PDA

View Full Version : Will PF every fly as nice as AEP did ?



AFJ_Locust
11-08-2004, 06:46 PM
Im not here to whine or fight but simple fact is that PF is a laggy sumbich, with some seriouse Problems.

Just curiouse if it will ever Preform simular to AEP if not im going back to europe http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif & AEP

Salute !!!

BaldieJr
11-08-2004, 06:49 PM
Better FPS and far less lag on my end.

AFJ_Locust
11-08-2004, 06:50 PM
Hey another problem i just rembered, Level Stabalizer used to work vantastic in AEP

Now it works but when you inable it your constantaly loosing altitude how can i make a bomb run with my b25 while im droping like a stone http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Philipscdrw
11-08-2004, 06:53 PM
Use the Elevator Trim, my young padawan.

AFJ_Locust
11-08-2004, 06:53 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by BaldieJr:
Better FPS and far less lag on my end. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

my fps is fine but the memory leek is making lots of problems.

I just upgraded to XP3200 Barton Core, Ill be adding 400mhz ram 1gig of it soon, but right now I have 768mb wich ran AEP just fine. It ran even better on a gig but Man I didnt expect this much troubles from PF!!! AEP was a dream compared.

AFJ_Locust
11-08-2004, 06:55 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Philipscdrw:
Use the Elevator Trim, my young padawan. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I use that but then when you have to release the stabalizer then the plane wants to soar out of control. I hope we get it back like AEP was

Supr
11-08-2004, 09:51 PM
based on the history of this sim, i'd say we're in good hands. I bet it all gets worked out. BTW, i dont notice any real difference in performance, but i do miss the level stablizer too.

CV8_Dudeness
11-08-2004, 11:36 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Supr:
based on the history of this sim, i'd say we're in good hands. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

lol http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

Philipscdrw
11-09-2004, 12:22 AM
We are in good hands. What's the joke?

madsarmy
11-09-2004, 01:18 AM
Don't get the joke eithier.

Thr0tt
11-09-2004, 01:29 AM
Works pretty well for me.

1Gb DDR, 2.2Ghz AMD, 9800 Pro, Win2k, Cat 4.11 Beta.

Played some old AEP maps and they have got better with this addon.

Only gripe is the water tbh but thats covered elsewhere.

Alexi_Alx_Anova
11-09-2004, 02:31 AM
Last night I had PF hang on me. When I exited by using the Alt key and checked my processes, PF was taking 100% of my CPU. Caused by something like an infinite loop I wonder. I've never had anything like a hard lock up with any of the other IL2 programs or versions of them. PF is unique. Add the stutters, the short pauses when exiting gamnes, the many little modeling errors, etc., I'm afraid PF smacks of being a very rushed game. More like a rushed addon than a full game I might add. And before you repost with "your computer is at fault", my system runs AEP2.04 faultlessly back to back with PF. Aint nothing wrong there. I'm still flying PF, and still loving it, but I'm worried about the drop in production integrity by 1C. Is Envy's green eyed cousing, Greed, creeping in?

Alexi

TacticalYak3
11-09-2004, 08:00 AM
PF is really working great? Really? You guys actually try any of the missions involving carriers? Going from a strong fps of 50-60 down to less than 10 when you go near a small naval fleet is good stuff?

Sorry, PF may have a lot of potential, but irksome to read posts that say one should be expected to build their own missions if they find the flak too heavy or the flight distances too long. And even online has memory leak issues and lag.

While I continue to practice my carrier landings, and explore PF, my real enjoyment continues to come from an existing Russian campaign. I have hope that the patch(s) will help make this theatre/game a lot more enjoyable, but this game is presently very problematic.

FYI - Before the fanboys show up let me say that I'm a big fan of this series, and despite my honest disappoinment with PF, I continue to be even though I personally have resolved not to begin any campaigns (which I usually love) until the patch.

As I posted over at my squad's forums, where were the beta testers in this one? They must love flying for hours to the target zone, have a fascination for looking at blank screens, and all own NASA computers to enjoy carrier attacks.

And yes I feel much better now. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Mr. Patch will fix it all I'm sure.

Jester_159th
11-09-2004, 08:06 AM
Well the memory leak is a known bug that's going to be addressed. As far as the level stabiliser is concerned, I don't find any difference between PF and AEP. It used to lose altitude in AEP as well (even after trimming the plane for level flight). Yes PF is a bit more intensive on the system than AEP was, but not nearly bad enought o seriously effect playability (at least not on my system).

In fact the only minor annoyance I have is that I don't seem to be able to set the resolution in PF higher than my desktop. If I do then the sim still runs fine, but on exiting the game my PC locks up with a corrupted display and can only be cleared by a hard reboot. If I could find a quick fix for that I'd be more than happy.

The190Flyer
11-09-2004, 10:28 AM
Just give it a little time and a couple of patches and I think it will be close to AEP in the future. Just GIVE IT SOME TIME!

S! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

a.k.a. BIFF P-51 PILOT in ubi.com lobbies

foxfire1941
11-09-2004, 10:29 AM
Jester,

When exiting the game, try to click on desktop and tell it to restore active desktop. I heard that works for some people.

Or, try going into your PF setup and tell it to use the opposite that your using now, if your using OpenGl, then try Direct X or vice versa. You may have a problem with your Open Gl or DirectX drivers, not being up to snuff.

Just an idea and can't hurt it any.

Foxfire1941 http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

Supr
11-09-2004, 10:40 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by TacticalYak3:
PF is really working great? Really? You guys actually try any of the missions involving carriers? Going from a strong fps of 50-60 down to less than 10 when you go near a small naval fleet is good stuff?

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I've never experienced this. I 've been playing the carrier campaigns and have noticed no drop in fps when around them. The biggest hit i seem to take is from the shallow, light colored water in perfect. It seems to cut my fps down into the hi teens to low 20's when over it. They bounce right back up when i look away toward the regular dark blue water.

Also, I do get the messed up desktop when i exit, only sometimes though. Right clicking and refreshing seems to fix it for me. It does not lock up, but sometimes it is slow to close. like 30 sec or so.

Oh , and i dont see what was funny about the being in good hands line. Some of you guys that have only been around a few weeks or months may not realize the dedication, to this sim, that the developers have shown over the past 3 years. I've played alot of pc games over the last decade, and this sim by far has the most official support, official patches, free stuff, and direct developer contact to the community of any i have ever seen. Just go look for all those cfs patches. where are they? Think you can find a ready room to talk to bill and make suggestions on how to improve the game? Not only that, but have those suggestions actually listened to. I sure haven't seen that.

TacticalYak3
11-09-2004, 11:44 AM
Probably too early to conclude this, but maybe for some of us here the Pacific theatre may not be as enjoyable as the Eastern or Western fronts have been.

Notwithstanding, I'm still looking forward to all the fun I trust will come from PF once the patch(s) arrive.

TacticalYak3
11-09-2004, 12:01 PM
Thanks for the comments Supr.

Realizing my ATI 9700TX card is starting to show its age, I have switched from Perfect to Excellent mode. This has increased my fps from @30 to @50-60 under normal gaming conditions (whatever that is http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif). With this compromise I have treated myself to using 4X AA and 8X Ansio at 1024 x 768 32-bit resolution.

Last night while playing one of the static USN missions, I entered the combat area where there were (I think) 3 naval vessels (1 was definitely a carrier - maybe there were 2). I had my in-game fps counter on and it dropped to below 10. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif There were also a fair number of planes I might add.

My concern isn't that patches won't eventually be released to address the various issues raised to date, but it's just I can't imagine even someone with a good card running that mission without a noticeable decrease in performance, especially using Perfect mode. However, I stand corrected mate. Me and my old video card will now sit down and be silent about the matter. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

AFJ_Locust
11-09-2004, 02:28 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by The190Flyer:
Just give it a little time and a couple of patches and I think it will be close to AEP in the future. Just GIVE IT SOME TIME!

S! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

a.k.a. BIFF P-51 PILOT in ubi.com lobbies <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

MAN I DONT HAVE TIME IM DYING SOON & WANT TO FLY PF BEFORE I GO !!!!!!!!!!!!!! LMAO http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

RGR THAT !!!

jazman777
11-09-2004, 06:22 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by The190Flyer:
Just GIVE IT SOME TIME!
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
The splash screen should say: "Welcome Beta Tester!"

Jester_159th
11-09-2004, 07:24 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by foxfire1941:
Jester,

When exiting the game, try to click on desktop and tell it to restore active desktop. I heard that works for some people.

Or, try going into your PF setup and tell it to use the opposite that your using now, if your using OpenGl, then try Direct X or vice versa. You may have a problem with your Open Gl or DirectX drivers, not being up to snuff.

Just an idea and can't hurt it any.

Foxfire1941 http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


Thanks for the ideas m8 http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Unfortunately when the desktop corrupted after exiting the game if I right-clicked to bring up the menu nothing happened. I must admit I haven't tried the DirectX settings. I've gone the easy route and upped my desktop resolution. Just means I need a pair of binoculars to read anything in Word etc...but I can live with that!! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif