PDA

View Full Version : trim



zdenkaxx1
01-20-2005, 08:55 AM
just recently rediscovered il-2 and begun to play FB again.currently ploding through a campaign to get "the feel" back before heading off to die repeatedly online once again.
flying the A-8 i'm struggling to lose AI yaks and La-5's.they seem to be both quicker and faster.matters improved when i began to fiddle with the elevator trim and prop pitch.but i'm finding the keyboard control a little cumbersum and was wondering if anyone has put either control on the mousewheel and how it plays.

Yskonyn23
01-20-2005, 09:17 AM
I advise you to bind the elevator trim to buttons on your joystick. Preferably buttons below each other.

As for Propeller Pitch control; I am in the luxury of two joysticks (CH Yoke and Logitech Wingman Extreme Digital), so my yoke has the prop control on a lever.

LStarosta
01-20-2005, 02:36 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Yskonyn23:
I advise you to bind the elevator trim to buttons on your joystick. Preferably buttons below each other.

As for Propeller Pitch control; I am in the luxury of two joysticks (CH Yoke and Logitech Wingman Extreme Digital), so my yoke has the prop control on a lever. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

n00b.



Don't listen to Yskonyn. Put your trim on a slider.

Lav69
01-20-2005, 02:44 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by LStarosta:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Yskonyn23:
I advise you to bind the elevator trim to buttons on your joystick. Preferably buttons below each other.

As for Propeller Pitch control; I am in the luxury of two joysticks (CH Yoke and Logitech Wingman Extreme Digital), so my yoke has the prop control on a lever. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

n00b.



Don't listen to Yskonyn. Put your trim on a slider. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

n00b.


Don't listen to LStarosta. Put your trim on a 4-way hat.

LStarosta
01-20-2005, 03:14 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Lav69:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by LStarosta:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Yskonyn23:
I advise you to bind the elevator trim to buttons on your joystick. Preferably buttons below each other.

As for Propeller Pitch control; I am in the luxury of two joysticks (CH Yoke and Logitech Wingman Extreme Digital), so my yoke has the prop control on a lever. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

n00b.



Don't listen to Yskonyn. Put your trim on a slider. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

n00b.


Don't listen to LStarosta. Put your trim on a 4-way hat. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

OK, if you think a 4 way hat is better than a slider, then you're a really big n00b.

JG7_Rall
01-20-2005, 03:19 PM
n00bs. Put your trim on TrackIR.

BaldieJr
01-20-2005, 03:29 PM
n00bs.

Program trim button-presses for 3 different speeds in your joysticks software.

If you have the clearly superior X52, hot-swap profiles based which plane your flying.

Check speed. Press the correct button. Done.

MEGILE
01-20-2005, 03:33 PM
n00bs!!! Fly a P-51.. no need for trim.

LStarosta
01-20-2005, 03:33 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by BaldieJr:
n00bs.

Program trim button-presses for 3 different speeds in your joysticks software.

If you have the clearly superior X52, hot-swap profiles based which plane your flying.

Check speed. Press the correct button. Done. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I actually wrote some macros for full down and full up trim and a few in between, but that's just cheating. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Oh yah... n00bs11!

zdenkaxx1
01-20-2005, 06:06 PM
ok so i now got the elevator trim on track ir,prop pitch on the hat switch and rudder trim on the trigger. should i anticipate problems ?
i use a MSSFF2 and the only slider i got is the throttle. are there any sliders available comercially ?

TgD Thunderbolt56
01-20-2005, 09:19 PM
I saw the thread title and thought...(like a few days ago)...I like trim http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/784.gif

LEXX_Luthor
01-20-2005, 10:14 PM
I use mousewheel for trim.

adlabs6
01-20-2005, 10:18 PM
nOObs! Who uses trim? Just push the stick forward more and more as you go faster and faster. Airplanes are funny that way.

Lucius_Esox
01-20-2005, 10:26 PM
Roflol,,,,,,, noobs

FatBoyHK
01-21-2005, 01:13 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Megile:
n00bs!!! Fly a P-51.. no need for trim. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/351.gif

VK_Dim
01-21-2005, 01:40 AM
Is it just me or trim on FW seems very week, almost unoticable?

gmot_ka
01-21-2005, 02:59 AM
Too use the mouse wheel for triming the aircraft works perfectly. You only need to know when the trim is in neutral position. (When you bind the trim to the mousewheel the button "neutral trim" is overwritten be the mousewheel). Here some advice:

In some planes (FW190, Spit) you have a trim indicator. For other planes I worked out a procedure that helps:
The mouse wheels needs 50 small 'ticks' to go from full trim down to full trim up. So, before take of I trim full up and after that I trim the plane neutral with 25 ticks. That works perfectly. I'm very satisfied with that. I use the mouse to look around, zoom in and out, change the positon (Shift F1) and for triming.

Try it.

zdenkaxx1
01-21-2005, 06:41 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Lucius_Esox:
Roflol,,,,,,, noobs <HR></BLOCKQUOTE> http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif

MrQBerrt
01-21-2005, 11:12 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR> n00bs. Put your trim on TrackIR. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

How do you control trim w/ TrackIR? Please explain this to me more fully.

BaldieJr
01-21-2005, 11:53 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by MrQBerrt:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR> n00bs. Put your trim on TrackIR. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

How do you control trim w/ TrackIR? Please explain this to me more fully. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

It works only when you wear ruby slippers.

Fish6891
01-21-2005, 12:27 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by BaldieJr:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by MrQBerrt:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR> n00bs. Put your trim on TrackIR. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

How do you control trim w/ TrackIR? Please explain this to me more fully. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

It works only when you wear ruby slippers. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif

MrQBerrt
01-21-2005, 12:39 PM
Yeah, I figured it might be a joke

73GIAP_Milan
01-21-2005, 02:56 PM
who needs trim anyway ?

that stuff is only luxury and nothing more then Bling-Bling! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

JG52_wunsch
01-21-2005, 07:18 PM
trim,who needs it.http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Yskonyn23
01-23-2005, 09:55 AM
LStarosta, you calling me a noob! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif LOL!
Having trim on a slider is neither realistic NOR handy.

LStarosta
01-23-2005, 10:48 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Yskonyn23:
LStarosta, you calling me a noob! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif LOL!
Having trim on a slider is neither realistic NOR handy. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Speak for yourself.


n00b

Don't get your knickers in a twist.

Yskonyn23
01-24-2005, 10:10 AM
http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Manos1
01-24-2005, 11:11 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by zdenkaxx1:
flying the A-8 i'm struggling to lose AI yaks and La-5's.they seem to be both quicker and faster. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Hallo zdenkaxx1, welcome to the community.

Besides the sarkastic comments posted here about trim on sliders (it is a very old joke...) , I think you are asking the wrong question.

YOU DO NOT TURN WITH AI YAKs and LA-5s!

The A8 is a fine plane with a very good roll rate and strong weapons.
The A8 turns extremely well at speeds over 350Km. Slower than this you are dead meat.

So, how to fly against YAKs and LAs?
Keep your speed high, do not turn too much - make wide turns. Keep speed over 400Km and take your time to turn (wide arc) and take a shot. Boom and Zoom (fly high, attack from above (dive), aim, shoot, (do not turn ) and go up again using your high speed.

There is one more thing you need to know: Due to the limitations of today's CPUs, AIs fly with "simplified model" not the complex flight model you are flying with.
This means that an AI flies much better than any human flyer using the same airplane.

Good luck !

~S~