PDA

View Full Version : I havw a Nvidia G-Force5700 Graphics card,am I SOL for" perfect "water?



jamesdietz
11-09-2004, 07:40 PM
I've followed much of the discussian & tried many different settings (Open GL,DirectX;Water=1,2or3) going to "perfect" back to "high"...etc.etc.) so far no appreciable improvement.Now I am no computer whiz , so can anyone tell me if I have any hope to see perfect water or am I out of luck?Is there any simple way of getting there or do I simply need a new ( another new) card? I have more than one Gig of Ram & plenty of CPUs, etc...What can I ( and others like me ) do???

LuckyBoy1
11-09-2004, 09:24 PM
Yep, you SOL sonny! However, that's a good thing. Wanna spend lots of money and get a buggy programming feature that if it even works, will cut your frame rates in half? You do?!... OK then! Go get a 6800 card!

BaldieJr
11-09-2004, 09:59 PM
Trust me, you don't want perfect water.

jamesdietz
11-09-2004, 11:19 PM
Ohhhhhhhhhhh........when you put it that way....Maybe I'll just wait a while ...huh??? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif

RealKill
11-09-2004, 11:51 PM
Hi jamesdietz,

You're saying you cannot get 'perfect' water with the Perfect settings on your card/system? You should be able to. But yes, it will punish your FPS.

Here is a pic from my system on a Ti-4600...

http://home.swbell.net/cyop/il2fb/pic/perfTi46.jpg

-HH-Quazi
11-10-2004, 01:40 AM
Perfect water makes all the difference in the world when it comes to carrier landings. Be honest with the man. Don't try to sheild him and make him feel better about settling with excellent settings. loll Shoot m8, you can tell how much the ship is moving in an up and down motion by watching the wave action. You can really time a smooth landing this way. Man, there's nothing like it! You gotta have it! Man, you gotta get it!! loll

tank_hunter
11-10-2004, 01:45 AM
for PERFECT: go find "UBISOFT" by following "START" then "Programs". Open the one that says "SETUP" it has a hammer or something goofy like that. THEN, set your 3d driver to OPEN GL, and then for your video card to "MAXIMUM SETTINGS". close and restart. Then, in your game, set your resolution to 1024x768x32. Go back and see if you can now put it on Perfect, also helps if you have a good CPU, gotta be 2.0ghz and an 8X AGP slot, 640mb ram or more. Try it.

Hans_Philipp
11-10-2004, 01:53 AM
What's very unfortunate with PF is that the Pacific Maps (I think this started with the med) have their "Excellent" water textures in much lower quality than the northern maps with bodies of water in them (Gulf of Finland is a good example).

They are way too blurry with little to no waving and texturing, and that causes a serious problem when trying to gauge your altitude.

LEXX_Luthor
11-10-2004, 01:57 AM
Perfectly said. They dumped good FB water for Perfect FP water nobody sees except in teh screensnots or 6800ProX Paying Beta Testers.

Wush they left some crumbs for the working class flight simmers.

Hans_Philipp
11-10-2004, 02:31 AM
How true-Lexx, I think I'll need to send a recruitment email to your everytime I post or start a thread;-)

BTW, with regard to the Gladiator...Any ideas on overcoming rage, anger and frustration with that friggin' wing running across at just my eye-level? My Gladiator flying sounds like:

"Shoot!--where'd he go? Shoot!-what the...? Shoot!--Who's there?"

;-)

EURO_Snoopy
11-10-2004, 03:41 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by jamesdietz:
I've followed much of the discussian & tried many different settings (Open GL,DirectX;Water=1,2or3) going to "perfect" back to "high"...etc.etc.) so far no appreciable improvement.Now I am no computer whiz , so can anyone tell me if I have any hope to see perfect water or am I out of luck?Is there any simple way of getting there or do I simply need a new ( another new) card? I have more than one Gig of Ram & plenty of CPUs, etc...What can I ( and others like me ) do??? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Probably the answers you were looking for:
Graphics Setup (http://www.airwarfare.com/tech/graphicsil2.htm)
Tweaking PF (http://www.airwarfare.com/tech/tweaks.htm)

Stonerox
11-10-2004, 04:52 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Hans_Philipp:
What's very unfortunate with PF is that the Pacific Maps (I think this started with the med) have their "Excellent" water textures in much lower quality than the northern maps with bodies of water in them (Gulf of Finland is a good example).

They are way too blurry with little to no waving and texturing, and that causes a serious problem when trying to gauge your altitude. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I've discovered that by altering (in FMB) time of day far from 12:00h, water effects aren't that bad, even in exellent settings! (And I run on a FX 5700 card!)- something to do with shadows, I guess http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Heavy_Weather
11-10-2004, 06:21 AM
you'll need a card with 8x pipelines insted of 4.

jamesdietz
11-10-2004, 09:08 AM
Boy am I in over my head ? 4 pipelines? 8 pipelines ? What the ___ is a pipeline???It looks as if I should stay where I am...I mean, FPS already takes a real beating when all those ships start firing..I think I have an FPS then of about 3 or 4 ...better with Direct X than OpenGL. Maybe the new patch coming will solve all of our problems?
Anyway I'll probably have to get a whole new rig for BoB....?!

Fliegeroffizier
11-10-2004, 11:43 AM
Taslk about having some great pipes!! Check out these two cards:

GeForce 6800Ultra = 256MB GDDR3, 16 pipelines, 6 vertex units, 400MHz/1.1GHz

GeForce 6800 = 128MB GDDR, 12 pipelines, 5 vertex units, 325MHz/700MHz

Extreme_One
11-10-2004, 11:57 AM
About the big FPS hit when ships flak starts - apparantly that'll be addressed in the patch http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif