components are a good match and deliver at least 80% of the performance of today's top end technology - at roughly half the price.

Getting two 6600's wil get you into 6800 GT-like performance but with a huge increase in complexity - I would stay clear.

The above system runs FB very well in 1280 x 1024 with all eye-candy really maxed out http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif.

In order to find out what hardware gets you what image quality in FB, you may want to check firingsquad.com - the use FB as a benchmark.

I found their data to be consistently better than my actual results (by 15%) but that may be due to me setting driver quality settings to the best possible.
I hope this helps-
S.

Odranoel 1

BaldieJr
12-22-2004, 04:20 PM
I have AMD 64 3200 and PF runs at 70% processer during typical missions (using the new exe).

If anything, this game is now video-card dependant.

Willey
12-22-2004, 05:02 PM
There will be a Dual-GF6600GT card from Gigabyte... 2 chips one one card.

TheGozr
12-22-2004, 06:14 PM
Do you mean we will be able to run dual dual cards ?

Shot2Pieces
12-22-2004, 08:10 PM
I already have a dual PCI SLI 6600GT AMD64 3800 system. It boosts performance but perfect water is broken under SLI, its very distorted; on a single card on the same board its just fine. A french website I can't remember the name of found a similar problem. If a fix is not soon found I'll sell my two 6600GT's and put in a single 6800U, and another when I know the bugs have been worked out of SLI with PF.

ausmondo
12-23-2004, 03:15 AM
So......
What did happen to that 64 bit O/S ??!!?
http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif