PDA

View Full Version : Noob with some questions

GhostDog645
07-05-2007, 03:29 PM
Hello, gang. Got a few questions ya'll might help me with . . .

1. My father is an avid player. He says a POV hatswitch will never do, that I need to use a mouse to look around if I ever plan to be effective in online play. However, He plays with a joystick and keyboard, while I have a Saitek X45 HOTAS setup. Obviosly using the mouse to look around would defeat the whole point of HOTAS. Opinions?
2. It seems that several of the planes' penchant for stalls and spinning is overdone. While I am a noob to IL2, I am a veteran flight sim pilot, and was suprised at the willingness of some of these planes flip and spin out as quickly as they do . . . am I missing something?
3. I have reached the point where I can down an AI ace fairly easily, but usually can't survive past the first head-on if I am facing more than one. My father says I need to get to the point where I can take on three AI Aces and win before I'd have a chance in online play. Any suggestions on how to train, or references to tactics, training missions, etc, that might help me reach that point? Are there noob servers for those of us who are new and DON'T want to spend all of they're online play either taking of and reaching altitude or spiraling back down to earth in flames?
4. Finally, I have adjusted the input for my joystick for all three axes, but still am having problems "walking" my nose across a target using rudder. It's difficult to find and maintain a constant rudder using the rudder rocker on the X45 throttle. Is this not a good rudder to use? Should I buy separate rudder pedals, or will this ability come with practice?

Thanks for your time.

Crash_Moses
07-05-2007, 03:39 PM
Welcome!

1. There's a handy little program called Newview that should help. It emulates TrackIR in a way. Other solution is TrackIR which can be expensive.

2. Dunno...IL-2 isn't perfect...what planes are you having problems with?